Ratings based on 63 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by A verified traveler from Singapore

Good Hutong Experience

Posted Sep 1, 2014
Location: NLGX and the drum tower is near by. station is also close by. good location
Hotel staff were very nice. I needed to checkout at 5am in the morning and get a cab to the hotel, which was absolutely no problem at all. The first time getting to the hotel will be difficult. the location on expedia is not correct! recommend taking a cab. Other than that, great location and the room is great. a real Chinese experience.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Staff don't have a clue

Posted Apr 7, 2014
Great location, beautiful courtyard setting close to sightseeing. Couple of good restaurants in the area. Beds were terribly uncomfortable and we paid for a "double room" which clearly states "double bed" on Expedia. Incredibly misleading advertisement. After confronting the staff we were just shrugged off with "we gave you a room upgrade"...we were actually given a room with two single beds and I was travelling with my partner so obviously unhappy with this. We had a lot of luggage so we asked the staff to call us a taxi to the train station, said it was no problem. Then the day after a different girl said they couldn't do that but they would help us with their electric rickshaw to the main road so we could get a taxi. They said to leave and get food and come back by 6:30 pm (our train wasn't until 9 but Beijing traffic and the station are crazy). Turns out they just wanted us to disappear so they could have their dinner because when we arrived back assuming we were getting help to the main road, they completely ignored us and just told us to "go to the main road". Then begun the struggle to drag 3 heavy suitcases and camping bags to the road which is not a short distance, leading us to almost miss our train. Lack of communication between staff, false advertisement and very unhelpful staff. Would NEVER stay here again and do not recommend.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Isidro from San Francisco

Real asian experience

Posted Apr 1, 2014
Excellent experience with staff extremely helpful don't hesitate to ask they would do anything to make you fell like in home remember Chinese experience comes with hard beds (western beds are mostly soft).
3 out of 5
by Allie from Yueqing, China

Traditional Hotel on Hutong

Posted Feb 18, 2014
Cons: Cleanliness, Shower right beside the toilet, beds are rock hard, came back with red bumps all over my face from bedding.
Location: It is not as central as advertised, but is in a very interesting part of Beijing with the Bell Tower very near.
The hotel is on a traditional Hutong (Western world would classify as an alley way) and is very difficult to find. For your first time in Beijing I would not recommend. Local taxis do not know where the hotel is located and can make it very difficult the first couple times when you were trying to navigate your way back. It is an amazing cultural experience, if that is what you are looking for. Great wifi connection as well.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Brian from San Diego, CA

Great stay in BJ

Posted Jan 22, 2014 on Hotels.com
I loved the family-run home style character of this hotel. I loved the neighborhood and its authenticity mixed with gentrification. There are great places to wander and great places to eat nearby. The other reviews were really helpful. Dumplings around the corner in the morning... what an experience!
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Tiny hotel

Posted Jan 12, 2014 on Hotels.com
The hotel rooms are really small. We ordered the deluxe room which was supposed to have a king sized bed but the actual bed was only a queen sized. This bed took up 75% of the room. Staff was just okay and did not speak much English.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Brett from Australia

Good, but cold during winter

Posted Jan 12, 2014 on Hotels.com
It's in the drum tower area, which is close to a lot of tourist stuff as well as some super cool small bars and cafes. Excellent location if you don't mind a 5-10 minute walk from the main road/closest subway station through the hutongs. The room I stayed in was clean and good value for my needs. If you can't handle traditional Chinese beds (i.e., wood with a thin matress) then consider a different room. I stayed during November, so it was very cold even with the air conditioning. Probably something to keep in mind if you're travelling between November and February. The staff were friendly, helpful and agreeable to my need to change conditions.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Peter from Houston

Very Nice Traditional Hotel

Posted Dec 23, 2013 on Hotels.com
Although it is housed in an old building in a hutong, the interior is very clean, comfortable and well-maintained. The only setback is it is quite a walk from the subway stations and difficult to find the first time. However, for the price and location, it is a minor inconvenience.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by sharlene from singapore

Horrible service & room

Posted Dec 23, 2013 on Hotels.com
Stayed 2 nights and was utterly disappointed. Understood it was cheap and a no frill kinda place but the room was a joke. We booked a double room and the room came with a tiny single bed which the staff insisted it was meant for 2 persons. We really were curious n appalled how on earth can 2 pax EVER fit onto a single bed like this?!! In the end, we paid additional to change into another room with 2 beds. No good for a start. The room was beyond basic which we cant fault considering the price we were paying. Service staff was not exactly helpful and always answer our queries like we owe them 1million rmb. It was worst on our last day, we requested for a cab to the airport. The hotel was located in a narrow street off a hutong and we were made to lug our luggages in sub zero to the start of the street cos apparently the driver cant find the place.ridiculous! HIGHLY RECCOMENDED NOT TO STAY! theres alot more similar styled chinese courtyard hotels around beijing at the same price or jus slightly higher. Totally wasted our time. Lousy.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by A verified traveler

Extra nice and friendly staff

Posted Dec 17, 2013 on Hotels.com
The room was a nice respite, surrounding a courtyard, ensuite is compact but serviceable. The hotel itself is very quiet, but close to a main busy street and a 15 minute walk to the metro, which will take you anywhere in the city quite economically. I would absolutely stay here on another trip to Beijing.