Ratings based on 194 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from The UK

Hotel Shatan Beijing.

Posted Aug 6, 2014
Pros: Location.
Cons: The room cleaning.
Location: Great location, very close to the Forbidden City.
Great location, the reason we booked the hotel. Room facilities are good, a bit tired, but functional. Air conditioning was not working when we were given the room, but after speaking to the hotel receptionist it was fixed and work fine for the duration of our stay. We stayed in the hotel during July - August very hot so Air Con very important. The room was comfortable, but the cleaning was disappointing, had to ask for the bed sheets to be changed on one occasion and the room was very dusty, this did have something to do with the pollution in Beijing I think. Overall we would stay at the Shatan again and would recommend it to travellers on a budget, or who want to experience the real China.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Worst experience ever

Posted Jul 10, 2014
I had a three day reservation at this hotel in late June. Both carpet and bathroom were dirty. The shower was not functioning properly. Tried to switch to a different room but same room conditions were detected. There was a loud oral fight between hotel staff and guests in the hallway on my floor around 12am! I filed a complaint with the receptionist the next day, who appeared to be unapologetic. While being aware that I would not get a refund according to terms and conditions, I decided to go to a different hotel after staying there for two nights. I would not recommend this hotel, period!!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Glenn from California

Near Forbidden city

Posted May 16, 2014 on Hotels.com
The Sha tan is a clean decent hotel for the price. They have a little office to book tours to the wall,etc., which I used,and was pleased with. Staff seems helpful. There is a laundry a couple doors down and a little restaurant at the end of the street that serves Western food. Used both. It's about a 15min walk to the nearest subway station (Dongsi). Beijing has a great subway system,cheap,fast, signs in English,easy to figure out. Use official taxis or subway in Beijing. Do NOT use those 3 wheeled things.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Dan Hill from Field ( Canada)

In-expensive Beijing

Posted May 3, 2014 on Hotels.com
Better than I expected. A nice hotel on a backwater street. The street name was Sha Tan Haojie, or (Sha Tan Back Street). The local atmosphere is fantastic, real local Beijing living. The local food is awesome and very inexpensive. Many little restaurants and street vendors. This is not "Fine Dining". This is everyday, real life food! A total meal for 2 people is about 20 yuan or less! That's having a feast! I think the most we spent for breakfast or lunch, was 30 yuan. In Contrast, we went to Pizza Hut one night. We spent 210 yuan for supper, and it was very disappointing! A total rip-off. Stick to the local mom and pop restaurants, you can't go wrong! By the way, this hotel is steps from a major Park. Listen to the locals sing, play instruments, Dance in sync with local dances, spectacular views and wonderful temples. Be prepared with good hiking shoes, the steps are steep! haha. The emperors palace is about 2 blocks south of the hotel, you can see it from the top of the park! Be prepared for a very long day or even two days! It is 1km long and 800meters wide, jammed with history! We actually hired a local tour guide on the grounds. It was much more personal this way.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by lucy from london

Excellent location!

Posted May 2, 2014
Pros: Clean. Great shower, hot and powerful.
Cons: Top mattress covers as too hard for European standards.
Location: Excellent location. Taxi needed from stations if arriving late or with suitcases. Rucksack holders can walk :) great night life 15 mins walk away!
In Historic centre of Beijing. The Forbidden Palace, Jingshan Park (you must visit before Forbidden Palace, no tour guide needed to see the view of the City below). The Palace Museum, The Man Fu Lou Chinese restaurant that is pure Chinese quality & decor with modern toilet. The Bell Towers, The Chinese shops, my leather shoes were £20.00! Chinese boutiques and the old Hutongs are all five, ten minutes walk away. Great photo opportunities and old diners etc. great food, safe area too as busy with Chinese tourists. Limited English which was great as hey after all you are in China! I can't speak Chinese so my bag. Use google app which really made them laugh and helped out a lot. Smile at everyone when you speak as they were upset with being treated poorly by tourist who shout or seem agressive when requesting something. Extras in the tours so bring at least 200 yuan for the tips, entrances to other exhibits. I tipped well as our guide gave us so much explanations on what I wanted to know. They like intelligent questions as they go to study as a tour guide. All in all I will rebook this hotel and location. Tips are not obligatory! Enjoy.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by L from Australia, Melbourne

Great hotel for returning visitors to Beijing

Posted Apr 13, 2014
Pros: Proximity to Jingshan Park, old hutong area
Cons: Flooding of bathroom (very common in Beijing hotels)
Location: Jingshan Park, Art Gallery, Hutongs
Located not too far from the 109 bus line (can catch to Donsi subway station), Sha Tan Hotel is a great hotel for those who spend most of their time out and about. It is a 2 min walk to Jingshan Park (go there on Sunday mornings to hear the older Mao generation singing old revolutionary songs). It is nestled in an old hutong area (not the 'new' old hutongs that appear to attract naive foreigners). The staff are very friendly, some speak good English - however this is China so don't be surprised if you come across people who don't speak your language :) The room itself is nothing special, but large enough to not feel claustrophobic.The staff don't harass you to take tours (they actually referred me to the subway to access a POI). You don't even pass the front desk on your way in/out which is a bonus for those wanting to be left alone. Probably not a good hotel for first timers in Beijing.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by joel from cincinnati, oh

The hotel was okay, but awesome location

Posted Apr 7, 2014
Like the title says, okay hotel, but amazing location. This is coming from a first time American internional traveler, so keep that in mind. The front desk spoke just enough English to get things communicated but seemed to get frustrated when we would ask for help. Make sure to get a room with a window, it's a little more expensive but way worth it.
3 out of 5
by James from Melbourne

Back alley hotel

Posted Mar 25, 2014
Somewhat disappointing in spite of the reviews. We had a travel hair dryer taken (stolen) from our room and are glad to have left the iPad in the safe when out (Something too large to have mistakenly misplaced!) The 'non smoking room' was the worst smoke filled room in all the hotels we stayed in. Beijing Subway is easy to use and do not book this hotel just for the position.
3 out of 5
by James from Melbourne

Back alley hotel

Posted Mar 25, 2014
Somewhat disappointing in spite of the reviews. We had a travel hair dryer taken (stolen) from our room and are glad to have left the iPad in the safe when out (Something too large to have mistakenly misplaced!) The 'non smoking room' was the worst smoke filled room in all the hotels we stayed in. Beijing Subway is easy to use and do not book this hotel just for the position.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by Prasad from India

Posted Mar 21, 2014 on Hotels.com
Very nice hotel, the staff was very friendly and spoke good English. Location is good and well-connected by bus. It is only about 15 min. by taxi from Tiananmen Square and even closer to S. Hutong. The room I got was clean and spacious. The same went for the bathroom. The only problem was that it wasn't adequately soundproof. Twice during the night I thought someone was trying to enter my room when in fact it was only someone entering the neighboring room (hopefully their own :)). Apart from that, the neighborhood was a bit run down, so returning very late at night might not be recommended (though I did return at 11 pm, but later might not be a good idea). However, all said and done, I would definitely stay there again given a chance.