Ratings based on 75 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 15, 2013 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Long stay from US

The washing machines still exist!

Posted Jun 13, 2013 on Hotels.com
My 2nd long stay (2 months) at this apartment hotel and in general, I am very pleased. You do have to insist on things from the staff. When we came we asked for a room with a washing machine, and were told the rooms did not have washing machines. When we told them we had stayed before and knew there was a washing machine, they gave us the room. The WIFI was also out, but we bought a cheap router from the 6th floor, and that fixed it. We also bought a rice cooker/hot plate and used them for cooking. In terms of grocery/convenience stores, there is a Watson's on the 3rd floor of the same building. There is also a V and Go store in the basement of a nearby mall. You can also take a longer walk down to the Xuanwumen stop where there is an upscale BHG mart in the SOGO mall. Lots of expat products in there. I used the pool and gym almost everyday. It is mostly basic stuff, but it is good enough, and is mostly empty, so you usually have the pool to yourself. The 8th floor has a huge food court and is still a fun place to eat in a pinch. You have to get a pre-charged food card from a counter at the center. The rooms are generally a bit dated, but workable. The level of cleaning is more to the standard of a serviced apartment than hotel. This place is recommend for a family stay, and people already familiar with Beijing, but it can also be a way to get a more authentic China experience and "home like" feel. It is certainly a great value, so go ahead, and give the HWA a try! :)
2 out of 5
Recommended
by ML

Posted Oct 10, 2012 on Hotels.com
This hotel is barely satisfactory. The concioerge is useless unless you have strong Mandarin skills - no one speaks or reads English. On check in they could not understand our Hotels.com booking for about 30 mins and the wrong size vehicle was booked by the hotel for our trip back to the airport resulting in children sitting on laps etc. The hotel room kitchen is largely useless as the utensils and crockery etc that you would expect were not provided or parts were missing. This hotel is 2 star and I would not recommend for a Western family.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Paul

convenient location and excellent value for money

Posted Aug 29, 2012 on Hotels.com
I used accommodation for a stop-over, and this was very well located to allow a quick evening walk to Forbidden City and T Square. Apartment room had a pleasant feel, good space and comfort (though kitchen cupboards were essentially empty). Overall a very pleasant stay, followed by a mere 30+ min taxi trip to Capital Airport.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by prg

Lovely garden, nice apartment, but ...

Posted Aug 1, 2012 on Hotels.com
I've enjoyed visiting the Xidan neighborhood in the past and thought I'd try staying. Never thought about this, but the one drawback is that there don't seem to be any convenient grocery stores around - not even convenience stores. There is one store in the basement of the Xidan Department Store but its pretty minimal. The store in the basement of the Parkson Department Store is good, but its a long walk, or crowded subway for one stop, or taxi ride, away. The hotel/apartment is very close to the Xidan subway station - too bad the subway is so packed these days. The garden on the roof is great.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by wayne

easily accessible to tourist sights

Posted Jul 14, 2012 on Hotels.com
2 bedroom with kitchen and lounge, clean and comfortable. Facilities good location good. Only staff member with english speaking was the concierge
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Danene from Brisbane QLD, Australia

VERY convenient location

Posted Jul 1, 2012
Pros: LOCATION
Cons: Not thoroughly cleaned
Location: Central shopping district for Beijingers
As other reviews have stated. VERY convenient location. Heaps of options for food; close to subway. Great for travelling with kids; room for playing inside apartment. Pool superb. No charges for use of pool, gym etc. High speed internet in room and free of charge. Laundry VERY expensive. Worst point (although a petty one) not many staff to help with interpreting addresses for taxis.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 11, 2012 on Hotels.com
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Beijing HWA Apartment Hotel

Posted Apr 11, 2012 on Hotels.com
Hotel staff friendly. No proper lobby. Room is big and clean. They supply towels, toileteries and bathrobes. All rooms in 9,10, 11th floor. Free Beijing map available in the room. But the map is not not uptodate. But might be facing other highrise buildings with no good view. Beds are comfortable. Wireless internet. Very big old TV in the room. You get a headache after watching it. TV in the sitting area is ok. Only English TV channel available is CNN. There's a French Channel Monde. Lots of Chinese channels. One Chinese movie channel got old English movies during night time. Room was cold. No heaters or air conditioning in the room. Central Heater has been switched off. Unlike other apartment hotels, no free drinking water, black tea or coffee available. Only Ju Hua flower tea available. Mini Bar expensive.There's a fridge, microwave and washing machine. Unlike the apartment hotel we stayed in Shanghai which was much cheaper and in good condition than this one, there's no washing powder, pots/pans, kinves in this hotel. two plates and spoons and forks available. Gas oven not working. Shower head not working properly, so difficult to get a good shower. Ther's a bath tub but not very deep. OK if you are very slim. Hotel staff will not find a taxi for you. Very difficult to get Taxi to the airport as there are a lot of illegal non Taxi vehicles with brokers claiming high fees controlling around the area. Near to shopping areas, Mc donalds, KFC. Convenient to Xidan and Hu tong subway, aound 8 to10 minutes. Direct line to Tian A men and Summer palace. Need to change subway if you want to go to Airpiort, Olympic Park or Beijing North railway station to Great wall. Have to walk long distances inside the subway if need to change subway line. No escalators and can't use lifts unless you are in a wheel chair. Difficult to get taxi to the airport. Very difficult to get Taxi to the airport as there are a lot of illegal non Taxi vehicles with brokers caliming high fees, controlling the Taxi service around the hotel area and some of the sceneic spots.Illegal taxi drove us a long way to Zi jin park instead of Summer park. Then he wanted us to buy 70 RMB boat ticket/ per person from there to Summer park so he can get a comission from the lady at the ticket counter. Somehow we managed to find a bus which cost only 1 RMB as we can speak Chinese.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 1, 2012 on Hotels.com