Ratings based on 98 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Unprofessional hospitality - and cramped.

Posted Apr 22, 2015
Pros: The situation, near a picturesque church and not far from the river.
Cons: Customer service; water supply to shower; the stair and corridor carpets could be renewed.
Location: N/A
The shower was a trickle. The room was a box. The staff, though polite enough, insisted on a £25 deposit on my credit card with an implausible, not to mention impolite, explanation - 'in case you buy something from the bar', even though I arrived very late when the bar was closing and insisted I didn't want anything. Such distrust breeds distrust in the customer - in the morning I asked for a receipt or written confirmation of the return of the deposit and had to argue to get such a receipt. It wasn't the fault of the staff, but the management. The desk staff handled the 'rules' as best they could.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom West Yorkshire

Lovely Hotel situated in a very pleasant village

Posted Apr 15, 2015
Pros: Where it was situated
Cons: Maybe air conditioning in the rooms as it did get quite warm
Location: Excellent location and surroundings particularly the Old Swan PH
Really enjoyed our short stay and enjoyed the lovely quaint village pub that served excellent meals and only a short walk to the canal
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 1, 2015
Good location and attractive 'village' setting even though in the middle of Milton Keynes. The public rooms are also attractive and staff welcoming helpful. Three of us stayed and paid the same price for rooms but the standard of each room varied wildly: very good room in the Stables, large but over-heated room in the new extension and a very (unacceptably) small single room in the old part of the hotel that had only a bed-sit style plug in heater.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom London

Lovely location with great staff

Posted Feb 12, 2015
I stayed in this hotel for one night. It's in a great setting, has lovely decor and a brilliant staff. My room smelt of paint, i think it may have been coming from above as there were also holes in the ceiling of my room, where i could only assume spotlights were supposed to be. Room was very clean, shower was pretty bad but fine for just one night stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Kristianfrom göteborg

Underbart brittiskt countryside hotell!

Posted Jan 31, 2015 on Hotels.com
Underbart countryside hotell! Mysig nyrenoverad lobby där vi åt afternoon tea, vilket rekommenderas. Två minuters promenad från hotellet finns puben "Ye Old Swan" som var jättemysigt och väldigt brittiskt. området i övrigt är en park och väldigt tyst.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Costly Bar drinks

Posted Jan 30, 2015 on Hotels.com
Expensive Bar otherwise nice hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Davidfrom Sheffield

Mecure Parkside, Milton Keynes ... lovely!

Posted Jan 20, 2015 on Hotels.com
The hotel was very comfortable, the food was extremely good &, overall, my stay was extremely good value.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom london

Don't stay more than one night

Posted Nov 17, 2014
Didn't enjoy my stay here at all. Staff - had to wait ages for someone to come to reception and in the end had to call someone from the bar to help me Room - not enough info about it. There was a control on the wall and we weren't informed it would close the blinds (didn't even know blinds were attached) so had the roof window blaring light in in the morning. Lighting was poor and bed was awful, woke up with back pain. Walls were thin and we could hear the conversation of the room next door (at 8.45am on a Sunday morning!) Location - didn't know it was next to a church. 10 minutes of bells ringing at 8.27am (no time logic) which disturbed our sleep. Then a huge amount of bell activity at 9.21am, for 17 minutes Upon departure, I wasn't even asked how my stay was. Never staying there again!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Trickyfrom Kilmarnock

Buisiness trip

Posted Sep 30, 2014 on Hotels.com
Enjoyed my stay, staff friendly and hotel located in beautiful countryside (in MK!!!) location.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 29, 2014 on Hotels.com