Ratings based on 28 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice stay - if you can find it!

Posted May 11, 2014
Pros: Quality of the accommodation, extremely helpful staff, comfortable beds and excellent breakfast.
Cons: The hotel could include the address and directions in Chinese on the web-site. This could then be printed out and given to the taxi driver.
Location: A taxi ride is needed to get to the main attractions.
The hotel staff were excellent as was the quality of the accommodation. However getting to the hotel was a nightmare and unless you have the address and directions clearly written in Chinese to give to the taxi driver I would urge caution about chosing this hotel. We arrived at Beijing railway station very late at night, initially we were dropped off under an underpass no where near our hotel but the driver insisted we were in the correct location. A further taxi ride took us to another hotel, which was not the Holiday Inn. We finally ended up walking for 15 minutes to get to the hotel - not what you want to be doing at 2am!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by calz from Scotland

Good and clean

Posted Apr 30, 2014
Pros: Clean and comfortable
Location: A KFC is 10mins walk down the road and a Chinese garden park 10mins walk the other way, a short bus journey takes you to the underground.
This hotel was very good and both our rooms were clean and of good size. Breakfast in the hotel was a bit expensive at £12.50 a head (children free) but served a huge range of food from Western to Chinese and both our kids ate very well. The pool was free to use and clean, but starting at 1.2mtr with no lifeguard meant we had to watch the children carefully, but there were floats and rings for the kids to play and use. We visited here in April and the room temperature was about 22C at night, but because summer had not started yet the hotels air conditioning was turned off, so the only option was to open a window, lucky most of the rooms are to the side streets and we had no problems with noise.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

good Hotel but is far away to metro station.

Posted Apr 24, 2014
Is no close to the metro station and far away from tianamen plaza and forbidden city
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by C.S. from Ohio

Really nice hotel at affordable price

Posted Apr 23, 2014 on Hotels.com
This was like a four star hotel at a three star price. The breakfast buffet was really great. Lots of choices. The room was very nice and comfy. Bathroom also very nice & clean. Nice size bathtub. Good to soak in! When I go back to Beijing, I will definitely stay here again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from expat from America

Excellent stay!

Posted Jan 4, 2014
Pros: Everything!
Cons: Nothing!
Location: It is easy to catch a bus to the Natural History Museum (bus 30), Subway line 1 (bus 56 to Nanlishu) or walk around and visit local markets.
The hotel was excellent. It had a beautiful swimming pool, work out room, excellent rooms and comfortable beds. The breakfast that was included was delicious with a lot of Western/ Chinese variety. We will definitly stay there again! The hotel provided us with conjoining rooms so my family of 6 could stay easily connected while in the hotel. Everyone was helpful and encouraging. We took a tour provided by the hotel and visited the Great Wall. If you stay, ask Storm to give you information on the local tourist areas. We had been to the Great Wall a couple times, but this was the best tour we have been on. Off the beaten path, met a local farmer, and saw the old and new parts of the wall. It was amazing!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A K De from India

Excellent Hotel Staff, Comfortable Stay & Service

Posted Dec 14, 2013 on Hotels.com
I had enjoyed my stay at the Hotel. Buffet Breakfast was fantastic, Beds are comfortable, Restaurants are also very good! It is good value for Money!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canada

Would stay there again

Posted Nov 28, 2013
We are a couple in our 50s who have travelled the world. We stayed in this hotel three separate times in November for a total of seven nights. It's a perfectly fine hotel in a great location. Well appointed, good breakfast, very efficient place. The area is wonderful. Relatively quiet, tree-lined. You can find good restaurants, laundry, grocery (10 minute walk), good massage, barbers, pastry shop etc. nearby. There are two concierges - Storm and Jason - who are super. I mean excellent! There is more than adequate English at the front desk (not everyone but always at least one who can help). I think the Reception needs to be a little more friendly. Guest Relations head at the Holiday Inn in Datong - Ms. Zooy can provide instruction! There is a good indoor pool and everything else you could want. We had one small problem which the management dealt with immediately and to our satisfaction. The location is just 20 minutes taxi or less to the Pearl and Silk Markets and Tiannamen Square. The subway, at 2.5 kilometres, is a little too far to walk. You'll need to take a taxi but there are plenty in that location. The service in the restaurant is very attentive. There is fast wifi in the lobby and you can get it in your room for a charge. Given the price level, this is excellent value.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by SGTraveller from Singapore

Smoke free rooms, needs better food choices

Posted Nov 10, 2013 on Hotels.com
Rooms are really smoke free and clean. Food needs to have better variety as same dishes are served for both dinner and breakfast buffets. Nearby food is quite some distance away unless you don't mind local joints. Indoor pool and gym is good.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel with very good service.

Posted Oct 3, 2013
Pros: Cleanliness + friendly staff.
Location: Not much.
The hotel was very good. The only down side was that it was a short taxi ride from any tourist location.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 12, 2014 by Natalie Niu, Hotel Management
Dear guest, Thank you for choosing Holiday Inn Central Plaza Beijing for your stay. We sincerely hope that we have provided a pleasant experience to you. Besides, we feel sorry about the inconvenience that caused by taxi hailing which has become a common problem in Bejing . Our Concierge staff would like to help you find a taxi if you ask for assistance in advance. Thank you for your stay at Holiday Inn Central Plaza Beijing again and look forward to seeing you next time! Sincerely,
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by ramjee yogasundaram

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 20, 2013 on Hotels.com