Ratings based on 278 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Michael from SF Bay Area, CA

Wonderful Historic Hotel

Posted May 11, 2014
Pros: Historic value, location..................luxury. Incredible staff.
Cons: Roof top pool??
Location: This is THE location in Beijing...........period.
Entering my room after a pleasant check in, I noticed there was a pile of cigarette butts on the patio which gave my non smoking room that odor.............so I called downstairs to have housekeeping come up to remove them and when I returned back from shopping, the room was aired out and perfect !! Buffet in the am was great !! Location...........
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Jannik from Singapore

Great Stay

Posted May 8, 2014 on Hotels.com
We stayed one night before leaving China. Great location for shopping in the middle of the city. Walking distance to Forbidden City. Everything was great.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by terri from Howey in the Hills, Fl

Beautiful elegant hotel

Posted Apr 28, 2014
Pros: Décor, location
Location: Hotel is right next to Forbidden City, Tiannamen Square and the finest shopping district in Beijing
This is a beautiful elegant hotel right next to the Forbidden City. The staff is out of the movies, as is the décor. Beautiful carved oriental rugs combine with Murano crystal chandeliers and fine Chinese porcelain to create an unforgettably elegant atmosphere.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Lydia from USA

Convenience of location

Posted Apr 21, 2014 on Hotels.com
It is so easy to go everywhere . And good service!
3 out of 5
by EnjoyTravel from San Jose, California

Nice old hotel, excellent location

Posted Apr 14, 2014
Pros: Large space in the room. Upscale feeling.
Cons: Air conditioning. Shower place.
Location: Forbidden City and Tienanmen Square within walking distance. Wanfujing shopping street in 5 minutes.
Had visited Beijing many times in the past 20 years. Used to stay at large American hotel chain hotels. Decided to try a little different type of hotel this time. Raffles hotel has a good name world-wide. However, I had a mixed feeling with my 6-night stay. Hotel staff are friendly and professional. Room is large with hardwood floor like home. Very good. But, the air conditioning wasn't working at all. It was hot and humid. I booked two rooms. Both rooms had the same situation. The hotel staff brought fans to each room and these fans never stopped until we left. Hot, humid, and fans throughout the night in April. Imagine. I won't even try to think of it during summer time... The part of bathtub and shower place design in the overall bathroom is poor. You often say "whoever designs it never uses it himself/herself." This is one of the things that follows that saying. The bathroom door to bedroom cannot be closed due to the moisture. I booked this hotel through Expedia...prepaid for six nights for two rooms and no cancellation. Next time I'd be more careful if I see 'no cancellation.' The location is very good and very safe for foreigners. Overall the hotel is quiet and you don't see too many tourists wondering inside of the hotel. Buffet breakfast is top of the line with a high price tag. Staff can communicate in English well.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Henry Beaumont from Glen Ellen, California

Perfect spot for first trip to Beijing

Posted Apr 9, 2014 on Hotels.com
We had 2 1/2 days to see Beijing and we couln't have chosen a better location in our opinion. The hotel is located right on the main drag, three blocks east of Tiananmen Square and the Forbidden City and one block west of a major shopping street with loads of food options. Theres a subway station for the #1 line about a 1/2 block away which will take you right to the Silk Market with no transfers and a single transfer to the #10 line to get to the Dirt Market. Great Loaction!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Tonyna80

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 9, 2014 on Hotels.com
3 out of 5
by traveler from WA

Situated in prime area, without the prime benefit.

Posted Apr 7, 2014
The room is nice, but they're air condition and heater does not work. The window could not be open, because there is none. If they give you the room with windows, the pollution is so intensive that you are breathing smog. So you pretty much in a sauna when you are in the room.
3 out of 5
by Ali from London

Good location for proximity to Forbidden City

Posted Apr 3, 2014
Pros: .
The "grande dame" hotel is adjacent to the Forbidden City and Tianammen Square, but is not close to any shopping or shopping mall as some other 5 star hotels are . The staff are unfailingly professional, polite, attentive and helpful and a true credit to the management, but the hotel itself, while spotless, is far from a 5 star establishment. The gym and pool are way below what is to be expected from a 5 star hotel and most importantly, the entre building, including public areas and rooms, have a problem with ambient temperature. Some of the rooms are warm enough to be practically unusable. Also, the hotel is internally interconnected with a large adjacent building, with no egress or ingress control, potentially allowing for less security controls. Even at discounted or attractive rates, there is no point in staying at this hotel if a guest is expecting 5 star comfort.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Calvin Zhao

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 31, 2014 on Hotels.com