Ratings based on 424 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New Zealand

Good Location, Hard bed

Posted Jul 15, 2014
Cons: Getting softer beds and updating the Air Con units
The hotel is very close to the Forbidden City and numerous Shopping Malls. Value for price is still good, mainly due to location. The bed was hard, although this is to be expected in Beijing. At check in the staff member was friendly and english speaking. The fews times we required something from reception there was an english speaking staff member on. The bathroom is a bit odd due to the glass side and just a curtain to block the view. Air con was a bit temperamental, I would suggest leaving a card in the room power slot so the Air con remains on during the day.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from london

Great location

Posted Jul 15, 2014
Pros: Gardens in the room
Cons: The other guests were extremely noise in the breakfast. Restaurant staff didn't care
Reception staff were very friendly and helpful. The room was very nice and clean. Only 5 mins walk to Wangfujing And 15 mins ti Tian'anmen square.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

Mis-advertised

Posted Jul 1, 2014
Pros: Hotel clerk tried to be helpful, but seems not authorized to rectify the wrong.
Cons: - say what bed ("western" style of firmness vs Chinese style of firmness) in each room - say there is no tub in most rooms
Great location, close to center of Beijing. The hotel, on the other hand, sucks. We arrived, got to our room, we discovered a tiny room, a bathroom with no doors, and glass walls (there are some things that are better done in private), and sat on the bed. Good thing we did that, since it really wasn't. That is, we were expecting a bed, not a box spring -- first time we'd seen something like that in a hotel, in any part of the world, including Beijing. Of course, we called the front desk to ask them to get us the rest of the bed, or find us another room. Someone came over to tell us that this was a bed, and there was nothing they could do but give us one extra blanket. A visit to the front desk (luckily, one of us speaks Chinese, since the staff does not speak much English), and we were able to 'upgrade' the room after paying extra, to something less worse -- it was a real bed, but the room was tiny as well, barely room to get by the end of the bed between the dresser. Shower water pressure was very low, no bath tub, shower water splashes to area outside because there was no wall. TV needed new cables to view properly. We paid less money to stay in 2 other hotels in Beijing on previous days of our trip, one which was great (Park Plaza, in Wangfujing), another that was fine and a step down from Park Plaza (Wenjin, in Haidian). Compared to the other 2 hotels, Kapok was close to a mis-advertised disaster.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from singapore

Good location but Staff were not helpful.

Posted Jun 23, 2014
I reached hotel on a raining day. There was no covered walkway from drop off point to hotel main entrance. Staff at the front door did not bother to provide umbrella for my young kids. I also had to carry my own luggage to my room since none of the staff offered to do so. They are more concerned about asking us to upgrade to bigger room.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Ben from Sydney Australia

Good modern design new tourist class hotel

Posted Jun 8, 2014
Pros: Very modern clean design.
Cons: Beds are too hard for what Australians are used to.
Location: It is five minutes walk from Huangfujin shopping area with extensive street stalls, open markets and shopping malls. There are plenty of restaurants.
I stayed four nights with my grown up children in four rooms to do three days sight seeing in Beijing.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

a wonderful hotel.

Posted Jun 7, 2014
Pros: The friendly atmosphere.Courteous staff who help straight away.Dining area and food was good..Plenty of plug ins to recharge.Lovely bathroom.
Cons: nil
Location: convenient store directly opposite hotel..good restaurants away.shopping in the street a 1 min walk on either side of the street....Excellent area...
Clean spacious rooms .very quiet. close to good shopping area and the forbidden city 8 mins walk....if booking a Tour i strongly suggest it thru the hotel as there are many outsiders that offer cheap and not so promising places to visit.....This Hotel is suitable for anyone wanting to see the highlights of Beijing as it is close to all .......
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Neantro from Brasilia and Tsukuba

Good hotel in Wangfujing area of Beijing

Posted May 23, 2014
Pros: Location and rooms
Cons: Staff language capabilities and guest services (as dialing a taxi for customers)
Location: Right next to Wangfujing area, one of the most central and touristic locations in Beijing
The exterior of the hotel was uninspiring as well as the surrounding buildings in a yet little developed block of Donghuamen street of the central Wanfujing area. However, once you enter through the spacious hall and get inside the room you are pleasantly surprised. It is modern, clean and well furnished hotel in an excellent location and, best of all, at a very attractive price. The only gripe was about the staff who, albeit courteous, had a very fragile grasp of the English language. And worse of all, they attempted to push me into overpaying for external taxi services to the airport (that would charge RMB 200 rather than the usual RMB 100- 120), clearly a case of collusion between dishonest employees of the hotel and outside taxi drivers (the service was not that officially offered by the hotel, even more expensive at RMB 300).
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by RobandCaro from Sydney, Australia

Comfortable and close to attractions

Posted May 17, 2014
Location: 10 minute walk to Tiananmen Square and Forbidden City and 5 minute walk to restaurants
Good location, allowed us to check in early, hotel staff also helped us to find a private driver for the trip to Great Wall. Only drawbacks were the limited breakfast buffet and terrible internet connection.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Met out expectations-close to attractions.

Posted May 12, 2014
We found the staff as helpful as possible and willing to warn us of local tourist scams.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent start to our holiday

Posted May 11, 2014
Pros: It's location in the older more traditional part of the city. Walking distance of the Forbidden City, Tian'an Men Square and beautiful parks.
Cons: The beds were very hard. Getting a taxi was difficult, if the hotel included the address in Chinese on the web-site this could be given to the driver
Location: See above.
The hotel staff were very accommodating. The Courtyard Room is an interesting design that makes part of the room inside visible from the coridoor! The bathroom was spacious but had no door separating it from the bedroom! The Fashion Room is very basic and didn't really equate to 'boutiqe hotel'. So we negogiated an upgrade to the Fashion Executive Room and this was fabulous and well work the extra cost (which was not significant).