Ratings based on 450 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Angie from Seattle

Easy walk to Qian Men

Posted Apr 2, 2014
Pros: Location, ease of check-in, cleanliness
Cons: I didn't see any slippers in the room, I usually don't wear them anyway but the carpet in my room was questionable.
Location: Walk or subway to the right out of the hotel to Qian Men or to the left to Wang Fu Jing.
I chose this hotel because of its proximity to Qian Men / Tian An Men. It's just one subway stop away or a direct walk of about 20 minutes. It's a great price for the location, the room was a bit dated and scratched up but it was clean which is way more important. The desk staff was also very friendly and large bottles of water are available in the lobby store for only 25 RMB (two small bottles are also in the room at no charge).
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Dan from Phoenix AZ

Great location, good value, OK facilities

Posted Mar 27, 2014
Pros: Decent facilities.
Cons: Needs a little repair in rooms, but they're clean.
Location: You are a 15 minute walk from Tienanmen Square.
The hotel location is great, with access to the Beijing subway right outside the hotel door. If you travel independently and want to see Beijing, use the subway to avoid horrible traffic congestion. The rooms were clean, though some wear and tear is visible and some renovation is in order. Staff speak good English and are very polite and efficient. My one complaint is that the rooms are a little too warm. Each room has A/C but these units are turned off until the weather gets warm. The hotel should be rated 3 star, but it's a good value for a city like Beijing.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Maura from Philadelphia, PA

Average hotel, good location

Posted Mar 26, 2014
This hotel is in an excellent location, just steps from the Chongwenmen subway stop on Line 2 and a pleasant walk (about 15 minutes) from Tiananmen Square. It's a good, clean hotel for a few nights, though nothing fancy and all of the furnishings are rather cheap IKEA-style pressboard. My only complaint was that adjusting the thermostat didn't seem to make any difference in the room's temperature--it was hot and stuffy all the time. Opening the small window seemed to help, and when I walked outside the hotel and looked up, I could see that most of the rooms had their windows open, so I don't think I was the only person experiencing this problem.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by george from u.k

Location excellent for Novotel Quin Xao

Posted Mar 24, 2014
Pros: It's location and a super bakery next door if on room only basis
Cons: Softer mattresses for a better nights sleep and attention to air conditioning system.
Location: Very central for all main visitor attractions
Staff at reception and concierge very helpful. Room was too warm, air conditioning poor and extremely hard bed.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Don't get the economy room

Posted Mar 11, 2014
My room had no windows and no working AC. When I complained they gave me a fan, which broke that night.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Ian from UK

Great location in Kowloon...

Posted Feb 23, 2014
Pros: Location. Cleanliness.
Cons: Breakfast was mediocre in selection and quality.
Location: Loads of eating places in nearby Ivy Street. McDonalds across the road if you need a Western fix.
We pulled up outside a modern Art Deco style hotel on a busy side road. We walked into a small reception area with escalators up to the 1st floor reception desk which is a little quirky but the porters are quick to help with cases. Check in was a quick and simple process and we were in our rooms within 5 minutes. On our first night we ventured up to the 30th floor balcony and enjoyed a bottle of wine whilst taking in the stunning Hong Kong skyline... The rooms are small (normal in HK) but well designed and clean with modern facilities. Our tariff did not include breakfast but at a reasonable 88HKD we thought worth a shot. Beautiful dining room but the food was mediocre and bland with a very limited selection. We did not dine there again during our stay.. However there is a McDonald's. right across the road on the corner of Ivy Street* and we decided to have a Western breakfast each morning before going Chinese for the rest of each day. * Take a walk down Ivy Street and enjoy a vast array of food on offer. Don't be fooled by the tatty shop fronts, there is some great food to be had here...
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close to station super nice

Posted Jan 25, 2014
Total worth the money close to subway station. Convenient city travel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Chris from Quebec, Canada

Nice hotel, excellent location

Posted Jan 21, 2014
Pros: The location close to the subway station.
Cons: The rooms are a bit outdated.
Location: Great location, close to the subway. Plenty of restaurant and fast-food nearby right across the street.
We spent 4 nights there in december. Nice property, excellent location close the the forbidden city and adjacent to metro (subway) station Chongwenmen. Easy access to anywhere in Beijing because of that. Otherwise, this is a decent hotel but overall nothing special.
1 out of 5
by Andrew from San Francisco, CA

Complete Poor Hotel, DO NOT STAY FOR ANY REASON!

Posted Jan 21, 2014
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Everything
Location: Nothing
So I booked at Expedia, and when I got to the hotel, they didn't speak a word of english. They had me sign the usual "incidentals" document, and placed a hold on my credit card. I consumer no incidentals, and when I got home, they had charged my credit card a huge amount, so I tried to contact the hotel to find out what it was about, and they didn't speak a word of english. So I went to my credit card company, and they disputed the charge from the hotel. The hotel responded that I had requested a double upgrade, and an additional night, which was completely false. Now I'm in the process of fighting about it with the credit card company since I signed for incidentals, and the hotel just added it on as an incidental. ABSURD.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

close to city center and subway

Posted Jan 14, 2014 on Hotels.com
overall is good, but original no smoking floor can still smell strong smoke