Ratings based on 197 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Sammy and Nancy from Red Deer, Alberta Canada

Great location.

Posted May 10, 2014
Great location. 10 min walk to east gate of Forbidden city and 10 min walk to Wangfujung. Hotel staff happy to help. All and all, we would stay here again
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Nikki from CT, USA

Good place to stay for the money

Posted May 8, 2014
Pros: Location, price and breakfast buffet
Cons: Internet service, and staff communication and friendliness
Location: Very close walking distance to Forbidden City, Street Food, and main shopping areas
We stayed at the hotel for 2 nights and had a nice visit overall. It is in a great location and price wise was a real value. Very clean and well maintained. Also had a very nice breakfast buffet which could satisfy all tastes - great variety and appetizing to look at. Our two disappoints were these: 1) it was difficult to communicate with the staff which could be frustrating and 2) the free internet service was not consistent, but intermittent and slow. So, if that is important to you, it can be real annoying.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Sally from Hampshire

Very close to Forbidden City & Tiannamen Square

Posted May 5, 2014
Pros: Location. Bathroom
Cons: Air-conditioning.
Ideally located for Tiannamen Square & the Forbidden City and equidistant from a number of Metro stations which are all a good 20-25 min walk. Taxi drivers not familiar with it so essential to have a map showing the location when using taxis (that's if you can find a taxi!). The hotel card is too small for the drivers to follow it but you can phone the hotel & they will explain to the driver it's location. This is more a problem with the taxi's than the hotel or it's location. Came back one night at 10:30pm & the bar was closed so went to the shop over the road to buy a drink! Air-conditioning not brilliant otherwise the room had all the basics required, and you don't go to China to stay in your room. Staff were pleasant and helpful. Never tried the food so can't comment on that
2 out of 5
by Stu from Auckland

Great location but disappointing experience

Posted Apr 28, 2014
On arrival I found that the air-conditioning did not work. The room was uncomfortable hot and the staff were unable to help (or could not understand).
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Martyn from England

Nice location ideally placed centrally in city

Posted Feb 8, 2014
Pros: Central location, easy to get around, to see the tourist attractions.
Cons: Only down side i found with the hotel, was the water didn't stay hot for long, so shower quick before it gets too cold
Location: The hotel is only a 5-10 minute walk to both Tiananmen Square, and the Forbidden City. A must see if going to Beijing.
Hotel is very good, the staff were friendly, surprising how quite it was given the fact its on a main road. there is a choice of breakfasts to suit everyone, from western to eastern. ordering room service, isn't too bad either. If you are going outside to see the attractions. be weary of the normal students, offering themselves as tour-guides, or having art exhibition (for 1 day only of course) these would probably cost you money and too much as well. they do target westerners, so stand your ground. if you do need a local tour guide look on the net before you go. there are some good sites to find. and reasonable. If going to forbidden city, try to make your trip not run along with a Chinese holiday, as this is a top attraction and will be very very busy. Beijing has a decent metro. so most places are easy to get to. take a taxi. for a few pounds only Most sight seeing here, are also big places, so wear a comfortable pair of trainers or hiking shoes.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by Theodore from Canada

concierge made it worth while

Posted Jan 25, 2014 on Hotels.com
The concierge was the friendliest and most helpful I've ever met. From greeting us at the taxi when we first arrived, to having a taxi waiting for us at our departure. The sub-zero temperatures were truly warmed by his seeming to know all that we could need or want in Flawless English! Sorry I can't remember his name... The flip side of the coin of our stay is, don't be fooled into thinking the high priced breakfast buffet must be worth its price.., I've had many free Chinese breakfasts that were far superior to this one. Also, at the "coffee bar" - should one Espresso and one coffee (both from sadly stale beans) be 106 RMB!? ...., realities are undeniably the traveler's choice on these well-worn pathways. Lucky days and Astronomy become much like fantasies' eyes awaiting the warmth of Spring (and its festival) lit in the lanterns of Beijing.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by LJ from London

Posted Jan 11, 2014
Pros: Clean, pleasant staff, good tour desk
Cons: The food!!
Location: Tianammen Square and the Forbidden City within walking distance.
Would definitely recommend this hotel, in a very good position and near shops and restaurants and the night markets. all walkable. Safe area However, I would forget the breakfast and I never saw anyone eating in the evening it is totally uninviting only two tables laid up under spotlights.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Mrs Lim from Singapore

Great location, Fantastic facilities

Posted Jan 3, 2014 on Hotels.com
Good facilites provided in the room, such as free Wifi, free computer usage with connection to internet. However, transport to airport on the expensive side, charging 500 RMB for a van compared to about 300 RMB by other private operators for similar van.
3 out of 5
by Yvonne from Newcastle, Australia

ok hotel

Posted Dec 7, 2013
Pros: Across the road from some great food. walking distance to huge shopping malls and cultural sightseeing.
Cons: Cleanliness of bathroom. It was a bit yucky with mould around the grout. Staff in the business centere could have been more helpful.
Location: Good location. Easy walk to workers park and then a bit of a longer walk to Tianamen square and Forbidden City. Walk to trains and Wangfujing snack st
This hotel is ageing and does need some updating especially in the bathroom where it is a bit mouldy. Limited English spoken by staff, but enough to communicate. You can get money changed at the front desk. If you're not going to stay in amongst the old Houtongs then this is the next best location. We walked to Wangfujing snack street where they sell every kind of food on a stick (seahorses, spiders etc). Also walking distance to Tianamen square, forbidden city. Not a bad hotel, but I would probably look for something a little more modern next time
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Kristen from Chicago

Jade Garden with young children

Posted Nov 27, 2013 on Hotels.com
Jade Garden was very accommodating to my younger children. The room was comfortable, clean, quiet, and the complementary water and coffee were appreciated. Staff was helpful in calling and translating to a Chinese speaking tour group.