Ratings based on 58 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from San Francisco

central location

Posted Jul 9, 2013 on Hotels.com
35-45 mins from airport w/out traffic and two subway lines directly connected to the hotel for those who would like to venture out. hotel is old but well maintained. breakfast, lunch, and dinner buffet is what you should expect from a top class Shangri-la chain. Malls beneath the hotel aren't that popular --- try the smaller but a lot more popular one in China Central Place that's 5 mins taxi away.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Great Hotel

Posted Apr 19, 2013 on Hotels.com
Nice hotel, and if you looking for all the name brands of fashion, this is the place to stay. The mall is very accessible by simply going downstairs.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by JT

The Best Hotel in the World

Posted Nov 29, 2012 on Hotels.com
It was the best stay. This hotel and its staff are the best in the world. The comfort, cleanliness, beauty, and very classy are some of the strongest description of this wonderful hotel. This hotel rating is 5 Diamonds.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Matthew from Melbourne VIC, Australia

Stay in Beijing

Posted Nov 17, 2012
Pros: Nice size rooms excellent light at the work station in the room
Cons: Room service food was not how it was discribed in menu and was looking forward to food as it was shown in menu.
Location: Excellent location on major roads and easy to get to other locations in Beijing
Nice hotel easy to get in and out of and convient to other facilities such as the mall below. Restaurants were nice, felt breakfast is a little expensive and room service ordered was not haw it was discribed in menu. Would stay there again excellent property and recomend it to others.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from cambridge england

truly shangri la

Posted Apr 5, 2012 on Hotels.com
we stayed for 3 days in a Horizon club room on the 21st floor following a cruise.The staff were superb throughout-always kind and helpful and greeting you by name.The extra for the Club level is well worth the additional chargeparticularly the 2 hours "cocktail party" each evening Main lobby is beautiful-chandeliers marble etc and their chinese restuarant Summer Garden was luxurious but not expensive by Western standards we had dinner there twice This was without doubt one of the best hotel stays we have enjoyed and highly recommended
2 out of 5
by Jeff from US

Killing the Brand!

Posted Jan 1, 2012
Pros: Former brand equity and previously superior customer service with value.
Cons: Inept management hasn't a clue about pleasing club members and business customers
Worst customer service ever from Shangri-La, and I'm a club member. Management would not honor quoted rate for a one day add'l stay during major LOW season. What a horrible way to treat business customers - not any way to generate brand/customer service loyalty!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Ahmed from Egypt - Cairo

Beautiful Stay in Beijing

Posted Dec 25, 2011
Pros: The excellent service of the staff as well they care about every thing
Cons: Setting in the Horizon lounge and having chinese tea, reading and watching the news while checking the Internet
Location: One of the best locations in Beijing in the heart of the city and very near to most of the touristic places as well great for business meetings
I enjoyed very much my short stay in that Hotel, as the location is extremely good for business and pleasure as well the service and the quality of it was of the highest standard. They care about their customer very much and moreover they speak English. The view from the room is beautiful and the food quality was good and satisfy International taste.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Napa, CA

JS

Posted Jul 23, 2011
The China World Hotel is terribly run down. I lived there for 8 years and find it extremely disappointing this time. The restaurants are terrible and they close very early.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from kuwait

the HOTEL TO STAY!!!

Posted May 9, 2011
it was one of the best hotels ever stayed and had all the best eminites and services. Housekeeping was great and all the facilities were useful
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Washington, DC

China World Hotel - recommendation with caveats

Posted Oct 21, 2010 on Hotels.com
All in all, my stay at the China Wold Hotel was quite satisfactory. The service was attentive and friendly, and the facility very comfortable and secure. In fact, maybe too secure. I entered the lobby after a day of picture-taking and was confronted by a "hostess" who appeared ready to take my head off until I told her that I was staying at the hotel. Thereafter, her demeanor changed dramatically. I appreciate a hotel's desire to create a safe, controlled environment, but to be honest, it grew tiresome having to acknowledge the gauntlet of individuals arrayed between the entrance and the elevators! The breakfast is quite good, especially the pastry section. The service was very friendly, although they still haven't mastered the notion of coffee refills. However, the price is ridiculous - just over $30! It is the most expensive I have encountered in 20 years of business travel. Nevertheless, I bit the bullet for the sake of convenience and the fact that I didn't need to bother with lunch. As for the ancillary services, the business center staff were very helpful and anxious to assist. The spa, on the other hand, seemed disconnected from the hotel, with no one speaking English (and me next to zero Chinese) and a pricing structure contrary to what the hotel advertised in the rooms. After 8 hours of hiking around Tiananmen Square, the Forbidden City and local environs, it would have been nice to enjoy a muscle ache-relieving massage without being gouged. On the other hand, I wouldn't trust visiting any of the local spas in the area. As for location, this is not a pretty area by any means. One of the ring roads is right next to the hotel, with a major boulevard in front. Even so, there are subway stations right there as well, which is very convenient and a good way to dodge the seemingly perpetual traffic jams. So in summary, would I stay here again? Yes. Would I recommend it to friends, family and colleagues? Yes. Just be patient and keep your eyes open.