Ratings based on 16 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

A big disappointment

Posted Nov 4, 2013 on Hotels.com
For our stay in Beijing we decided to ignore the 'western' hotels and opted for a courtyard experience. Unfortunately it was a disappointing one. The photos make the place look pretty fantastic but don't be fooled by them. The hotel is clean but somewhat shabby - I wouldn't categorise it as anything other than a basic B&B, or maybe a hostel offering private rooms. This in itself isn't that bad - if you want a courtyard hotel experience then the Elite Hutong has plenty of character and charm. However, it is horrifically over-priced for what you get. We stayed in other 4-star western hotels in China for less than half the price we paid for this place. If it charged a third of what it does then it would be fine. Way, way too expensive!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Andre from Vancouver, Canada

Nice hotel, great location.

Posted Oct 9, 2013
Pros: Bottles of water and fresh fruits provided to guests everyday. Great value.
Cons: The hotel is not easy to find. Better signage needed.
Location: Close to Tianamen Square and the Forbidden City. A few hundred metres from a metro station. Many restaurants nearby.
Friendly staff. Great breakfast served in the courtyard. Small room but spacious bathroom.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by David from new York

Posted Aug 29, 2013 on Hotels.com
Not impressed. Overpriced for its hutong charm. There are better Hutong hotels with better prices and overall services. Location is convenient. Not much with amenities. Courtyard is quaint but quite jammed if more than a handful of guests showed up. No hot water for morning showers and breakfast is very plain but overpriced.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Dan&darren from London

Pretty good

Posted Jun 3, 2013 on Hotels.com
We enjoyed our stay
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 31, 2013 by Doris, Hotel Management
Thank u for your comment and wish you come again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Tyson

Nice place to stay close to Tiananmen and subway

Posted May 13, 2013
We stayed in one of the rooms with a loft in early May. The facilities were clean and a fun alternative to your regular hotel room. The courtyard is very peaceful and the staff are friendly. The subway is just down the road from the Hepingmen station and there are numerous places to buy necessities and food nearby. There's also a market on the corner next to the Hepingmen station. This is an excellent point from which to base your Beijing explorations, especially if you plan on using the subway. Directions from Hepingmen Station: Head north on Beixinhua Road. The hutong you're looking for is on your right with a sign that reads "Dong Xin Lianzi Hutong." For some reason, this hutong either doesn't show up on Google Maps or is improperly labeled. I'd guesstimate that it's between .25 and .5 miles from the Hepingmen station. I wouldn't recommend renting the hotel's bikes as they are in pretty poor condition. Also, the walls between the loft bedroom areas offer zero noise insulation, which means that you hear *everything* going on in the room next door. Overall, I would recommend this to a friend and would stay here again. The barber next door is a friendly guy and gave me an excellent shave for 10 yuan, or US$1.50, while letting me practice my Chinese. Give him your business!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles, CA

Charming Courtyard hotel. Nice staff.

Posted Nov 14, 2012
Charming Courtyard hotel. Nice staff. Very helpful. 7 min walk to subway. Most cab drivers will not know exactly where this place is. Without proper directions, you may have trouble walking to this place. I advise emailing hotel in advance and asking for detailed directions if you are taking the subway here, or for a taxi, ask the hotel staff to email you the address and directions in Chinese as most cab drivers will need that to get you here.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Annette from Shrewsbury UK

Good for short stay visiting major sites of intere

Posted Oct 21, 2012
Pros: Comfy bed
Cons: Air heating insufficient to heat room
Location: Great location
Cold snap mid October made this hutong stay a little chilly. Best bit v comfy bed and pleasant courtyard worst bit cold and bland breakfast friendly. English speaking receptionist v near major sites of interest.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Steve

Beijing family vacation

Posted Oct 14, 2012 on Hotels.com
I stayed here with my wife and 2 teenage children in early October 2012. We wanted something beyond the highly functional, but "boxy" and rather charmless global chain hotels and we certainly got it here. This hotel is located in a small Beijing back street or Hutong and designed to make us feel like old time Beijingers. Hence, the rooms are very small, I mean very small, but this was great. The breakfasts were simple but just right. The staff spoke very good English and were both attentive and helpful. The small courtyard was charming and a lovely place to sit in the evening with a bottle of beer or mug of green tea to reflect on the day's activities with the other guests. Location is spot on, a very good local restaurant 30m away around the corner (RMB300 for a family of 4, including drinks), 5 mins walk from the Heptingmen subway station and 10-15 minutes walk from Tiananmen Square and the Forbidden City. I would highly recommend to book your tours to the Great Wall via the hotel and specify exactly what you want, in our case, to avoid the scams of being taken to shop!. The Wifi is free and very good. My only complaint was that in our kids room there was a little damp and mouldiness, but I am being very picky. Great place, will stay again should our travels take us to Beijing.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by DD from Oregon

Hutong Experience

Posted Sep 22, 2012
Favorable: 1) Easy check in and check out. 2) Hutong experience to see how people live just behind the main blvd. 3) Low price meals for common people, not tourists. Unfavorable: 1) Hard to find. Despite the google map in Chinese, taxi driver had to call the inn to figure out. 2) Space limited. Hard to find enough space to put a small suitcase with two carryon-backpacks.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

popular hotel

Posted Aug 8, 2012
The hotel is really hot and it is almost full. Staff service and the atmosphere in the courtyard is pretty good.