Ratings based on 31 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
74% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Allen from Beijing

Posted Nov 11, 2013
Pros: The convenient location.
Location: Great shopping exprience at Xidan. National Center of Performing Arts is also near the hotel and worth a visit.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by LadyTraveller from Singapore

Would not recommend

Posted Aug 11, 2013 on Hotels.com
The hotel sounded at a great location and I had a pleasant experience with Grand Mercure Tokyo/Ginza, but this one smelt faulty from the entrance, attending staff at reception were very poorly skilled that my bill had to be debited and credited twice only third one being correct holding me 40 min and making me miss breakfast as I had to leave immediately after for the airport. A hotel to avoid!!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Chefhung from Nyc

Great location

Posted Jul 16, 2013 on Hotels.com
Service was great and staff was very helpful, but there was 3 French staff that seemed like they didn't know anything about how to operate the hotels and mostly standing around while the rest of staff is helping. Getting a cab is a nightmare but staff always try's to help flag one down .
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 17, 2012 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Grand Mercure Beiging

Posted Jul 5, 2012
Velry good hotel.Good location.Not far from Forbbiden City. Very quiet.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Good location near Xuanwumen and Xidan metro

Posted Jun 13, 2012 on Hotels.com
Very nice hotel, convenient location to subway and to Qianmen area. Great breakfast, a bit expensive. Tiles in the bathroom floor were loose -other than that, everything in great shape & comfortable.
2 out of 5
by Cristina from Shanghai

Not satisfied!!!

Posted Apr 6, 2012
Pros: Tour organization was very good. We had a private tour to the Great Wall.
Cons: Some European guys work there and can speak very good English
Location: It is not really near the center . You have to move with the Tracy anyway and there are not shops around.
Terrible odours on the floor, specially near a room used as waste storage. Baby bed made without matrass, just a couple of blankets folded. Room cold and windows that could not close properly. Food at international restaurant was not enough good for what we paid.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Francisco Bay Area, California

My thoughts on the Grand Mercure Beijing

Posted Feb 10, 2012 on Hotels.com
Pros: - close to subway lines - staff are friendly and some speak English - there is free wi-fi in the hotel lobby and restaurants - room is large Cons - hotel seems old and in need of a remodel, e.g. carpets are old and stained, grout in bathroom - lobby, hallways, and elevators smell like smoke - my non-smoking room did not smell too much like smoke, but since people are allowed to smoke in the hallways, some smoke smell entered - the hotel restaurant prices and the prices for room service seem expensive compared to other Beijing hotels I've stayed at In the end, if you're looking for a relatively affordable place to stay that's close to subway lines, then the Grand Mercure is not a bad choice. But if you want something luxurious, or if you are picky about cleanliness then you should probably choose someplace else.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by bob from UK

good value, large, clean rooms, good location

Posted Jan 29, 2012
Pros: large clean rooms, good location, good price
Cons: breakfast too expensive
Location: great fro subway and shopping
enjoyed staying here. rooms were very large and very clean. good location for subway and shopping. good little gym. pool looked clean too, didnt try it though. hotel is a little bit worn - but very clean, could be why the excellent value. check in was a bit of a wait, but the hotel more than made up for it by giving us free drinks from the bar in compensation. a very thoughtful and appreciated gesture!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from SLC, UT

American vs China standards

Posted Jan 24, 2012 on Hotels.com
This was by no means a 4 star hotel. I expect that this may be considered a 4 star hotel in China but if you are new to China or a first time traveler this is NOT to an American 4 star standards. The service was nice but the room details that you expect in a 4 star hotel are not available. Like name brand bathroom toiletries, soft sheets, or even a pillow top bed. And like many buildings in China the overall maintenance is not kept up. We had a leaky toilet and moldy grout. As an avid traveler I would rate this 2.5 if compared to American hotel standards.