Ratings based on 83 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.5 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
3.4 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.0 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Chicago

Great stay, great location!

Posted Feb 25, 2015
Pros: Location! Cute hotel.
Cons: We had a great stay!
Location: Walking distance to Tiananmen Square, the Forbidden City and Dashilar Street which had a ton of shops and restaurants.
We had a great stay at the Hyde Courtyard Hotel! While there, we saw a sign that the hotel is under new management, so believe many of the negative reviews were left before that turnover, and the new staff is attempting to correct those issues. Location The hotel itself is located in the hutong, and we felt super safe walking around at night. The location was the best part- walking distance to Tiananmen Square, the Forbidden City and Dashilar Street which had a ton of shops and restaurants. Room/wifi Our room was cleaned daily, the wifi was nearly perfect (there was only one night of our six that we had trouble) and super fast and the rooms were equipped with shampoo, body wash, a hair dryer, TV, etc. Yes, the beds were hard, but that is to be expected in China and didn't bother us at all. Staff/other The staff was very polite and helpful, and while their English was limited, we didn't have any trouble communicating about things we needed/payments. While we didn't book any tours through the hotel, there were 5-6 options that seemed fun and less expensive. /wifi
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Andrewfrom Birmingham

Great, flexible hotel with friendly service

Posted Feb 20, 2015 on Hotels.com
The hotel was clean, well maintained and the staff were friendly and helpful. Don't expect silver service dinners, but for the price charged this hotel was beyond expectations and the inner courtyard really is lovely to have in the hotel. The setting in a Hútòng is metres away from gorgeous street food as well,and about 7-8 minutes walk from the south end of Tian'anmen square, itself one subway change from Capital Airport. Highly recommended, service above the price category.
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Jie

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 15, 2015 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 8, 2015 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia

A nice stay!

Posted Dec 19, 2014
Pros: The location, there are many shops that you can shop at, near to the subway!
Cons: Advertise more about this hotel, even the taxi drivers there didn't know about the location of this hotel. Maybe should put a signage at the main road
Location: Qianmen Street is the place to enjoy the night view. You can shop there too, there are so many shops!
If you are going on a budget trip to Beijing, this hotel is comfortable enough for your stay. The staff are very friendly and helpful. My mom fell down during our visit and Jack (one of the staff) took the endless efforts walking to the pharmacy at night to find medicines for her. The staff can speak English too! About the area, it is very close to subway line, even at night you can just walk along the street called Qianmen Street! Beautiful stay and experience we had! Try it!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Vancouver, BC

Very Central, Great Neighborhood.

Posted Dec 8, 2014
Pros: Great location. Lots of character. Friendly though young and inexperienced staff.
Cons: The beds were quite hard. The front desk and lounge area could use a renovation.
Location: Short walk to the south gate of Tiananmen Square and subway, steps from Qianmen Street (Retail), hundreds of restaurants/shops within a 5 minutes walk
I had a hard time finding this hotel, which is hidden in what feels like an alleyway (but is in fact a 'Hutong', an old very narrow street). The location is actually great, very central in a charming and very active neighborhood. A nice experience in contrast to staying in a large western chain...I would only recommend this hotel to travelers who don't require luxury. It felt very much like a youth hostel rather than a hotel, but is charming.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom London

If your looking for China

Posted Nov 26, 2014
Well superglide aircon lifts its not. China tea house for real it is, beds as well. My only complaint the bed high futon astyle mattress a little hard for these old bones. Walking distance close to every major thrill and thrill China will.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Dallas, Texas

Great location to main attractions!

Posted Nov 26, 2014
Pros: The hospitality and friendliness of the staff, almost got teary when I left.
Cons: Phone service! If they could possibly install a payphone in the lobby would be awesome.
Location: Tianmen Square, Forbidden City, the Hutongs, subway station, Quianmen Street (for shopping) and lots of restaurants!
Got there at 3am, the hotel staff were quick to provide me a warm bed to sleep in. This little hotel is near most attractions in Beijing, 10 to 15 minute walk and you will be in Tianmen Square. Definitely this is the place to stay and experience the true and pure Chinese Hospitality. One word of advice... If you book a tour with expedia, make sure the tour operator knows where you are staying, I ended up missing the Beijing Opera Show and almost missed the Great Wall tour! The staff would be able to arrange for you some of the tours with some advance notice. I ended up going on my own to the Great Wall, the front desk told me what subway and what bus to take and I made it there in about two hours (Badaling section). Lots of restaurants nearby with authentic Chinese food, you will enjoy it!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Hagen

Tolle Lage nahe des Tian An Men Platzes

Posted Nov 3, 2014
Pros: Die Lage in einem Houtong und die Nähe zum TianAnMenPlatz
Cons: Die Einrichtung könnte etwas besser instand gehalten werden.
Location: Das Hotel liegt nur wenige Meter von der QianMenDajie, mit seinen Geschäften, entfernt. Um das Hotel herum befinden sich kleine Restaurants und Läden
Das Beijing Hyde Courtyard Hotel liegt südlich des Tian An Men Platzes in einer kleinen Gasse. Zur U-Bahn und zum Platz sind es ca. 700 m. Zur QianMenDajie sind es ca. 25 m. Eine tolle Ausgangsposition um die Stadt zufuß zu erkunden. Das Hotel selbst bietet alle nötigen Annehmlichkeiten. Das Personal spricht ausreichend englisch. Die Zimmer sind einfach, aber aussreichend ausgestattet. Frühstück wird angeboten, aber man kann auch in einem der kleinen Dumpling-Restaurants, die sich um das Hotel herum befinden, hervorragend frühstücken. Wenn ich wieder in Peking bin, werde ich hier wieder übenachten.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Ken Maynardfrom New York

Yea spend a few bucks more and stay somewhere else

Posted Oct 27, 2014 on Hotels.com
First night I checked in and they did not have a room for me. The front desk staff was helpful but it took them 2+ hr to find me a room at another place, which turned out to be a massage parlor !! So need less to say I was very aggravated. Not clean, pictures look better than the actual room, very deceiving. If your not looking for much then this place is for you.