Ratings based on 438 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Good location easy access to places

Posted Aug 25, 2014
Nice staff, good variety of breakfast, big room ... Very good service
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New Zealand

Good Location, Hard bed

Posted Jul 15, 2014
Cons: Getting softer beds and updating the Air Con units
The hotel is very close to the Forbidden City and numerous Shopping Malls. Value for price is still good, mainly due to location. The bed was hard, although this is to be expected in Beijing. At check in the staff member was friendly and english speaking. The fews times we required something from reception there was an english speaking staff member on. The bathroom is a bit odd due to the glass side and just a curtain to block the view. Air con was a bit temperamental, I would suggest leaving a card in the room power slot so the Air con remains on during the day.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from london

Great location

Posted Jul 15, 2014
Pros: Gardens in the room
Cons: The other guests were extremely noise in the breakfast. Restaurant staff didn't care
Reception staff were very friendly and helpful. The room was very nice and clean. Only 5 mins walk to Wangfujing And 15 mins ti Tian'anmen square.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

Mis-advertised

Posted Jul 1, 2014
Pros: Hotel clerk tried to be helpful, but seems not authorized to rectify the wrong.
Cons: - say what bed ("western" style of firmness vs Chinese style of firmness) in each room - say there is no tub in most rooms
Great location, close to center of Beijing. The hotel, on the other hand, sucks. We arrived, got to our room, we discovered a tiny room, a bathroom with no doors, and glass walls (there are some things that are better done in private), and sat on the bed. Good thing we did that, since it really wasn't. That is, we were expecting a bed, not a box spring -- first time we'd seen something like that in a hotel, in any part of the world, including Beijing. Of course, we called the front desk to ask them to get us the rest of the bed, or find us another room. Someone came over to tell us that this was a bed, and there was nothing they could do but give us one extra blanket. A visit to the front desk (luckily, one of us speaks Chinese, since the staff does not speak much English), and we were able to 'upgrade' the room after paying extra, to something less worse -- it was a real bed, but the room was tiny as well, barely room to get by the end of the bed between the dresser. Shower water pressure was very low, no bath tub, shower water splashes to area outside because there was no wall. TV needed new cables to view properly. We paid less money to stay in 2 other hotels in Beijing on previous days of our trip, one which was great (Park Plaza, in Wangfujing), another that was fine and a step down from Park Plaza (Wenjin, in Haidian). Compared to the other 2 hotels, Kapok was close to a mis-advertised disaster.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from singapore

Good location but Staff were not helpful.

Posted Jun 23, 2014
I reached hotel on a raining day. There was no covered walkway from drop off point to hotel main entrance. Staff at the front door did not bother to provide umbrella for my young kids. I also had to carry my own luggage to my room since none of the staff offered to do so. They are more concerned about asking us to upgrade to bigger room.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Ben from Sydney Australia

Good modern design new tourist class hotel

Posted Jun 8, 2014
Pros: Very modern clean design.
Cons: Beds are too hard for what Australians are used to.
Location: It is five minutes walk from Huangfujin shopping area with extensive street stalls, open markets and shopping malls. There are plenty of restaurants.
I stayed four nights with my grown up children in four rooms to do three days sight seeing in Beijing.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

a wonderful hotel.

Posted Jun 7, 2014
Pros: The friendly atmosphere.Courteous staff who help straight away.Dining area and food was good..Plenty of plug ins to recharge.Lovely bathroom.
Cons: nil
Location: convenient store directly opposite hotel..good restaurants away.shopping in the street a 1 min walk on either side of the street....Excellent area...
Clean spacious rooms .very quiet. close to good shopping area and the forbidden city 8 mins walk....if booking a Tour i strongly suggest it thru the hotel as there are many outsiders that offer cheap and not so promising places to visit.....This Hotel is suitable for anyone wanting to see the highlights of Beijing as it is close to all .......
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by Jenny from Perth, AU

Walking distance to wang fu jin

Posted Jun 6, 2014 on Hotels.com
Only stayed for one night. Walking distance to wang fu jin. Lobby has pretty cubicles for people to sit there to read books.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Martin from Bolton, UK

Location, location, location

Posted Jun 6, 2014 on Hotels.com
Good location within easy walking distance of the Forbidden City East gate. Hotel pushed an upgrade to a quiet room for 100RMB per night - not needed because the main road is quiet and we never heard it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by David Boettcher from Chicagoland

A Fodors recommendation

Posted May 30, 2014 on Hotels.com
I read some reviews by some Americans who had complaints about this hotel. They need to spend one night in the joint where I was housed to film a tv series: They would have no complaints about this very nice, reasonable hotel. If I return to Beijing I will certainly choose Hotel Kapok. Thank you Fodors!