Ratings based on 13 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.6 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto, Canada

Comfortable hotel with old fashioned character

Posted Aug 2, 2014
Pros: Nice atmosphere, nice size and good location. Never too much hubbub in the lobby.
Cons: The elevator is slow and very busy. Although there is not likely much that can be done about this. You just need to chill, smile and be patient.
Location: I liked the location of the hotel very much. A pleasant 45 minute walk to the Tienanmen Sq. area. Bank and other convenience within 5 minute walk.
Built in 1918 this hotel has modern rooms and amenities without losing any of the original character or charm. There is wired internet in the room but wireless is at a cost of a rented modem which is installed promptly upon a call to the front desk. A 200 Yuan cash deposit is required and returned at check out less a 10 Yuan per charge for the modem. It was very hot during my stay and thankfully the A/C worked very well in my room. The bed was a a bit hard. It did sleep well so I guess the hard'ish' bed was better than I thought it would be. The sheets were clean, nice quality and all white, which I happen to like. The bathroom was clean and the shower was good. There is a large banquet room on the second floor used to serve a breakfast buffet everyday. The buffet is decent but not stellar. Fresh fried eggs are made as you wait and there are baked goods including toast for American style appetites. If the breakfast is not included in your room price you can pay cash or have charged to your room for 58 Yuan. There is a convenience store which houses a train ticket kiosk as well as an ATM machine inside the hotel. Also a nice coffee shop. The front desk staff is very polite and helpful
5 out of 5
Recommended
by weimin

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 16, 2014 on Hotels.com
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Single traveller from Britain

Not wonderful

Posted Nov 17, 2013 on Hotels.com
The reception staff at this hotel need to go on a customer care course, as their service was very poor. I had to change room during my stay and it took over an hour to sort this out! I felt that the hotel was looking to maximise its income from each guest rather than concentrating on offering a good experience. Beware the bottled water, as its very expensive, buy from one of the local shops, where its much, much cheaper. The quality of the food at the hotel wasn't very good and again its possible to get better food at reasonable prices in the area around the hotel. I wouldn't recommend this hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good value hotel

Posted Oct 16, 2013
Rooms are spacey with many ammenities included. Our party got two rooms; one overlooking the street and the other facing inside. The former did not have windows that opened the other one does. The AC does not seem to work but that was not necessary.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Adequate for a short stay with a tour group

Posted Oct 7, 2013 on Hotels.com
As we were with a tour group, this hotel fitted the bill well. However we were there a day early and found that the location of this hotel made it difficult to find anywhere to eat other than the hotel itself. Front desk staff not very good at suggestions of things to do or restaurants.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 20, 2013 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Rod from Arizona, USA

Good location and value

Posted Jun 6, 2013
Cons: Although there are non-smoking floors and rooms, the front desk staff did not enforce the non-smoking policy for the floor or rooms.
Location: It is an easy walk to shopping, attractions and transportation.
Good location. 30 minutes walking distance from Subway and attractions. 10 minutes walk to bus stops. Good value for the money.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by A verified traveler

Great location

Posted Jun 5, 2013 on Hotels.com
Within walking distance of major sites and shopping and bus stop not near metro stop. Staff competent but not extremely helpful
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from London

Good price but not great location

Posted Nov 26, 2011 on Hotels.com
Hotel OK, nothing special. Service fair. Location fine if you have a car but don't try and get a taxi from the nearest metro station about 1km away if you have luggage. Seems the distance is TOO SHORT for a taxi driver, they just drive away. Otherwise walk is just 15mins.
2 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from florida

Posted Mar 29, 2011 on Hotels.com
Bed a little hard loved the location,