Ratings based on 317 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Bibi from Beijing, China

Very nice hotel that close to everything.

Posted May 14, 2014
Excellent hotel that close to everything like shopping, subway and attractions.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Well located and more than adaquate

Posted May 13, 2014
Pros: Location, reasonable cost and great value for money.
Cons: Absolutely NOTHING happening in the evenings but who wants to stay in?
Location: Walking distance to a lot of the 'must see' parts of Beiing.
This is a Chinese hotel and not an 'International' hotel. Some staff are reasonably fluent in English but not all. The hotel was quiet when we were there, very few people in the restaurant but the food was OK and reasonably priced. The bar(s) were DESERTED due in part I am sure by the price and limited choice of drinks. Rooms were clean, well furnished and well serviced each day. If you are looking for somewhere to stay close to Tiananmen Square etc. then this is a reasonably priced and convenient choice.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Pedro2727 from UK

Just 2 nights.

Posted Apr 25, 2014
Easy walking distance from Tianamen square etc. Hotel staff were pleasant. Breakfast was good as long as you get there well before the cut off time. Rooms fairly standard but were clean and quiet.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good quality hotel close to main sites and subway

Posted Apr 23, 2014
Great hotel for the price. Close to main sites. I could see the Forbidden City from my room! Close to subway. Clean and good service.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by kaye&kevin from beijing

very good hotel

Posted Apr 6, 2014
Pros: close to mrt and main sites,we are in our 70s and we could walk to these areas.
Cons: breakfast,too much chinese,not catering enough for foreigners
Location: walk to pearl markets,pedestrian street temple of heaven ,tiarmen square,mrt-cost only 2 yuan as far as you can go-very cheap.
excellent hotel,staff very helpful,understood our english.careful of day tour guides,they want a big tip at the end and will ask for it,get angry if you do not give it,
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Dave from Elgin, On

Great Location

Posted Mar 31, 2014
Pros: Location
Cons: English yellow pages in rooms for pizza for example should list which deliver to hotel and since advertising in an english book be able to take a call
Location: Everything is close
Good prompt service. However went to look at pool/spa for a swim later, and were casual dressed at the time. Was asked to leave, followed out and had the door closed behind us. Language barriers I think. We were just looking. Overall the hotel is in a great location for walking anywhere. Bellhops are quick and courteous for getting taxis, but if you want a rickshaw just walk to the street and you'll be chased down by them offering you a ride. Tip, always get a taxi with meter only. Many taxis in tourist areas like the Pearl market will say "Meter too expensive. I will do it for 80Y no meter" Pearl Market to Hotel is only 20Y with meter. 120Y from airport to hotel by meter. Taxi pimps will charge 580Y so be smart.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Jon from S E Asia

Posted Jan 20, 2014
Pros: The atmosphere, calm and quiet, and the level of comfort for the price.
Location: Central Beijing, halfway between Chongwenmen and Qianmen Subway stations, 15 minutes' walk to each. Qianmen is the South end of TianAnMen Square.
I first stayed at Capital Hotel years ago and have stayed here several times in the last two months. It is a a state-owned hotel, with a certain style and charm of its type, which means a stay here is different from major global chain hotels. I found the bed very comfortable and the staff very helpful and courteous. I have tried three of the restaurants and the food was very good. The Food Court (Tower B) offered cuisine from North-East China and the restaurant near the main lobby area offered a range of dishes suiting both Asian and Western tastes. The rooms seem quite generous sizes. Smoking is common in China, so if you are a non-smoker, I would advise you to book a non-smoking room. There are gift shops offering traditional Chinese products as well as a spa and a KTV parlour.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Brenda from Alaska

Near Tiannanmen Square

Posted Dec 24, 2013 on Hotels.com
Great Experience, and close to Tiannanmen Square, the Hongqiao Pearl Market,& a great restaurant across the street. Capital Hotel is located between two subway stops on the BLUE LINE 2. Get off at Chongwenmen Station. You can ride the express train from PEK Airport (if you arrive and get your luggage well by 10 pm) Go down two levels from baggage claim via escalator. buy ticket at booth for 25 rmb, ride train to Dongshimen transfer station; transfer to Blue Line 2 and ride past about 5 stops to Chongwenmen Station. Be sure to take a copy of the pic of the front of this hotel so that you can recognize it. It will be a block and a half walk east of the subway station. Address: 3 Qianmen St East.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Brenda Crim from Alaska

Oldie but Goodie

Posted Dec 10, 2013 on Hotels.com
The hotel was great, and staff can communicate in English. Hotel is accessible from the PEK airport by the "Airport Express Train" if you are able to board the train and make your destination by 11 pm WHEN THE SUBWAY SYSTEM CLOSES. Make sure you can get to Dongshimen station to transfer to Line 2 (BLUE LINE) before 11:00 pm. From Line 2, get off at Wangfujing Station and the hotel is close by. (capture a picture of the hotel from the internet so that you can get help finding it). Total price of travel is about 29 yuan each from the airport, and takes 30 minutes.
1 out of 5
by Babs from New York

HORRIBLE!!!!

Posted Dec 6, 2013
Pros: Walking distance to Tienamen Sq & Forbidden City. Very comfortable bed.
Cons: Offering more Western Food at breakfast buffet
Location: Walking distance to Tienamen Sq & Forbidden City
At best, this hotel should be awarded 2.5 stars. While my initial superior room was large enough, the toilet and shower were BROKEN. Was upgraded to suite as a result, which was filthy. The stench of body odor permeated the rooms. Additionally, the carpet was disgusting and the chairs/couch were soiled. At breakfast, ample Chinese food was offered at the buffet and very little, if any, Western food. The croissant was awful and the cinnamon danish tasted as if it was baked with soap detergent. Inedible! The only reason I rated it even 2.5 is its close proximity to Tienanmen Sq & Forbidden City. NEVER AGAIN.