Ratings based on 105 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.4 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice

Posted Oct 2, 2014
Only bad thing about this experience I called, requested petals and candles for my fiancées 21st to get to the room and had none of it when I called 2-3 weeks before.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cheshire , England

Useful for Milton Keynes

Posted Aug 31, 2014
Good for a short stay , the annex (where all the bedrooms are ) is quite well designed , the rooms , if small , are neat and pleasant . Helpful staff and good car parking . Well off the main road , A421 , but well signed .
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Ok Hotel ... Wasn't worth the money though

Posted Aug 16, 2014
Very, very basic, dated room .. No phone service .. Took ages to get wi fi code .. Uncomfortable bed
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cambridge

Friends Wedding

Posted Jul 27, 2014
Pros: The staff were all very friendly, from Dorothy the Receptionist, to the maintenance guys, and anyone else I passed along the way.
Cons: The queues at Reception did cause delays, more staff on hand would certainly help. The bar prices were certainly top end !!
I have just returned from 2 days Horwood House - We had a wonderful time at the wedding, the venue is amazing, complimented by some great weather (that always helps!) The map provided at check-in was helpful as the route to the rooms is a bit of a maze. The rooms were clean and compact. Plenty of tea and coffee making facilities, no air con, but a fan was provided, the window opened fully which is a bonus in the heat. The venue is a popular wedding venue and may not be the quite retreat, if you are not a wedding guest !!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Need new beds

Posted Jul 27, 2014
We were there for a wedding which was amazing. The standard rooms are very compact and in this heat exceptionally hot. The beds are very uncomfortable and in desperate need of replacing
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by McNeil from Middlesbrough

Really nice hotel....apart from the staff

Posted Jul 27, 2014 on Hotels.com
I have stayed at this hotel 30+ Times and always found it fine overall. However this time the hotel was fine but apart from the receptionist all the staff were very rude.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 25, 2014 on Hotels.com
3 out of 5
Recommended
by Huddy from UK

Not a romantic getaway

Posted Jul 22, 2014 on Hotels.com
I think some of the reviews are a bit harsh, and I certainly didn't see any "70s decor". The setting was fabulous, our room was clean (though admittedly quite small), breakfast was good, and we enjoyed having access to the swimming pool and sauna. However, the rooms are not well insulated from noise in the corridor (doors banging loudly, etc), the men's changing rooms had insects crawling all over the floor, and the jacuzzi was shut. Like other reviewers, I'm also not sure how the hotel still appears to have analogue TV signal in the rooms - I thought it had been switched off! Overall this hotel is okay for an overnight stop-over, but is in need of a serious overhaul before it could be considered as a good candidate for a romantic getaway.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Lisa from Ontario, Canada

Lovely property, terrible layout

Posted Jul 15, 2014 on Hotels.com
Approaching this hotel, it looks amazing & the main reception area & conference center are great. Our room was miles away with very few convenient access points. Staying for 3 days with luggage, there was no easy way to transfer bags in/out of this hotel. Toilet seat was broken upon arrival, but fixed second day. Called reception 6 times during this stay & only had the phone answered once.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by Zozzer

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 14, 2014 on Hotels.com