Ratings based on 86 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.5 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
3.4 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.0 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Other
by A verified traveler from 大阪

中国の標準ホテル、近所は店も多い

Posted Jun 22, 2015
Pros: 中国的で気にしなくてもいい。
Location: 近所は観光地なので、歩いて故宮博物館にも行けるので、便利です。
このホテルは、滞在中はシーツ換えなどは無いが、のんびりと過ごせるホテルです。夕方には果物を売りに来るし、生活を体験するには良い環境です。ホテルの場所は地図と違っているのでマップで調べないと迷う事になります。住所が英語表示なので、現地の町の名前でさがさなくてはならないので、注意してほしい。
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Pittsburgh

Great experience

Posted Jun 13, 2015
I really enjoyed my stay at the Hyde Hotel, and would recommend it for anyone who wants to have the "real" Beijing experience and stay in a local hutong (neighborhood) instead of a big sterile Western style hotel. The Hyde was perfect for that. It's located on a tiny alley just off Meishi Street. The alley is too small for a taxi, so you'll need to get dropped off on Meishi Street and walk a hundred yards or so to the hotel. No big deal. Note, however, that if you approach the hotel from the other end of the alley, the red sign in front of the hotel reads "Are Operating" instead of "Hyde Hotel", so you might miss the hotel entrance! The Hyde is pretty good by local standards. It's clean, friendly, and several staff speak some English. Hot water for showers is a bit iffy, though. Rooms are comfortable though small. And the price is great. Overall, I liked it a lot.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Fabienne from Taishan

Hôtel typique dans les hutongs

Posted Mar 4, 2015 on Hotels
Un mignon établissement très typique dans les hutongs près de la place Tian'anmen. Escaliers un peu raides, chambre minuscule, salle de bains peu pratique car la douche éclabousse tout. Mais emplacement idéal.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Great stay, great location!

Posted Feb 25, 2015
Pros: Location! Cute hotel.
Cons: We had a great stay!
Location: Walking distance to Tiananmen Square, the Forbidden City and Dashilar Street which had a ton of shops and restaurants.
We had a great stay at the Hyde Courtyard Hotel! While there, we saw a sign that the hotel is under new management, so believe many of the negative reviews were left before that turnover, and the new staff is attempting to correct those issues. Location The hotel itself is located in the hutong, and we felt super safe walking around at night. The location was the best part- walking distance to Tiananmen Square, the Forbidden City and Dashilar Street which had a ton of shops and restaurants. Room/wifi Our room was cleaned daily, the wifi was nearly perfect (there was only one night of our six that we had trouble) and super fast and the rooms were equipped with shampoo, body wash, a hair dryer, TV, etc. Yes, the beds were hard, but that is to be expected in China and didn't bother us at all. Staff/other The staff was very polite and helpful, and while their English was limited, we didn't have any trouble communicating about things we needed/payments. While we didn't book any tours through the hotel, there were 5-6 options that seemed fun and less expensive. /wifi
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Andrew from Birmingham

Great, flexible hotel with friendly service

Posted Feb 20, 2015 on Hotels
The hotel was clean, well maintained and the staff were friendly and helpful. Don't expect silver service dinners, but for the price charged this hotel was beyond expectations and the inner courtyard really is lovely to have in the hotel. The setting in a Hútòng is metres away from gorgeous street food as well,and about 7-8 minutes walk from the south end of Tian'anmen square, itself one subway change from Capital Airport. Highly recommended, service above the price category.
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Jie

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 15, 2015 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 8, 2015 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia

A nice stay!

Posted Dec 19, 2014
Pros: The location, there are many shops that you can shop at, near to the subway!
Cons: Advertise more about this hotel, even the taxi drivers there didn't know about the location of this hotel. Maybe should put a signage at the main road
Location: Qianmen Street is the place to enjoy the night view. You can shop there too, there are so many shops!
If you are going on a budget trip to Beijing, this hotel is comfortable enough for your stay. The staff are very friendly and helpful. My mom fell down during our visit and Jack (one of the staff) took the endless efforts walking to the pharmacy at night to find medicines for her. The staff can speak English too! About the area, it is very close to subway line, even at night you can just walk along the street called Qianmen Street! Beautiful stay and experience we had! Try it!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vancouver, BC

Very Central, Great Neighborhood.

Posted Dec 8, 2014
Pros: Great location. Lots of character. Friendly though young and inexperienced staff.
Cons: The beds were quite hard. The front desk and lounge area could use a renovation.
Location: Short walk to the south gate of Tiananmen Square and subway, steps from Qianmen Street (Retail), hundreds of restaurants/shops within a 5 minutes walk
I had a hard time finding this hotel, which is hidden in what feels like an alleyway (but is in fact a 'Hutong', an old very narrow street). The location is actually great, very central in a charming and very active neighborhood. A nice experience in contrast to staying in a large western chain...I would only recommend this hotel to travelers who don't require luxury. It felt very much like a youth hostel rather than a hotel, but is charming.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

If your looking for China

Posted Nov 26, 2014
Well superglide aircon lifts its not. China tea house for real it is, beds as well. My only complaint the bed high futon astyle mattress a little hard for these old bones. Walking distance close to every major thrill and thrill China will.