Ratings based on 10 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
5.0 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 15, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
by J. Templeton from Bay Area,California

staff very helpful, clean room, soft beds

Posted Dec 13, 2013 on Hotels.com
I would definitely stay here again. Only setback is the distance from the mall area where everything is happening.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Shaun from USA

Posted Dec 10, 2013 on Hotels.com
Everything was good, but I couldn't control room temperature.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Eugene from San Jose, CA

Nice hotel about a mile from subway, near banks

Posted Oct 31, 2013
Pros: friendly staff, clean rooms, restaurant offers good food
Location: not many local restaurants, and a bit far from major attractions. But if able and willing, the subway is about 20 mins walk
(subjective) Bed and pillow where one of the most comfortable ones I've been in. Breakfast buffet has a nice spread of Chinese and American choices. (General) Staff cleaning the hotel have great attention to detail. Everything is placed very orderly upon my return which includes any items in the floor, desk, chair or bed (ie shoes, clothes, pens, money, etc). Even though I try to not waste and use as little as their daily provided amenities, by the 3rd day, they dumped their provided toothbrush, tooth paste, shaver, cream, soap, towels, etc and provided me with new ones. Bottled water is complimentary and plenty. Gym staff would approach you with towels and water, or help you with any of the equipment.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by neneng from philippines

Very nice and clean hotel, newly refurbished.

Posted Oct 22, 2013
Pros: Very clean and the bed and pillows were really great, super comfortable
Cons: provision of free wi-fi at least at the lobby
Location: Bus stop within the vicinity, 3 minute walk; subway, within 3 minutes by taxi or 15 min walk
We reserved for king bed superior, non-smoking for 3 nights. But when we arrived, we were surprised because our rooms were upgraded to suite during our first night, which is a big deal, because we had the opportunity to be accommodated in a suite, for a price of superior rooms. The hotel was impeccably clean, with so much amenities and perks, bathrobes, slippers, etc. Accommodation at par with five star hotels.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Jenna from USA

Posted Apr 15, 2013 on Hotels.com
Received an upgrade on arrival. The hotel is nice and clean. It's not too far from public transportation, perhaps not the subway, but buses ran along the main road.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Ian

great place- restuarant needs help

Posted Sep 2, 2012 on Hotels.com
This is one of myfavorite places to stay for being clean, roomy and a good location between the train and airport. A good street to jog up (relitive to bj and some some outdoor shops close by). My only beef is the restaurant. Service is lack luster and some cooks don't seem to know the recipes- which is a shame since they have 3 western cooks leading the locals. My specific issues were a really long wait for lunch- a quesadilla. After about 30 minutes it showed up but without sour cream or guac- clearly mentioned on the menu- after flagging some down for another 5 minutes- it took another 10 minutes to be served the condiments- and of course no guac... and my lucnh was now cold! I went back for dinner where they have a buffet- the food in that buffet is some of the best western food I have experience at a buffet in China- but for some reason they would not restock most of the food. So once it was gone... it was done. Again food that needed to be cooked took atleast 20-30 minutes. Although it was delicious... certainly not a place if your in a rush.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Tony

Wonderful, but Isolated

Posted Aug 19, 2012 on Hotels.com
In many aspects, the Holiday Inn Deshengmen was excellent. Comfortable, first-rate beds, clean sheets, immaculate bathroom, very nice service. The gym is reasonably equipped, with treadmills and a few free weights. Its major drawback is its isolation. We stayed here only because we had to be near the Beijing Normal University area. Nevertheless, it was way too far to walk to a subway station. The surrounding area is a bunch of freeways, with one street of restaurants offering a minor selection of dining out options. To get basically anywhere, you have to take a taxi (which is cheap in Beijing, but inconvenient.) If you stay here, I suggest getting the package which includes hotel breakfast, a buffet line which includes a large variety of Western and Chinese options. After getting sick of the local options, we tried to eat there, and immediately switched our dining option at the first chance to eat at the hotel breakfast buffet every morning. Finally, the executive club, free with an executive room, is a delightful oasis in Beijing. Very quiet, with an assortment of beverages, fresh fruit, and free cocktails in the evenings.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Austin, TX

Comfortable Place to Stay

Posted Oct 28, 2011
Location: We are Americans living in China. When we visit Beijing we like to stay in the Nort Chaoyang District because it is near the airport, several Western restaurants, is closer to the Great Wall, and is in general a more quiet part of town.
The hotel was clean, even by international standards. Also, most non-luxury hotels in China have beds that are as hard as the floor, but the Holiday Inn's bed was comfortably soft yet firm. The breakfast was quite varied and offered something for everyone, even my picky kids. The fitness area and pool were under renovation, but my husband was impressed that they relocated the fitness equipment to a different location rather than shut it down completely. It still gave him the opportunity exercise. The concierge was very helpful in assisting us in booking train tickets and having them delivered to the hotel for us. However unless you really need to stay in that part of town, the hotel is quite a long taxi away from most reasons for going to Beijing. Also, we had to ask three times for a baby bed before they brought it to us. Lastly, our room was quite hot, making it difficult to sleep. Nevertheless, in general it was a nice and relaxing place to stay.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from San Francisco, CA

Nice hotel, but bad location

Posted Aug 21, 2010 on Hotels.com
We arrived a day earlier before our tour started. The room was clean, the bed comfortable, the staff courteous. The only negative was the poor location of this hotel. It was located in a sort of run-down neighborhood and after walking around the area, we found no good restaurants in the surrounding area. We tried the plain-looking Chinese restaurant next door and the food was disappointing. The walk to the subway was farther than we expected, perhaps a little over a mile away and we didn't find the entrance to the subway easily. If you are not on a tour, I would stay at a hotel in a better location.