Ratings based on 43 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Keith from cheshire, UK

Great location - hard to find, worth the effort.

Posted Jun 3, 2014
Pros: Location , friendly staff and good quality accomodation.
Cons: The breakfast room is in the basement which is a bit gloomy. With a little invest,ement a restaurant/breakfast room could be created in the courtyard.
Location: Central location. Most attractions walkable. 5 mins walk to a metro station. Go anywhere for 20p!
If you are looking for a hotel in Beijing that is not the usual bland multi-national chain , then this is the place for you. An oasis of calm in the middle of the city and close enough to walk to many of the local attractions. For those further away it is close to a metro station. Staff were friendly and the accommodation of a good standard. The one challenge is finding the place! It is in the "hutongs" which are a sprawling area of old alleyways. The initial approach is along a busy, touristy, bustling hutong - after that it is a leap of faith to walk down a much darker, narrower alley with no clear indication that a top class hotel is situated some way down it. It is worth the effort, full of character with the rooms arranged around tranquil courtyards containing pools of carp.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Alexander from Stockholm, Sweden

Good location, friendly staff

Posted Apr 29, 2014 on Hotels.com
The staff was attentive and helpful. They gave great tips on places to visit and helped us navigate the city. I would totally recommend the hotel to friends visiting Beijing.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Ashley from Melbourne, Australia

Authentic experience

Posted Apr 27, 2014 on Hotels.com
The hotel is difficult to find but ideally located in the Hutong area. The style and design are fantastic and really provided us with the best possible old China experience. We loved it!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Leeroy from Melbourne Australia

Beijing Blitz

Posted Feb 26, 2014 on Hotels.com
Great location secreted between 2 lane ways which is dead quiet. Great place to retreat t after a hectic day on the busy streets. At the end of the street is another laneway full of restaurants and shops - plenty for everyone. Close to Tianamin Sq, Forbidden City (about 3 ks) and some very nice gardens. Good market shopping also close by at which your offer should be about 20% of the initial asking price. Great bartering to be had. Definitely recommend.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 18, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Karen from Singapore

Excellent experience

Posted Dec 28, 2013 on Hotels.com
The hotel located perfectly near the busy walking street which come with lots of local authentic handmade stuff and delights. It is also 5 mins walking distance to train station. The hotel is clean , big and giving an excellent experience . It has a fish pond with bridge and big garden . I am regretted that I only have a night stay. I definitely recommended and will stay in again if I am visiting Beijing.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Family Visit from Sydney, Australia

Boutique hotel in Hutong

Posted Nov 12, 2013 on Hotels.com
We checked in at start of October during cold weather snap - hotel room was very cold, and very dusty. We were very fortunate that the hotel was able to relocate our room to a sunny courtyard area which was fabulous. The room was clean and tidy - much better cleaner that other room. The hotel breakfast is overpriced and below a recommendable standard. The hotel staff whom spoke english were great the girls were able to organise private taxi etc however we felt they could have known more about current tourist happenings like Tianamen Square being closed to tourists. Close to subway and hutongs for dinner
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Jeff

Posted Oct 31, 2013
Was just great to wake up to the view of a quiet chinese courtyard. When we travel we try and stay in places that give you a real sense of place. Was fun to explore the entire hotel and all the different courtyards and common rooms. Beds and linens were very nice. Did not try any of their food, as there are so many interesting places to try nearby.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Brian from Canada

Overrated and poorly maintained

Posted Sep 14, 2013 on Hotels.com
I had a four night stay in September. On arrival, I was brought to my room , which stank of mould and was much smaller than warranted. I wss next brought to a second room similar to the first. The management was indifferent . The third room was only slightly better. The bedroom was large, but the adjacent sitting room/ salon area was uninhabitable due to an unbearable smell of mould. The management and staff remained indifferent and uninterested. Breakfast was second rate. The hotel property generally is not well maintained . The prospect of a stay in a charming if old fashioned hotel in reality turned out to be a visit to an overpriced and rather mediocre, worn out and somewhat dingy hotel. The room fixtures such as cabinet, lamps, wall coverings and carpets and drapery were dusty , old and worn and ill ill repair. The halls and public areas in the hotel are extensively and richly furnished with carved Rosewood, but this does not finally allay the fear that the hotel has seen better days and much more needs to be done to improve the hotel. The hotel is in a good location next to commercialized hutong neighborhood , close to Subway . All in all I was quite disappointed with the hotel , but did not let it detract from an otherwise excellent and stimulating visit to Beijing.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Margarita

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 10, 2013 on Hotels.com