Ratings based on 13 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Peter from Sigglesthorne, East Yorkshire

Posted Dec 19, 2013
Pros: Service Location
Cons: Desk chair in room is too low - makes working at computer difficult.
Location: Good location for my early morning meeting in Bedford the following morning
Breakfast was good, although rather pricey. Good wine list with reasonable choice at prices that are not too expensive. Dinner was basically good, although chips were not very warm. When mentioned to waiter, the whole meal was replaced - not just heated up, within a few minutes. Very good response.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by disappointed from Wiltshire

A Fawlty Towers moment

Posted Dec 15, 2013 on Hotels.com
The night I stayed, there was a group in for a Christmas party. They effectively ignored regular guests until they'd served all this party. This meant that we were kept waiting for 1.5 hours for our meals. Atrocious ! All of the guests in that dining room agreed that they would not be going back. I would advise you to follow suit.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by MLD from St. Albans

Stayed for a local wedding

Posted Oct 8, 2013 on Hotels.com
I would have liked to have used and seen more of the hotel but what little I did was very good and professional
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very Helpful staff

Posted Sep 27, 2013
Pros: Staff. Environment.
Complained about noise from the kitchen fan coming into my room, went back upstairs to double check, came back down and they had already assigned my a new room. Great, Great Service!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Mark from Arizona USA

Nice hotel just outside town in a quiet situation

Posted Sep 3, 2013 on Hotels.com
Overall a really nice hotel, backs right onto the river. Our room had just been refurbished which was nice, not sure about other rooms, as i know other reviewers thought the rooms a little tired. Only thing to bear in mind is, the hotel is a popular wedding venue, so the weekends are really busy with some noise late at night, and breakfast is likely to be crowded, but we didn't find it too intrusive.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Perfect location, nice meals, clean rooms

Posted Sep 3, 2013 on Hotels.com
business stay, staff friendly and welcoming, rooms clean and roomy, meals are nice, wifi access is poor at best. But, its at great location with the river right on the back of the hotel, having a meal with the river there was excellent
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Martin from Mill Bay, Vancouver Island, Canada

A Sanctuary of peace

Posted Aug 10, 2013 on Hotels.com
The hotel is very good and with unobtrusive, helpful staff. Room was great and very quiet. The room hotel and room were well kept and very clean.Setting, on the banks of the river, is delightful. I had two meals in the restaurant, both of which were disappointing . I chose to eat elsewhere for the rest of my 5 day stay. However,I would certainly stay there again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Great location

Posted Jul 29, 2013 on Hotels.com
Very nice, clean and friendly hotel, located within easy reach of the main road network, yet quiet surroundings and river front views.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

very relaxing start to a holiday

Posted Jul 17, 2013 on Hotels.com
Great overnight stop for Luton airport,.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by gsmithdsl from Hampshire

A Pleasant Stay but not up to expectations

Posted Jul 7, 2013 on Hotels.com
The Barns hotel is nice enough, I'd have no hesitation in staying there again, but wouldn't go out of my way to specifically stay at this hotel rather than any other. The room was clean and reasonable, but not really what the photos would have you expect, it could have been a room in any low/mid range chain hotel. The only complaint i would have made was that the shower was rubbish, i dribble more than it did, and without a strong grip, i doubt it could have been turned on at all. In fairness, i didn't complain to the desk, so they may have been able to fix it, as it was, I was on a break in no hurry, so used the bath instead. The restaurant was very good and the staff excellent, though at breakfast on the first day, when i asked for eggs, bacon and toast, I got one slice of toast! but I can't complain about the evening meals, excellent quality and good helpings. They do win the prize for cheapest approach to in room drinks, two tea bags, two white and two brown sugars, I know they would rather you spend your money on room service but this just felt cheap.