Ratings based on 46 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from UK

Lovely atmosphere

Posted Mar 26, 2014
Pros: location, staff, homely feel
Cons: bathrooms have seen better days
Location: backstreet location, authentic and brilliant, walk out straight into the local life with street food vendors and locals eating local food.
Very homely and welcoming. Off a side street but don't be put off by this. The staff were great and always ready to help. Easy access to the airport and the centre of Beijing. Clean, simple and different. Breakfast was simple but always very welcome
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel

Posted Mar 23, 2014
Not the best location, taxis had difficulty finding the place but it is a really nice quiet hotel. Breakfast was simple but delicious (eggs, sausage, chicken nuggets). The staff was courteous and friendly and the room was clean! Overall enjoyed my time here.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by BZ from mn

Hidden Gem

Posted Mar 15, 2014
Pros: Atmosphere, staff.
Location: Hidden at the end of a funky hutong
The hotel is pretty difficult for cabs to find from the airport....so if you can print out the hotel directions in advance that would be helpful. Look out for the black cabs at the airport. We were approached by a van driver when we left the que who wanted 100 bucks to drive us to Michael's. The correct fare is about 15 bucks. We took the real cab, who got in a fender bender bender in the hotel alley. The streets are super narrow. The lobby is absolutely charming. Rooms are quite nice off the lobby. TV noise can be bothersome if the guests next door have the volume up. Breakfast quite nice. The staff is great. If they know you have an early tour they will have coffee and some breakfast items out for you. The tours are nice and feasonably priced. We did the 260 yaun tour to Mutianyu Great Wall that was great. (Ask about the toboggan ride down, instead of cable car both ways) . It came with lunch. Quite nice with about 10 different dishes for the table. THere are two great restaurants nearby. A Szechuan rstaurant and one that specializes in Peking Duck. Ask for directions, they are vey close and convenient. And cheap! The nearest subway is Jishuitan. About a ten minute walk. Adds a bit of walking after a long day of trekking in the city, but taxis are cheap and convenient. Really loved the place. My wife did too.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Super friendly hotel in a convenient location

Posted Feb 2, 2014
The highlight of our stay was the fantastic service from the girls at reception. They were only too happy to help with our questions and requests. The hotel itself is very cosy and a world apart from large and impersonal big hotel chains. Highly recommended.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Australia

5 great days in Beijing.

Posted Dec 9, 2013
Before I booked I noticed other reviews said it was a litle difficult to find down a side alley and our taxi driver also had trouble. Luckily I had directions from my son who stayed there 18 months ago. The staff were very friendly and helpful and the room comfortable and very clean. Excellent place to stay if you prefer to avoid the Western style hotels. Easy 10 minute walk to the subway meaning that everything is close! We ate at several excellent local restaurants.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 5, 2013 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Vickie from Virginia, US

Nice staff and interesting neighborhood.

Posted Oct 31, 2013
Pros: Open courtyard and friendly staff.
Location: Very active street at corner with lots of students, restaurants, shops and night life. Nice quiet place to walk in the mornings.
Michael's House was our first stop of a three week tour of China. Room was small but more than adequate. The hard mattresses throughout the tour took some adjusting to. Staff were very helpful and many spoke English. The courtyard was very nice. Very quiet. Would stay again!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by gordon from Jerusalem

Authentic experience

Posted Oct 27, 2013
I sought a hotel other than the impersonal city towers prevalent in Chinese cities. Michael's House was ideal from this standpoint. Plus because it is a b&b there are opportunities to meet and chat with like minded guests. One request: more shelve space in the room for clothing otherwise one must live out of a suitcase. Staff is excellent and extremely helpful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Greta from California

Cute and clean in convenient area

Posted Oct 22, 2013
We enjoyed our 5 night stay in the Emperor Suite. The hotel is very quiet and clean--sheets crisp, nice fluffy towels changed every day. One surprise is how dark the hutong-style rooms are--you can barely tell it is morning as the room windows face the courtyard and hardly get any light--good for sleeping in! Hearty western breakfast every morning included with the room. The staff speaks English very well and was really helpful in arranging transportation, getting us directions, delivering telephone messages, etc. The neighborhood is 10 minutes to subway and not too far from major sites in Beijing, also filled with local color--street food, etc. Free wireless has some down times but was fine. All really good for the price. We traveled with our 5-year old and noted no other guests with kids during our stay in this B&B-type hotel which I think is most suitable for adults, although fine for us (and staff seemed fine with our 5-year old). If you are looking to be in a hip area near more touristy restaurants, cafes, and attractions this is not it. But otherwise a really good choice and a nice base for Beijing sightseeing.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Joann from Canada

Our Stay in Beijing

Posted Oct 22, 2013
Pros: Staff and the overall atmosphere
Cons: no
Location: close to restaurants and subway, a little hard to find at first but if you ask them to email you directions in Chinese, the taxi driver will find it
The staff was GREAT, special thanks go out to Amy who welcomed us when we arrived and helped us plan our activities during our stay. We felt like family from the moment we walked it. the staff spoke English very well The Hotel itself was very quaint and well looked after. The rooms were great, comfortable beds and clean. We would definitely recommend Michael's House to anyone planning a treip to Beijing