Ratings based on 49 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Pacific North West

Disappointing

Posted Aug 18, 2014
Pros: They have a deli and Starbucks.
Cons: Complete Renovation.
Location: Local restaurants have good food and within blocks of the hotel.
I stayed at this particular Hotel many times in the past and was very pleased with it when it was with the Holiday Inn chain. It was still fine the first couple of years under the Metro Park name. However it has changed a great deal . The rooms are ok but have not been upgraded in many years. The hotel has no cocktail lounges or bars. Room Service is terrible. The same menu has been in the room for over 10years. I ordered a pasta dish that I always had in the past and some red wine. The kitchen did not have it or any other pasta dish. They did have a club sandwich which I ordered. Then they called my room and said they had no wine, red or white. I will never stay there again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by john from new york city

Very convenient

Posted May 31, 2014
We swung back thru Beijing for a 1 night stand prior to our departure for NYC the next day. We chose the Lido because it was very well priced and near the Beijing international airport, about 20 minutes away. The rooms are adequate and clean, but the place had a sort of "I need a refurb" air about it. It's also rather isolated. For our purposes it served nicely.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Near airport and downtown

Posted May 27, 2014
Comfortable. Good restaurants including Western restaurants within walking distance. Sanlitun bar/shopping district is a short taxi ride away.
2 out of 5
by Liz from Texas

The hotel has deteriorated significantly

Posted Apr 5, 2014
Pros: Some of the staff members were very polite and tried to be very helpful despite communication issues.
Cons: The hotel is dirty and smoke filled in a city that is constantly polluted. A major renovation is in order.
Location: The hotel itself has Starbucks and the restaurants were always empty. It is not close to any Metro line so can only take taxis.
The rooms are in need of major renovation. Requested a non-smoking floor that for the full 4 days smelled of strong cigarette smoke. Finally had to ask the front desk to spray with air freshener. When it was Holiday Inn Lido, there were competent English speakers as staff. That is no longer the case. There were constant communication issues, like when the toilet back-flowed and no one seemed to understand that service was needed. The breakfast, which is only a buffet style and no ala-carte was absolutely horrible. And the staff would start mopping the floors while people were still eating. The waiting staff would stack the dirty places, place it on your table to pick you our plate to place it underneath the dirty stack. Only a spoon with a napkin was on the table as eating utensils. On the fifth day, we moved to the Renaissance Beijing, and for a few dollars more, we got beautiful breakfasts included in the room price with clean and beautiful rooms with absolutely no trace of cigarette odor anywhere. Will never stay at the Lido Hotel again.
2 out of 5
by Mike from UK

Would have been nice but.....

Posted Mar 24, 2014
Cons: See above
This is a difficult one to review. The hotel itself was OK, nothing special, but it was OK. The problem was that the hotel was used to put the relatives of the recent lost Malaysian flight into during their ordeal. This in itself was not a problem, it was a little harrowing to be there at this time and to witness the emotions but not a problem (and far, far worse for the people who had lost friends and family). The problem was how the hotel dealt with what was going on around them, admittedly they were in a very unusual situation but they certainly took very little notice of any other guests whilst this was all going on. During my stay there was no communication regarding the hordes of media chasing people through the corridors, no apology for the disruption to any of the guests (including the relatives) and the final straw was when they put huge security into the hotel (guards, x-ray machines etc) and refused to discuss the reasons for this when asked. This happened 5 days into the ordeal and it was a little strange to be suddenly searched and scanned every time you stepped through the door with no-one willing to discuss what was going on and how long it would last. Eventually myself and a colleague checked out and moved to the Crowme Plaza hotel next door. We could have lived with the minor inconvenience considering what was happening but not the stone-walling by the staff and management as to why all these measures were put in place so long after the actual incident.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Kim from Florida

Nice in its time

Posted Mar 23, 2014 on Hotels.com
This hotel was/is nice but the rooms are in need of major renovations, particularly the bathrooms. Aging fixtures and cracked caulk and tiles are rather gross. Carpet also needs to be pulled. However linens are nice 4star quality. Time for some a re-do.
1 out of 5
by Sarah from UK

Hotel ok, but at the wrong time

Posted Mar 19, 2014
Pros: there was many facilities
Cons: It is outdated
Location: Not keen on the location, but i was there for business
We had booked this hotel before the Malaysian plane incident. Prior to our arrival we were not advised of this hotel holding the media and families of the missing plane - we should have been informed. The experience was awful, bad atmosphere - it felt like a prison. The point where we made a decision to leave the hotel early was the Sunday when they decided to put security and check points before entering the hotel. This made us feel very uncomfortable; nor would the hotel staff explain why this was the case. For our safety, we checked out of the Metro and went next door to the newly opened Crown Plaza. What a beautiful hotel and not one site of media, cameras, or security. It felt like a hotel, instead of a prison which is what the Metro felt like. I am grateful this was a busines strip and not a holiday i invested in; I WOULD NOT be a happy customer. The point i am making is: this is a big change for a hotel, and they should have informed ALL of their bookings that their hotel was under this pressure and atmosphere. It is very unprofessional to not advise your customers; and offer a full refund if they did not want to stay in that situation.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Mr. C from London

Hotel with a good location

Posted Mar 1, 2014
Pros: Convenience of location - to and fro from the airport
Cons: The heating / cooling in my room was not that good. I did not bother much with it because I was busy
Location: Good place over all from a location stand point
Overall was good. Do not expect anything new but everything works and people will help you.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by QL from San Diego

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 6, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Jim from California

Comfortable for firstimers and longtimers

Posted Nov 25, 2013 on Hotels.com
The Lido Is a great place to stay especially the first time you come to Beijing. The staff are all so friendly and accommodating. Many speak English so communicating is not as overwhelming as you may think. The Lido will always be my first stop when flying into Beijing. The breakfast is incredible and convenient. Make sure you include it in your reservations. The Lido is a great hotel.