Ratings based on 370 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.7 out of 5
99% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Vancouver, Canada

Nice and unique hotel. Close to common people.

Posted Dec 20, 2014
Pros: Food is good. Staff is friendly. No problem with communication.
Cons: Insulation can be improved.
Location: Lots of places for shopping and eating nearby...
Good experience. Exceptional if one wants to see something different. Not your usual hotel. People are nice. Interesting to see that most customers are Caucasian. Staying there is already a hutong experience. Highly recommended.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Marysville, MI

In the center of everything, close to subway

Posted Nov 23, 2014
Pros: Location - 10 minute walk to the subway station; very clean and efficient; super nice staff
Cons: none
Location: The hotpot restaurant across the street from Dongsi subway station - very good.
Very positive experience: Everyone in the hotel was very nice - the front desk staff, the breakfast team and the housekeeping crew. Next time I come to Beijing, I will definitely stay in Double Happiness again. I wouldn't pick another hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great value in vibrant location

Posted Nov 4, 2014
Value for money. Small room but has everything you need
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Sydney

Lots of charm

Posted Oct 10, 2014
This is a lovely little hotel in a classic Beijing alley. Our first room, a double, was small and not ideal. Thankfully we were upgraded and the second room was much better for a couple. The hotel is charmingly decorated with wonderful courtyards. A much more intimate experience than some of the other option son Beijing. Great breakfast too. Thanks to the staff for making our stay so welcoming.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Einfach authentisch

Posted Sep 25, 2014
schönes authentisch Hotel inmitten der Hutongs von Peking, sehr sehr nettes Personal
5 out of 5
Recommended
by garyfrom ireland

happy review title

Posted Sep 24, 2014 on Hotels.com
The people here are really nice and helpful. Its city centre with a subway station a short walk away, and still quiet and peaceful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Middlesex, NJ

A historical Beijing that is fast disappearing.

Posted Sep 22, 2014
Pros: The wonderful staff and the experience of living in a surrounding that is reflective of Beijing's past.
Cons: I would not change a thing.
Location: It is located in a Hutong Alley. The subway is two short blocks away that will take you to all the major sights, restaurants, and shopping.
The minute you passed into the doorway of this hotel, you stepped into a different world. It is an oasis of quiet, tranquility and beauty. The inner courtyard is ideal for relaxing with a book, having a cup of tea/coffee or a drink before retiring. The front desk is staffed with English speaking personnel who were courteous and were very helpful with all aspect of my stay. The hotel is located in a Hutong Alley and may be a bit off the beaten path. The breakfasts were sumptuous meals with many variety of food items to please everyone. I stayed there for eight days and regretted that my stay was not longer.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

Quaint Courtyard Hotel in an active Hutong area.

Posted Aug 24, 2014
Pros: Every room is decorated with Chinese furniture. It has A/C & heating, and a Western Style Bathroom. The staff speaks very good English.
Location: The hotel is located near the center of the city. A short distance away is the Forbidden City, Tiananmen Square, Temple of Heaven, Jingshan Park, etc.
This is the second time I have stayed at this hotel. Everything went very smoothly. Paid on Expedia last February and didn't have to do anything, even when I arrived August 18, 2014. This hotel is for people that would like to experience an quaint, authentic "Chinese atmosphere" courtyard hotel in a living Hutong. The rooms are not large, the location is in a narrow "alley" and a bit hard to find, but the staff are fluent in English and extremely helpful. Breakfast is buffet style with Chinese and Western dishes. I love the beds as they are a bit harder than what I'm used to, I always get a good nights sleep. The gardens are always nice (even in early spring when I was there two years ago). The Mya birds greet you with a Ni Hao, (hello). If you are expecting a five star hotel, this is not for you. This is experiencing Beijing in a different way to the regular tourist hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom New Zealand

Great hospitality. Staff attentive. Good English

Posted Aug 18, 2014
Location: Interesting Hutong in the heart of Beijing. Walking distance to Tianeman square, Hidden City and other major attractions. Local eateries supermarke
This was an unexpected experience. We were made to feel very welcome. The staff went out of their way to make our stay comfortable. They helped with currency exchange. Advise on available tours, Booked taxis and tours and train tickets without extra charge. The service was exemplary. All reception staff spoke good english. Walking distance to many major attractions. Special thanks to Jaclyn and her team. We highly recommend this hotel for a great Beijing experience.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Dorset

Beautiful hotel wonderful staff

Posted Aug 5, 2014
Pros: Atmosphere, staff
Cons: Location is a bit tricky to find for taxi drivers however if you call hotel they'll direct taxi driver for you
Location: Excellent location for Forbidden City and central attractions. These are ashort taxi ride away - most Beijinghotels are a lot further out
Lovely hotel,shabby chic Chinese style in a great location. Peaceful haven away from hustle and bussel of Beijing life. Staff could not have been more friendly or helpful. Harp music and tea ceremony an added treat. Breakfast was wonderful - a better spread than most 5star hotels.