Ratings based on 246 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Yann from Paris

Nice location, old hotel

Posted Mar 30, 2015 on Hotels
Perfect location - hotel is a bit dated. Breakfast is good but very expensive, suggest to take a package or eat out / in the room from overnight
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from cincinnati

My room had a view to The Forgotten City!

Posted Mar 30, 2015
Pros: The location and the size.
Cons: The Internet never worked,not in my room not in the business center, that was very frustrating. But the employees were very nice.
Location: Close to Tia a men Square and Wanjuging Street!
Generally speaking was a nice experience. But the internet never worked in my room or in the business center. But I loved the location walking distance to many things and to the subway!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Kuen Kee from Hong Kong

Good

Posted Mar 23, 2015 on Hotels
Comfort
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Dubai

Definitely NOT 5 star!

Posted Mar 21, 2015
Pros: Location is good, right next to Tiananmen Square and the forbidden city.
Cons: The whole hotel needs a refurb - not a 5 star in its current state.
Location: Next to shopping district and Tiananmen Square.
First up, if you book this hotel, make sure that you take a print out of the hotel itinerary including telephone number. I took a map on my phone and the taxi drivers still did not understand where the hotel was - incredible given it is right next to the biggest attraction in Beijing! Anyway, onwards to the hotel - do not expect 5* service, contrary to its rating, this hotel is not worthy of more than 3 stars in my opinion. The hotel is very dated. The decor is circa 1980's - although they do state on their website the rooms have classic Ming and Qing style decor, so I may be being kind by stating the 80's! Anyway, the receptionist on the day was not very welcoming, adding to the cold atmosphere within the hotel. Once we got to our room I was just shocked. We had a forbidden city view room - the view was awful, and definitely not worth paying extra for. As mentioned previously, the decor is awful, so tacky. The bathroom has a bath and a shower, but when you have a shower the water escapes from the cubicle resulting in a very wet floor outside. Finally, the rooms do not have temperature control! Out room was boiling when we got back from some sightseeing and when I enquired as to what was wrong, they said they do not have air con, they will send someone to open the door at the rear of the room. Given the amount of noise on the road outside, this is not a solution a 5 star hotel should be offering. Overall, I do not believe you should spend your money staying at this hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Poul from Risskov

Great hotel - but smelly rooms (cigarettes)

Posted Feb 15, 2015 on Hotels
Great hotel, but even I asked for a NON-smoking room, I got a smoking room. They don't have any "real" non-smoking rooms. Everybody in China smokes all over. Very bad smell in the room. But one of the best hotels in that area.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by fion from kuala lumpur

value for money

Posted Jan 8, 2015 on Hotels
the hotel very near to shopping street.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by SUAN CHONG from kuching swak east malaysia

excellent

Posted Dec 21, 2014 on Hotels
Nice and comfortable.but reception area needs some more good training
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by John from Virginia, USA

Not quite so Grand

Posted Dec 19, 2014 on Hotels
Selected the hotel for the neighborhood- walking distance to Forbidden City and Tienanmen Square. Ir is also very close to Wanfujing (sp), the walking street. Hotel was comfortable enough, but carpets and furniture were stained, some bulbs were out, small things like that. The Concierge was very helpful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Convenient and comfortable

Posted Dec 19, 2014 on Hotels
位置十分方便,近王府井,距離地鐵站約五分鐘。房間非常大,面向長安大街,感覺舒服。浴室設備很好,房間整潔。中式擺設,也許會給人老舊感覺,但很有特色!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Nice Hotel

Posted Dec 15, 2014 on Hotels
Hotel.com claims this is a 5 star hotel. It is not 5 star. I would say its upper 3 maybe a 4 star, but that should not be held against this hotel. This hotel is nice and clean. The staff speaks English and in a good area.