Ratings based on 111 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Comfortable hotel close to main railway station

Posted Jul 10, 2014
Pros: Comfortable, quiet, well equipped rooms; friendly, helpful staff with initiative.
Cons: Nothing I can think of, bearing in mind this is an inexpensive, three star hotel.
Location: The location is perfect for the main train station opposite. It adjoins a shopping mall. 45 mins walk from Tian an Men Square and Forbidden City.
This hotel was perfect for me. Rooms are small but have everything one needs. My room was very quiet in spite of overlooking the station. Comfortable bed, reliable hot water, good a/c. There's a shopping mall next to the hotel. It's right opposite the main train station. Staff are friendly and helpful. I had been worried about getting myself and two friends, in fact staying in a different hotel, to the station for our train to Ulan Bator (Mongolia), including crossing a busy street with a pedestrian overpass not suitable for carrying heavy luggage. I needn't have worried. A capable female porter from the Paragon loaded our large pile of luggage onto a big hotel trolley and, knowing just where to cross the terrifying road, delivered us plus luggage to a part of the station where we were whisked effortlessly straight to our train. Her inside knowledge and initiative was invaluable! The previous day we had a brilliant excursion to the Jinshanling section of the Great Wall with an excellent driver in a luxury car from the Paragon, the price very reasonable. In all I highly recommend the Howard Johnson Paragon Hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great for a few nights

Posted May 19, 2014
Hotel was clean and comfortable. Some staff were helpful, others not so much. Too much smoking in the hotel, but fortunately my room was a non smoking one.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Monica from Sydney

Average hotel in a good location

Posted May 4, 2014
We booked a non-smoking room, but was given a smoking room. After making the staff aware of this, the staff spoke of their annoyance in mandarin, thinking my friend did not understand. Other than this the stay was comfortable enough, the hotel is situated in a good location, easy access to local shops and is right across to the train station.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 19, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by Wally from Vernon. Bc

Close to sights.

Posted Apr 15, 2014 on Hotels.com
We had a good stay
3 out of 5
Recommended
by William Lim from Singapore

Not as good as it is shown on internet

Posted Mar 5, 2014 on Hotels.com
Had a very small room, hot air too hot. Staff display great service
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Douglas from USA

Excellent!

Posted Feb 24, 2014 on Hotels.com
Great Location/ Great staff/ Wonderful room/ reanoable price if booked on line/ Quiet room, even though acorss from Breijing Railway Station....wonderful hourly chimes from the station/ decent gym, attractive food, attached by corridor to a shopping centre. Brilliant Hotel!
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Douglas from USA

Everything is Most Excellent

Posted Feb 18, 2014 on Hotels.com
A wonderful and convenient location, and the room, though facing the Beijing Rail Station, was fairly quiet. All staff speak a variety of English---keep it simple. The concierge was great in assisting me to find locations around town. The rooms were excellent, with 5 English channels, and the gym was a good standard. Only watch out for the restos, as they are pricy. The hotel connects to a nice shopping mall. The subway is about 30 metres out othe foor of that mnall. I could not ask for a better hotel...book through am Internet service and save lots of dosh!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by Sonja from USA

Close to Railway Station

Posted Feb 11, 2014 on Hotels.com
I had a clean, basic room overlooking the Beijing Railway Station - which was lit up beautifully at night! My bed was comfortable, the shower was hot and had good water pressure. I left the "Do Not Disturb"sign on the door, and it was honored - a note was slipped under the door asking to call the desk if I needed anything. Staff was friendly, helpful, and spoke English. I was surprised to have to put down a deposit for the room, which was more than the room rate, to get my key. There are plenty of "fast food" type restaurants in the area. The Metro/Subway is in front of the hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by John Liu from Utah

Great Location

Posted Jan 13, 2014 on Hotels.com
Location is great. It is close to subway and all kinds of restaurants