Ratings based on 42 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Cathy from Rosemead, CA

Hotel that is one a kind

Posted Jan 7, 2014 on Hotels.com
I am still impressed, after staying in this hotel for the third time. The room is different than the rooms from other hotels. The loft, which is two stories, which makes it a lot more spacious compared to other hotels. There are also two restrooms and two televisions. Free internet (both wired or wireless) is provided in room, but I do feel it is slow, even though it stated it is high-speed. Within a five minute walk, you can find a Yoshinoya, a KFC, a Dairy Queen, the Suzhou Subway Station, and many more. You should check this hotel out. It is one of a kind and different than any other hotels you might have went.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 15, 2013 on Hotels.com
The room was huge, but a little dirty (nothing too much though, just not sparkling). The view from the top floor was quite nice and it's very close to the university district and shopping. 5 minute walk from the metro. I would certainly recommend it and will most likely stay there again when I return.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Chuck from California

Not so great

Posted Oct 22, 2013 on Hotels.com
Let me start with the good aspects. I got a good rate on hotels.com, the pool and sauna are nice and compared with most Chinese hotels I've stayed at, this one doesn't smell like cigarette smoke everywhere. There is CNN and NatGeo. The kitchens on the 6th floor were also nice for my two month stay and they let me store my stuff for one week between checking out and checking back in again. However, the hotel leaves much to be desired for a Western guest. First are the issues with the "non-smoking" floor. On at least three occasions someone was smoking on our non-smoking floor and you could smell it everywhere. Second, is the air-conditioning issue. You don't have control over the AC in your room. They turn it off in September and only turn it back on again in mid-May. So on the 13th floor you can imagine how hot it gets. Also, in the gym, which is on the 6th floor, it's very hot with no AC. The walls are thin and we could hear laughing from the room next door to ours. Only a few of the staff speak English. The wifi (when you can connect) is quite slow - though this is common throughout China.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by barry from malaysia

big hotel

Posted Sep 20, 2013
bigest room i stay before, will intro to others friend about this hotel
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from singapore

Excellent stay, beautiful suites

Posted Jul 31, 2013
Pros: friendliness of staff, they are very polite and eager to help. great customer service and always smiling. Room service is very efficient.
Cons: hairdryer in the attached bathroom in room 1303 is not working.
Location: 3mins walk to SuzhouJie subway,Exit A. If you walk to Suzhoujie, there's a few good restaurants like Laobeijing Jiaozi.And near to BHG,10mins walk.
Stayed at Ariva double storey suite from 30th June-13th july ( Room 1303) and on 22nd July ( Room 1246). Both suites are superb, room 1303 is near the lift but 1246 is like a 150m walk to the lift. Ask for non smoking floor if you do not smoke and also a room near to the lift. Love the glass panel attached bathroom on the second floor. I slept very well all the nights I stayed in the hotel. And they have a distinctive "Ariva scent" to all their toiletries, i never used those things provided by hotels, but those from Ariva - I really love them. They allow you to place your luggage after you checked out, i kept mine over there for 10 days when I head over to Inner Mongolia. Late checkout is at 2pm, you just got to request from them.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 10, 2012 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 2, 2012 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Prague, Czech Republic

Very convenient hotel for longer stays.

Posted Oct 14, 2012
Location: The hotel is great for access to locations in north-west Beijing, travel to other parts can be lengthy.
The biggest advantage: spacious room divided into two floors.
1 out of 5
by Arnold from California, USA

One-Star Motel Embellished with Two-Star Decor

Posted Sep 5, 2012
Pros: Nice gym and pool.
Cons: Its third-world country mentality when it comes to service and expense policies.
Location: At least, one redeeming factor of this hotel is that it was situated at a decent location. There is a subway station nearby.
I have my share of experience at both ends of the hotels, from the lowest including the local boutique motels in the wild west's middle of nowhere, to the highest including Ritz-Carlton, Mandarin Oriental, and Waldorf Astoria, but amongst all these places, this "esteemed" Ariva Beijing West Hotel did the honor of bestowing me with the greatest humiliation. Upon the checkout, you will see that they will always "phone" someone. You will note that they are calling the housekeeping to check the condition of the room before we finalize the payment. After approximately 10 minutes of having to listen to their phone conversation, the lady "kindly" let me know of the additional $10 dollar that was to be deducted from my deposit because of the coffee stain that I made on a small bathroom towel. This was not a coffee stain from Starbucks coffee nearby. It was a stain resulting from having to pour Ariva's coffee in an IKEA quality cup that even the most adroit person would have spilled because of its unconventionally small size and dysfunctional grip. This is a one-star motel embellished with two-star decor. I do not approve this hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Mrs J Dickinson

A great base just 3 mins walk to Subway Line 10

Posted Aug 11, 2012 on Hotels.com
Very comfortable 2 weeks stay, The 2-storey layout of the room enabled plenty of space, which was the best thing about the room. Room rate is reasonable. Plenty of complimentary toiletries too. Room air-condition works in keeping room cool and sound-proofing was effective. Comfortable beds. Fuses in both hair dryers went and were instantaneously replaced. Definitely helps if you speak Mandarin as English was non-existent. We very much enjoyed out stay and would happily recommend Ariva Beijing to all.