Ratings based on 240 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Tolles Hotel, aber Frühstück unverschämt teuer

Posted Jun 2, 2015
Pros: Zimmer und Lage
Cons: Ja, das Frühstück mit anzubieten
Location: Verboten Stadt, Platz des Himmlischen Friedens, Mao Mausoleum,
Wir waren sehr zufrieden. Lage war genial. Nur ein paar Minuten zu Fuss zur Verbotenen Stadt. Aber das Frühstück war unrealistisch teuer - ca. 30 Euro pro Person. Unverschämt
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Atlanta

Great location - great rooms

Posted May 25, 2015
Pros: location and food
Cons: English on the iffy side
Location: Tianamehn Square and Forbidden City a short walk away
Perfect location for site-seeing. One long block walk to metro. Good food, nice service, English is iffy. If you're a gmail person, you need a cheap VPN to work in China
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from 香港

窩心又高質素的服務

Posted Apr 25, 2015
服務員表現專業,我們亦得到免費升級房間,感覺太好了! 房間可以望到故宮,鄰近地鐵站。 房間整齊乾淨,沒大氣味,舒服又安心
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from midwest USA

Best location in Beijing for forbidden city.

Posted Apr 16, 2015
Pros: large, modern room w sm couch, 'old world' touches, marble bathroom with shower and separate tub. Public areas very clean and pretty. Staff pleasant.
Cons: An introductory layout of hotel, restaurants, gym etc; need livelier bar/lounge; more knowledgable staff re nearby restaurants. Map of neighborhood.
Location: Great SE corner of Forbidden City, tienanmen Sq, Wangfujing St (numerous malls, food stands), imperial huton, easy subway access-a real asset.
Though our room faced what is busiest street in Beijing, Chang An--11 lanes--our room was quiet with well sealed windows and cars don't honk much. The modern addition to this former palace is much like a Hyatt Regency atrium style hotel, with a fountain on the main level. It is attached to the 'Beijing Hotel' and Raffles, which make up most of the block. Two subway stations within 3-minute walk make access to extensive, user friendly, clean and cheap subway system very handy. Staff was pleasant and eager to please but my lack of Chinese skills and most staff speaking little English limited interaction. Concierge helpful in calling a taxi to go to Da Dong Peking duck restaurant; however a closer one of this well regarded chain is just 1 block N of hotel (discovered it walking by the following day). hotel wifi was pretty good: of course don't depend on Google or face book-blocked in China. public areas --cocktail/tea lounge unlively/quiet weekend and weeknights in April, but made decent drinks. Cafe restaurant with extensive buffet was popular but we didn't eat there. Gym is very small 3 treadmills, assortment of free weights and a few other things but neat; pool large and pleasant (a bit chilly); sauna was being repaired. a nice hotel not wow- location can't be beat. By going through the park across from hotel, one could enter forbidden city ticketing area.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Yann from Paris

Nice location, old hotel

Posted Mar 30, 2015 on Hotels
Perfect location - hotel is a bit dated. Breakfast is good but very expensive, suggest to take a package or eat out / in the room from overnight
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from cincinnati

My room had a view to The Forgotten City!

Posted Mar 30, 2015
Pros: The location and the size.
Cons: The Internet never worked,not in my room not in the business center, that was very frustrating. But the employees were very nice.
Location: Close to Tia a men Square and Wanjuging Street!
Generally speaking was a nice experience. But the internet never worked in my room or in the business center. But I loved the location walking distance to many things and to the subway!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Kuen Kee from Hong Kong

Good

Posted Mar 23, 2015 on Hotels
Comfort
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Dubai

Definitely NOT 5 star!

Posted Mar 21, 2015
Pros: Location is good, right next to Tiananmen Square and the forbidden city.
Cons: The whole hotel needs a refurb - not a 5 star in its current state.
Location: Next to shopping district and Tiananmen Square.
First up, if you book this hotel, make sure that you take a print out of the hotel itinerary including telephone number. I took a map on my phone and the taxi drivers still did not understand where the hotel was - incredible given it is right next to the biggest attraction in Beijing! Anyway, onwards to the hotel - do not expect 5* service, contrary to its rating, this hotel is not worthy of more than 3 stars in my opinion. The hotel is very dated. The decor is circa 1980's - although they do state on their website the rooms have classic Ming and Qing style decor, so I may be being kind by stating the 80's! Anyway, the receptionist on the day was not very welcoming, adding to the cold atmosphere within the hotel. Once we got to our room I was just shocked. We had a forbidden city view room - the view was awful, and definitely not worth paying extra for. As mentioned previously, the decor is awful, so tacky. The bathroom has a bath and a shower, but when you have a shower the water escapes from the cubicle resulting in a very wet floor outside. Finally, the rooms do not have temperature control! Out room was boiling when we got back from some sightseeing and when I enquired as to what was wrong, they said they do not have air con, they will send someone to open the door at the rear of the room. Given the amount of noise on the road outside, this is not a solution a 5 star hotel should be offering. Overall, I do not believe you should spend your money staying at this hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Poul from Risskov

Great hotel - but smelly rooms (cigarettes)

Posted Feb 15, 2015 on Hotels
Great hotel, but even I asked for a NON-smoking room, I got a smoking room. They don't have any "real" non-smoking rooms. Everybody in China smokes all over. Very bad smell in the room. But one of the best hotels in that area.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by fion from kuala lumpur

value for money

Posted Jan 8, 2015 on Hotels
the hotel very near to shopping street.