Ratings based on 61 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Napa, CA

JS

Posted Jul 23, 2011
The China World Hotel is terribly run down. I lived there for 8 years and find it extremely disappointing this time. The restaurants are terrible and they close very early.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from kuwait

the HOTEL TO STAY!!!

Posted May 9, 2011
it was one of the best hotels ever stayed and had all the best eminites and services. Housekeeping was great and all the facilities were useful
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Washington, DC

China World Hotel - recommendation with caveats

Posted Oct 21, 2010 on Hotels.com
All in all, my stay at the China Wold Hotel was quite satisfactory. The service was attentive and friendly, and the facility very comfortable and secure. In fact, maybe too secure. I entered the lobby after a day of picture-taking and was confronted by a "hostess" who appeared ready to take my head off until I told her that I was staying at the hotel. Thereafter, her demeanor changed dramatically. I appreciate a hotel's desire to create a safe, controlled environment, but to be honest, it grew tiresome having to acknowledge the gauntlet of individuals arrayed between the entrance and the elevators! The breakfast is quite good, especially the pastry section. The service was very friendly, although they still haven't mastered the notion of coffee refills. However, the price is ridiculous - just over $30! It is the most expensive I have encountered in 20 years of business travel. Nevertheless, I bit the bullet for the sake of convenience and the fact that I didn't need to bother with lunch. As for the ancillary services, the business center staff were very helpful and anxious to assist. The spa, on the other hand, seemed disconnected from the hotel, with no one speaking English (and me next to zero Chinese) and a pricing structure contrary to what the hotel advertised in the rooms. After 8 hours of hiking around Tiananmen Square, the Forbidden City and local environs, it would have been nice to enjoy a muscle ache-relieving massage without being gouged. On the other hand, I wouldn't trust visiting any of the local spas in the area. As for location, this is not a pretty area by any means. One of the ring roads is right next to the hotel, with a major boulevard in front. Even so, there are subway stations right there as well, which is very convenient and a good way to dodge the seemingly perpetual traffic jams. So in summary, would I stay here again? Yes. Would I recommend it to friends, family and colleagues? Yes. Just be patient and keep your eyes open.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 21, 2010 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Quebec, Canada

China World Shangri-la, great hotel

Posted Jun 2, 2010
Great hotel, extremely relaxing. Very classy and exotic. Within walking distance to the Silk Market too.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 7, 2009 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Port Townsend

Service almost too good.

Posted Sep 2, 2009 on Hotels.com
They were so efficient at verifying that room service did a good enough job or that someone had pickied up my laundry in less than five minutes that it was almost humorous. I kept waiting to someone to check on the checker. Room service food was quick and very good. I had to work in my room and the facilities were conducive to getting a lot accomplished.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Manila,Philippines

very comfortable, everything was great except for the food

Posted Sep 2, 2009
Loved everything about the hotel except for the food, and the lousy concierge service. Extremely innefficient when asked for info and how to's
5 out of 5
Recommended
by David from Windsor

The best we've stay at.

Posted Apr 15, 2009
As travel agents, we have travelled to most places in the world, and this hotel ranks at the top of the list. Everythng was outstanding; no complaints about anything.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Vancouver, Canada

China World Hotel Excellence

Posted Oct 24, 2008
I would highly recommend staying on the Club Floors of the China World Hotel! If you want to be pampered this is the place for you. The service and hotel staff were fantastic, as well as the quality of food served for breakfast and evening appies was outstanding!