Ratings based on 12 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from Palo Alto, USA

Beijing Hubei Hotel

Posted Apr 1, 2014 on Hotels.com
The carpet was not maintained well, not clean.The AC control does not work well. Too hot, not enough cold air even adjust the temperature all the way to the lowest settings. The shower drain was clogged. No WiFi in room, only in the lobby. But, the price is in-expensive.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by TC from Houston

Convenient location, but OK hotel

Posted Mar 31, 2014 on Hotels.com
The hotel is a bit old, but is conveniently located. Not far from subway station (National Library).
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 7, 2014 on Hotels.com
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 27, 2013
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by JR from USA

Consistent with Advertisement

Posted Oct 15, 2013 on Hotels.com
The hotel was about a five-minute walk from the subway, which was great. The lobby was nice and we had wifi access in the lobby. The staff was helpful. The rooms could use some upgrades, but overall the hotel was good and consistent with the advertisements. There was a 500 yuan deposit at check-in, so be ready for that (we got the full amount back at check-out).
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Richard from Knoxville, TN

Not a Typical Chinese Hotel

Posted Aug 3, 2013
Pros: Good for the money, not disappointed we stayed there
Cons: Add a top sheet to the bed, thermostat control, clean the carpets, better coffee service and a more western breakfast (we did not choose to eat there.
Location: Near a subway station, a pedestrian bridge at the hotel, Zoo and Aquarium 1 subway stop away! Many Muslim restaurants and a great park behind Library
We chose this hotel for proximity to our activities and price discount for multiple day stays. It was one of the better Chinese hotels I have stayed in over all my trips to China that the hotels is NOT a Western Brand. They did have 1 staff member at all times that could speak English. While the room accommodations were more than adequate small things like not top sheet on the bed, no control of the Thermostat in the room and some issue of cleanliness (the carpets needed a thorough cleaning) where our biggest issues from a Westerners point of view. All and All though if I can sleep in the bed and have a good shower, everything is good and I could do both of those things. The staff was very helpful in everything we approached them about even warning us when they weren't obligated, to avoid certain things! This section of Haidian district does not have many visible restaurants, though there are some great local restaurant experiences a few blocks off the main road and a magnificent park behind the National library! I would stay at this hotel again!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Michael from London, UK

Good for National Library

Posted Jul 8, 2013
This hotel has seen better times, but it is still a good choice for those wanting to use the National Library, which is just across the street. As mentioned by other reviewers, the room carpets are quite old and dirty, and in the corridors there is a pervasive tobacco smell. Otherwise the facilities are fine, except that in my room (4th floor, so-called deluxe kingsize room) the WiFi signal was not strong enough, so I had to use the ultra-short broadband cable instead. The online booking through Expedia went well. I did not have to pay a penny to the hotel. They did ask for a 200 yuan deposit on arrival (rather than take a credit card deposit as most hotels would do). When you pay the deposit they give you a yellow receipt slip that you have to keep with you and show to them when you check out, otherwise they won't return the 200 yuan to you (even though they keep a copy of the receipt as well). They don't tell you this at check-in, so beware! There is a decent UBC coffee shop across the street and a little bit to the left. If you cross the street and walk North past the Minzu University, and then turn left into Weigongcun street, there are lots of restaurants. The National Library metro station is only a few minutes walk South from the hotel. On the way to the metro station you pass a reasonable fast food place, as well as a small supermarket where you can stock up on bread rolls, yogurt, milk etc. (so that you don't have to eat the Chinese breakfast in the hotel).
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good hotel for family stay

Posted Nov 9, 2012
Cons: smell of smoking
Location: convenient, close to public transport, easy to find
I chose this hotel with expedia as it is the lowest price 4 star hotel I can found. My first book did not specify the non-smoking room and there are a strong smell in the room and in the whole level. The second time I booked a non smoking room. The non smoking room still has a little bit smell of smoke inside but much better comparing to the first stay. The room is otherwise clean and comfortable. Close to public transportation, easy to find.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by andy from San Francisco,Ca

Good location,but need to clean better

Posted Oct 24, 2012
Pros: location,beds.
Cons: cleaness of the room
Location: close to subway,close to Beijings' high tech area,can find taxis in the busy hours
This is more of a local guests' hotel,rooms are in good size and beds are ok,its the maintenence that's off,carpet is dirty and bathroom were not well cleaned. I would recommend this hotel only because of its location,its close to subway and not too difficult to get taxis.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by K. Anderson

good value

Posted Jun 10, 2012 on Hotels.com
the hotel was very nice i had a friend stay across the street and they paid a little less but the hubei hotel was far nicer food and drink was over priced but that is typical for 4 or 5 star hotels overall it was a comfortable experience