Ratings based on 66 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from S

Courtyard view is not a hotel. It is a home

Posted Apr 26, 2015
I made reservation through Expedia and it was hard for the taxi to go in the narrow road in Old Beijing. So I had to use a three wheel bike to move stuff to the door. Manager told me that the standard room I reserved was not available so he will put me in a delux room then move me to the standard room. I was very tired and did not have a choice to argue about it. The room had no ventilation to outside except window of bathroom and outside door. There is an AC standing unit but it is basically circulating the air. I tried to open the window above the bed but it was sealed and could not open. The next morning manager told be to pack so that he moves my stuff to the standard room. I decided to call Expedia and they were prompt to cancel my reservations for the following three days. I moved to a hotel that was cleaner and had everything missing in this one and $10 cheaper. I strongly recommend finding a modern hotel outside old Beijing. The subway station or a tour company can bring you to the old sites so there is no need to sleep in Old Beijing. This area looks like refugee camp with dense populations and public bathrooms in the street.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ystad

Perfekt läge i hutongerna

Posted Mar 25, 2015
Pros: Perfekt läge, mycket bra personal, mysig inredning, sköna sängar.
Cons: Kanske dags för nya tapeter.
Location: Det finns en mat och shoppinggata i närheten. Lamatemplet ligger ganska nära. Tunnelbanan ligger också ganska nära. Många hutongområden i närheten.
Läget är perfekt i en gammal hutong och man får det det riktiga Kina. Det är lite svårt att hitta för taxichaufförerna att hitta. se till att ha adressen utskriven på kinesiska och att ha telefonnumret om dom behöver hjälp. (det med lappar på kinesiska dit du ska underlättar även i övrigt då mycket få kineser kan engelska) Det är något slitet men det tycker jag att man får räkna med i de gamla hutongerna. Finns lite fukt men man har satt in fuktslukare. Jag var väldigt nöjd med rummet som var inredd i kinesisk stil och det kändes som att ha en andra hem. Vi valde deluxerummet och tycker att det var väl värt pengarna. Personalen var väldigt trevliga och hjälpsamma. Vi fick tips på matställen, dom fixade utflykter och tågbiljett då vi skulle vidare till shanghai. Det var en enkel frukost men jag tyckte det var precis lagom. Vatten fanns att ta fritt i en kyl på innergården. Sängarna var verkligen sköna precis som många har skrivit tidigare. Jag skulle verkligen rekommendera en vistelse här!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Christopher from Philadelphia

Easy enough to find if you do the homework.

Posted Nov 27, 2014 on Hotels
This is not a cookie cutter western style hotel room that you'll find in any city in China. This is a quaint, homely, authentic Beijing feeling stay in an awesome neighborhood. The service is not over the top, but whatever you need the Team here will get it done. Laundry? No problem and no charge. Need calls made in Chinese to ask about tickets for an event? They'll grab their cell and call that moment. The breakfast doesn't really exist but there is an awesome bun place with a huge selection on the nearest corner where you'll struggle to spend more then $US3. It's not that modern, but it's very clean and the beds comfortable. The walk from Andingmen station is a good 15min but it is so worth it to spend time in this area. East Gulou and the surrounding hutong area are brimming with local cultural activity, but not overrun by tourists. Overall we had a fun and comfortable stay here.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Allan from Australia

Grass Roots

Posted Oct 19, 2014 on Hotels
This small hotel is ideally located for the tourist who wishes to walk out the door and be right amongst it. No taxi or metro needed here as ancient Beijing is footsteps away. Very family friendly and day trips to the Great Wall are easily arranged. The metro is about 500 mts away connecting you to "The Forbidden City" and "Tiananmen Square" within half hour. Any amount of restaurants are within minutes walking distance. Great value for money; great location; great people.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Daniel from MD, USA

Good base for Beijing trip

Posted Jul 22, 2014 on Hotels
Decent hotel in a great area of town. It's hidden away down an alley (hutong). The alley is not particularly cute or charming but feels safe even at night does make it super quiet. The surrounding neigborhood is a hive of activity at all hours with good local restaurants and bars. Courtyard is small and right by all of the rooms so not a place to hang out for much more than a quick breakfast. Manager is always around and while not outwardly helpful is very helpful when you need / ask specific questions. About a 10-minute walk to the metro. Overall a good base and seemingly good value for Beijing.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by xiaoyu from beijing

舒服的庭院酒店

Posted Jun 24, 2014 on Hotels
和朋友一起来住的 氛围很好 值得推荐
5 out of 5
Recommended
by xiaoliang from beijing

传统的中式酒店

Posted Jun 24, 2014 on Hotels
坐落在胡同区 很有北京味
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by CN from UK

Nothing like the pictues...

Posted Jun 17, 2014 on Hotels
The staff was really nice, but that was about it. the hotel is not in good condition and the room we got was nothing like the pictures. It was small and only had a bed and small table, not space for your bags and stuff. The bathroom is weird, the shower is right by the door so everything gets wet since there is no closure. Also the water leaks into the room! When we had a shower, water went into the room and our clothes and phone got wet. The staff was nice about it but it's just not ok (some silicone would do the job). Breakfast was a little weird but ok. We might have been very unlucky with the room, but overall, we would not stay here again and would not recommend it to others either. We are not fussy at all, but it was quite disappointing...
3 out of 5
Recommended
by edithneko from Wuhan

房间小

Posted Jun 10, 2014 on Hotels
房间太小……离地铁站其实还是有点远的……
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 3, 2014 on Hotels