Ratings based on 192 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Martyn from England

Nice location ideally placed centrally in city

Posted Feb 8, 2014
Pros: Central location, easy to get around, to see the tourist attractions.
Cons: Only down side i found with the hotel, was the water didn't stay hot for long, so shower quick before it gets too cold
Location: The hotel is only a 5-10 minute walk to both Tiananmen Square, and the Forbidden City. A must see if going to Beijing.
Hotel is very good, the staff were friendly, surprising how quite it was given the fact its on a main road. there is a choice of breakfasts to suit everyone, from western to eastern. ordering room service, isn't too bad either. If you are going outside to see the attractions. be weary of the normal students, offering themselves as tour-guides, or having art exhibition (for 1 day only of course) these would probably cost you money and too much as well. they do target westerners, so stand your ground. if you do need a local tour guide look on the net before you go. there are some good sites to find. and reasonable. If going to forbidden city, try to make your trip not run along with a Chinese holiday, as this is a top attraction and will be very very busy. Beijing has a decent metro. so most places are easy to get to. take a taxi. for a few pounds only Most sight seeing here, are also big places, so wear a comfortable pair of trainers or hiking shoes.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by LJ from London

Posted Jan 11, 2014
Pros: Clean, pleasant staff, good tour desk
Cons: The food!!
Location: Tianammen Square and the Forbidden City within walking distance.
Would definitely recommend this hotel, in a very good position and near shops and restaurants and the night markets. all walkable. Safe area However, I would forget the breakfast and I never saw anyone eating in the evening it is totally uninviting only two tables laid up under spotlights.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Mrs Lim from Singapore

Great location, Fantastic facilities

Posted Jan 3, 2014 on Hotels.com
Good facilites provided in the room, such as free Wifi, free computer usage with connection to internet. However, transport to airport on the expensive side, charging 500 RMB for a van compared to about 300 RMB by other private operators for similar van.
3 out of 5
by Yvonne from Newcastle, Australia

ok hotel

Posted Dec 7, 2013
Pros: Across the road from some great food. walking distance to huge shopping malls and cultural sightseeing.
Cons: Cleanliness of bathroom. It was a bit yucky with mould around the grout. Staff in the business centere could have been more helpful.
Location: Good location. Easy walk to workers park and then a bit of a longer walk to Tianamen square and Forbidden City. Walk to trains and Wangfujing snack st
This hotel is ageing and does need some updating especially in the bathroom where it is a bit mouldy. Limited English spoken by staff, but enough to communicate. You can get money changed at the front desk. If you're not going to stay in amongst the old Houtongs then this is the next best location. We walked to Wangfujing snack street where they sell every kind of food on a stick (seahorses, spiders etc). Also walking distance to Tianamen square, forbidden city. Not a bad hotel, but I would probably look for something a little more modern next time
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Kristen from Chicago

Jade Garden with young children

Posted Nov 27, 2013 on Hotels.com
Jade Garden was very accommodating to my younger children. The room was comfortable, clean, quiet, and the complementary water and coffee were appreciated. Staff was helpful in calling and translating to a Chinese speaking tour group.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by BIGGMAN from USA

Great combo of price and location and service

Posted Nov 18, 2013 on Hotels.com
Cost me about $75 a night for 4 nights. They require a 500 yuan deposit in case you use any mini bar items or for room service or if you lose your key, but it's returned to you when you check out. Room couldn't have been better for the price. 10-15 minute walk to the Forbidden City, outstanding location. Laundromat roughly 5 minutes south walking on the same street if you need to wash clothes. Super friendly, helpful staff. Laundry prices for hotel are located inside your closets, they didn't know how to describe that to me so that was my only complaint, found that out on my own. Stay here and enjoy yourselves. WIFI was only available on the last day in the room, so that hurts for mobile but they have WIRED internet for your laptops all day no problem, the LAN cord for it is in a velvety bag beneath the TV in one of the drawers. Hope this helps! Didn't eat at the restaurant but looked high quality buffet style.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by BQ from New Jersey, USA

Just outside the East Gate of the Forbidden City

Posted Nov 5, 2013 on Hotels.com
I wish that the windows had been cleaner and the bathroom updated but the location was great. The staff were very helpfull and there was a travel tour office in the lobby. The hotel has an interesting history and it seems that the rooms in the original part are much nicer.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Jacq from Singapore

Location of hotel is good and safe.

Posted Nov 1, 2013
Pros: Along the main road.
Cons: Staff appeared unfriendly and unwilling to attend to queries.
Location: Accessible to most places of interest.
Taxi driver didnt know of this hotel although we used it's mandarin name. 15 mins walk to Tian An Men East station. Easy access to most places in Dongheng area . Can catch a cab easily as hotel is along a main street, ChangAn Jie. Staff is not as warm nor as forthcoming in assisting as we would expect of people in service industry although when approached, they 'obliged'.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great value

Posted Oct 31, 2013
Cons: Upgrade the bathroom tiles.
Location: Great location. It is close to Forbidden City, Tiananmen Square, Wangfujing Street.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Sanela from Canada

bargain for the experience

Posted Oct 30, 2013 on Hotels.com
The hotel was great: the bed extremely comfortable (very firm), the location was fantastic. The restaurant was pricey, you can eat better for less outside. Don't book the tours with the agency on site, just cross the street and you'll get a better deal. There is a tourist agency just across the street.