Ratings based on 21 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Christiana from New York City

great staff, perfect location, beautiful garden

Posted Jul 15, 2013 on Hotels.com
I very much enjoyed my stay at the Bamboo Garden Hotel - the hotel was just perfect for me - an oasis in the large city of Beijing - looking forward to stay there again
3 out of 5
by Ira from New Zealand

What a pity

Posted Jun 1, 2013
Pros: Location & classic style
Cons: Service & price
Location: Very close to subway / easy to go 'hou hai' also easy find food / bar/ shopping
The reception&restrant service all worst and crazy ~~ kind of feeling ~~ not always The conditions such like furniture / appliances / bathroom all a little bit old~~the hotel location very quiet but the room wasn't sound proofing!!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Annie from Washington, DC

Home Away

Posted May 27, 2013
Pros: Comfortable beds, AC, beautiful decorations/ gardens, great location
Cons: Shampoo in the showers, expensive (for Beijing) breakfast
Location: Set back, quite, can be difficult to find/ get a taxi to take you there/ very safe.
As others have mentioned, the concierge was not very helpful. The hotel is set back in a hutong and so you have to walk quite a bit if you want to find a taxi. The hotel cannot/will not call a taxi for you. They send one of the boys who man the front gate out to the main street with you to hail a taxi. They did arrange a driver for us to the Great Wall and to the airport. Have someone write down the name of the main street that the hutong is off of. We had difficulty finding taxi drivers who had heard of our hutong and I think if they knew it was off of the main street, it would have been much easier getting home after dinner. The garden and the decorations are beautiful. It was always nice and quiet. Our room was clean and the AC, etc worked well. Overall, we were pleasantly surprised with how "western" and comfortable the hotel was. After a long day wondering around Beijing and dealing with cultural differences (an important part of any trip to China, in my opinion), it was nice to have this haven to return to. Also, the gift shop has some lovely items.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from UK

Great Location

Posted May 22, 2013 on Hotels.com
Based in a huntong, this is a great place to experience real Beijing life, yet staying in a quiet oasis hidden in a back street. Lovely Chinese feel to the hotel. Breakfast is only 60 yen though there's a MacDonalds nearby when you want a change, and good nightlife steps away. Disappointing there is nowhere to sit in the evening. The (nice) restaurant isn't keen on you using the terrace unless eating, and then shuts at 9pm. Beds very firm.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by KS from Atlanta, GA

Very traditional Chinese feel

Posted Mar 26, 2013 on Hotels.com
This is a local-feeling place. Clean, big rooms, lovely back courtyard. Not new by any means, but you can stay at the big Western hotels if you want that. The classic amenities are a throwback to the old China but kept fresh and clean here.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Oregon

Great Hutong setting

Posted Jan 7, 2013
Pros: Quiet location in a residential hutong yet close to a subway stop and a great and lively neighborhood.
Cons: Uncomfortable mattress and cheap towels and bedding.
Location: The location and the courtyards make this hotel.
The Bamboo Garden is an oasis; despite the noise of subway construction on the main street, we could hear none of it in the hotel. In room internet was spotty at best, and the claim of tempurpedic mattresses is untrue. We got a standard uncomfortable mattress; the best the hotel could do was provide another comforter which we used as a mattress pad. Towels are non-absorbent, but as a plus they do dry quickly. Despite bitterly cold weather, the room was warm.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by M Png

Traditional hotel in the Hutongs

Posted Nov 28, 2012 on Hotels.com
Classical Chinese courtyard hotel with an internal bamboo garden. Tranquil environment with traditional style rooms around the courtyard and modern rooms in hotel section. Deluxe suite: Booked standard suite but free upgrade. Deluxe suite (50m²) comfortably fitted 2 bunk beds which had good support. King bed was typical Asian comfort. Heating and bedding was fine. Chinese style furniture with ample storage space. No long bath. Shower ok: ample hot water but not powerful. Room had a big window opening onto a quiet street. In room electric kettle, safe, fridge (not very cold). Service: No complaints. Room tidied daily. Price: Moderate. Can accommodate 4 persons in 1 room. Food: Didn't eat at hotel. Many eating places nearby. 京城一锅 along Jiuguloudajie serves yummy lamb hotpot at dinner time (popular with locals) and v. cheap dumplings/wonton for breakfast. Convenience: <5 mins on foot to Line 2 Subway station. Direct bus to Forbidden City/Wangfujin, Temple of Heaven/Pearl Market. Nearby convenience store and McDonald's. Neighbourhood: Felt safe. 15 min stroll to Houhai and Qianhai (lovely day or night). Many lakeside restaurants. Kaorouji near Yindingqiao serves delicious lamb/beef hotplate and lamb kebabs. Nearby: Don't miss Yandaxie Str (pedestrian shopping str). Room Tip: Deluxe suites have traditional feel and plenty of room. Hotel rooms on upper floors overlooking the garden also nice but no lift. Overall: Good hotel, traditional ambience; perhaps not the best value.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by Julie S

Posted Nov 18, 2012 on Hotels.com
Difficult to communicate with Hotel prior to arrival. Transportation from the airport to the hotel was not accommodated as advertised. Hotel staff unclear about services offered from the hotel. Transportation directly form the hotel very difficult. Hotel shuttle not available on weekends. Clean, comfortable room. Would suggest that you know the neighborhood and are willing to go out of your way for taxi's .
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Ryszard

Hidden gem in Hutong

Posted Nov 18, 2012 on Hotels.com
Really nice hotel in a traditional Courtyard arrangement. Have an authentic look and a nice garden. Rooms are small but nicely equipped, you even have PC in your room with the complimentary Internet access. Restaurant is on site, mostly Chinese cuisine. About 10 mins walk from the nearest subway station, taxis won’t enter the last 150m stretch of Hutong street but the arranged trip cars will. There is a small parking in the courtyard. If you are looking for a traditional look&feel and all modern comforts this hotel is for you.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Nataliya, Olga from New York, NY, USA

Green hotel for everybody

Posted Jul 13, 2012
Pros: Breakfast
Location: Good
Location is close to the subway which may bring you to many attractions in 20-30 minutes. Hotel has beautiful quate rich garden. Staff is pleasant with some English. however do not rely on their services on your request. Example, in the morning we asked receptionist to order taxi to train station at 5pm, OK OK. At 5 pm they told us that hotel does not call taxi from hotel, this is very expensive for them. Porter came out with us around the corner and we were picking up a car for 20 minutes, and in rush hour it takes more than an hour. Never order any tour and excurtion from this hotel due to significant overprice. Nataliya and Olga, New York.