Ratings based on 13 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2.7 out of 5
77% of guests recommend
2.7 Room cleanliness
3.4 Service & staff
2.3 Room comfort
2.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by John from NH - USA

Terrible Do NOT stay here

Posted Jun 3, 2013 on Hotels.com
Upon our arrival they told us the hotel was closing. Was terribly run down and going out of business. Potentially it was sold and being refurbished, but the day we were there it was a wreck as old owners were moving out. Peeling wall paper. Family room located down long dark hallway thru a maintenance area with a pad lock on the barn door. Open up to water stained chairs and nasty nasty looking room. We moved out immediately.
2 out of 5
by Gilbert from Ca.

maldo family

Posted May 27, 2013
Pros: inexpensive, great location
Cons: the staff's poor English
Location: the location is great
If all you are looking for is a inexpensive place to stay this hotel is OK.It's location is close to everything(forbidden city,Tienanmen square,shopping center)The food was good but do not ask for minor changes to your order because you will not get it. The staff's English bad but they will not tell you that they do not understand you so you think that you will get what you asked for,but you don't.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by JWerneck

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 2, 2013 on Hotels.com
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Ali from New Zealand

Reasonable hotel

Posted Feb 24, 2013
Pros: Location, price, good shower
Cons: Stayed 4 nights - rooms were serviced daily but they don't change the towels. They just fold up your used towels and put them back in the bathroom.
Good location, 5 minute walk to Wangfujing shopping street. Small convenience stores nearby. Rooms are a little old but the price is great so I would stay again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Michael

Budget / Backpacker Hotel

Posted Oct 21, 2012 on Hotels.com
Old budget / backpacker hotel, worth about 30 bucks a night. The Jade Garden is right next door, 3x better but twice the price. The location is great, minutes from the night market (it is small and you can finish it all in about 2 hours) and about 15 mins from the actual Forbidden City, Tiananmen Square and subway (1 mile). The first room smelled like mildew, so we switched to room 108 which only had a slight smell and noisy AC. The hotel had a western style cafe / bar. Although the food isn't the same (hamburger was a soy patty and tuna melt had no cheese or tuna and was cold) they played western music and it was a nice attempt on their part and brake from all the Asian food. Wifi worked great in the lobby and wired internet was slow in the room. The staff spoke good English but will not call a taxi or arrange for any car services to the airport. They have tour packages for about 250 RMB. Safer than getting the services off the street for 100 RMB. But will still make you go to stores and want a 100 rmb tip at the end.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

not bad for a cheap hotel.

Posted Aug 16, 2012
Location is great, not far walk to subway. Hot water is great. Beds suck as you can feel the springs. other than that , not bad considering the low price.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Price is right

Posted Aug 13, 2012
The staff was great, despite the language barrier. Please note that the Chinese gov't blocks many internet sites and prevents attachments from opening,, but other than that the internet was OK. The bed springs that you could easily feel was the biggest gripe. . Good location, near so many sites , shops, stores, laundry, etc. The laundry a couple doors down does a wonderful job, but frightfully expensive. Buy a bar of laundry soap in any convenience store, and wash your own. A few minutes will save you heaps, that is if you will be here for a few days, as that is how long it will take to dry.
2 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Posted May 26, 2012 on Hotels.com
The hotel was very close to the Forbidden City and Tianamen Squarebut was not is a nice neighbourhood. I have travelled alot and after having been in 4 other cities in China this was the only place I did not feel safe walking in. The room was VERY tiny, only 8x10 feet. There was no space to even open our suitcases. We had to put them on a bed, open them and then close them and put them away before we could move. There was no window and the AC did not work. The room was exceptionally hot and stuffy. On the upside, there were 2 girls who worked the tour desk at the front and they both went above and beyond in helping. I would not however, stay there or reccommend it.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Location for the Budget Traveler

Posted Feb 17, 2012
Pros: Location and price
Cons: A little noisy at night but I was close to the lobby
Location: Can't be beat!
This is a nice budget hotel. Room was small and a little rundown but everything worked. There was a nice cafe in the lobby with free wireless (also free wired internet in the room). You can just hang out in the cafe and read the plentiful supply of newspapers and listen to the music. I did not try the food or order drinks. This hotel is within walking distance of the Forbidden City and the main Shopping area. There are some excellent places to eat just a few blocks down the street. They can arrange tours to the out of town sites although I did not do this. Seems to be a hangout for the more adventurous travelers of all ages from Europe and the United States. I would definitely stay again!
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from San Francisco, ca

Good location for hotel

Posted Sep 4, 2011 on Hotels.com
This hotel is in the center of everything. Just finding it was difficult the first day. I had to pay a rickshaw to get me there and of course I got ripped off, not too bad. If u land from the airport. Take the shuttle 2 xi Dan and get off at xi Dan, the last stop. Then u can go take the subway number 1 and get off at wongfujiang and walk two blocks to the hotel. Or just take a cab for approx 100 yuan. FYI real cabs have meters. Fake cabs will ripp u off bad.