Ratings based on 11 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Paddy from Edinburgh

Very much to be recommended

Posted Sep 18, 2013 on Hotels.com
Very much to be recommended. We stayed in a ground floor room off a central courtyard. Simple but clean, quiet and safe. Free wi-fi which was very much a surprise. Very friendly staff. They can arrange tours to the Great Wall. The hotel can also arrange airport pickup which is extremely handy. This hotel is based in a hutong (alley) just off Gulou Dongdajie which is very much a lively street in the weekends and one of the main places for food & drink. Good bars nearby include the 'Drum & Bell' and restaurants such as 'Pho' and 'Saveurs de Corée'.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Malcolm from Melbourne

Nestled in the laneways of Beijing

Posted Sep 18, 2013
Pros: Felt like you were living in section of urban Beijing. Not five star hotel in five star area but in amongst the people. Helpful and friendly staff
Cons: A bit more explanation in English about how things work in the room rather than have to ask.
Location: Great location in typical urban area of Beijing. Located down a narrow laneway and a bit hard to find but on the other hand very quiet at night.
This is basic accomodation but has everything you need. Rooms in courtyard design and all open onto a common courtyard. Free wifi in room and very friendly and hepful managers. 10 min walk to metro. 6 metro stops from Tian'anmen Square. Help yourself breakfast. A basic homely feel. Stayed for 2 nights snd going back for snother four nights.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 12, 2014
thanks for you review hope you have a good time here
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Dr Turkay from Turkey

nice hotel,in the heart of beijing

Posted Aug 20, 2013
Pros: i think in an hotel in China,3 things are important.comfortable bed,good wi-fi connection,and good working air condition. in this hotel all were good
Cons: the humidity of weather is very much in beijing.for this reason,there was a smell in one of our rooms.
Location: location was very ideal,near subway and to center.but at first,you have to write the adress in chinese to show to taxi driver.
i stayed 5 days in this hotel with my family.the place was near the touristic areas,near to subway and the local life.the area was very secure,hotel was old chinese decorated,clean and the staff was helpfull.it has only 6 rooms,the size of the room was enough.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 12, 2014
hope you had a good time with you family
5 out of 5
Recommended
by lauran from suan

good location

Posted Jul 10, 2013 on Hotels.com
this is a very lovely hotel closed to many palace in bejing such as nanluoguxiang is a very funny palace.
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by PatrickD from Singapore

Major Disappointment

Posted May 31, 2013 on Hotels.com
I heard about the courtyard hotels in Beijing way before my trip, so I made a special effort to pick a good one for my stay. But unfortunately, I was fooled by the "4.1/5.0" ratings on Hotels.com and TripAdvisor. Despite making a booking 10 days in advance with full payment made, I was told by the staff at the entrance hall (which was not only difficult to find, but was also a very untidy mouldy smelling place) that my reservation "only came in this afternoon" and I had no choice because "all the rooms are already occupied". Because it was already rather late, we accepted the staff's alternative arrangement for accommodation, which turned out to be a horrendous budget hotel just around the corner (Tang Fu Hotel). While its supposed to be the same price, the room smelled bad, half the lights were fused, the aircon rattled loudly all night, and there were cigarette butts in the shampoo dispenser. We checked out after 1 night, thanks to Courtyard View Hotel for a great start to our trip.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 25, 2013 by chenyue, Hotel Management
We are really sorry about this. anyway hopefully see you next time at courtyard view hotel
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

authentic Chinese experience

Posted Dec 23, 2012 on Hotels.com
Gerry and his colleagues were so welcoming and friendly and made my first impressions of China an enriching experience. Gerry and Fir drove my daughter and me to the Great Wall and were excellent company and most patient. The hotel, located in the Hutong district, unless you have knowledge of what hutongs are about , might initially be hard to find but as Gerry met me at the airport, my arrrival was perfect. The room catered for every need and attention was paid to the smallest detail. It had great charm and character and gave a memorable experience in a traditional setting. Thank you Gerry, Fir and Sam for a wonderful week.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by david

very good guest house

Posted Oct 28, 2012 on Hotels.com
good location stayed in the centre of beijing.many restaurants and coffee shops around here.if you are first time to beijing this is you best palace in beijing
5 out of 5
Recommended
by david

the best palace in beijing

Posted Aug 29, 2012 on Hotels.com
this is right palace for us.located in the heart of beijing closed to metro line 5 &2.we can walk to drum tower and nanluo gu line.this is full of delicious food.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Yane Tay

Luckily it was quite near the main street...

Posted Jul 24, 2012 on Hotels.com
We stayed here for 3 nights after staying 4 nights in 5-stars grand hotel Beijing, wanted to experience the traditional authentic shi-he-yuan. Although it was smaller than expected, only 6 rooms in total, but it was still a genuine shi-he-yuan, and luckily it was near the main road because cars will not be able to enter the hu-tong (small lane) and you'll need to carry your luggage out. The hotel is named courtyard view probably all rooms only have windows facing the small squarish center courtyard, with tables and chairs for gathering and breakfast. The room size is ok, and we'd chosen the larger one. Bed is comfy but not 5-star, but efforts in decor for the room is really appreciated, very authentic. Walking to the train station may be a slight distance - about an kilo, but the shops along the way make it easier unless you are rushing. On the right, you may walk to a beautiful lake - hou-hai, crowded with neon-lights cafe and restaurants (slightly expensive dinning area). Most important, Courtyard View hotel is just directly opposite - about 100m away from famous traditional shopping lane - gu-Lou-nan-Xian, nearly 500m stretch of small traditional shops and cafe, busy foot-path shopping street with occasional cars rivaling in even there was a no-entry sign...
5 out of 5
Recommended
by julia

very home stay with chinese fanily guest house

Posted Jul 7, 2012 on Hotels.com
This little palace is cozy to the down town city.very near to subway line 5.very helpful staff could help us book the train ticket to xi'an.and day trip to the hiking great wall. the room is clean and with anything you want is all free here.this is really great