Ratings based on 66 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 12, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Cassandra from Toronto, on

Home away from home

Posted Feb 19, 2014
It was like home away from home, all the staff are very froendly and geniually want you to have a great stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 12, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Bri from Dur

For a real Hutong Experience

Posted Jan 26, 2014 on Hotels.com
This is the second time we have stayed at this hotel in Beijing. The service is excellent, the staff are very friendly and accommodating. The rooms are clean and the mattresses are soft. The bathroom is very clean and modern. The included breakfast is great too. The surrounding area is very local flavour so you can find some great food but the english speakers are very limited outside the hotel itself. We would definitely stay again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Samantha from Calgary

Christmas New Years 2013/14

Posted Jan 12, 2014 on Hotels.com
We picked this hotel based on price and it’s location in the Hutong by Houhai lake. We were greeted with genuine warmth and friendliness by the staff. They helped us with taxi’s, a small tour, and booking our flights to Xi’an and Shanghai. The latter was greatly assisted by Jocelyn, who spent at least a few hours with us patiently working through the Airline website, calls to the Airline, emails and then confirming our flights. Sarah helped us with some great sights to see in Shanghai.Taxi service in any country can be a bit trying, but Nilesh helped us with some great advice.Our rooms were on the 2nd floor, which open to the indoor courtyard,a really neat layout. It reminded me of what life might be like in the hutong. All the staff helped us with finding restaurants. There is 2 sets of a group of restaurants. The ones by the lake are good, but expensive for Beijing. The ones along Huguosi street about 10-15 minute walk are authentic, faster and cheaper. We have never stayed in a hotel that has provided such great value for the money, nor the friendly service, nor the staff going out of their way for the guests. Transportation, food, friendliness, accommodating, value for money was awesome during our trip. We highly recommend this hotel to any traveler to Beijing. If you want to experience China’s true culture and wonderful people this would be the place to stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Pavel from Minsk

Nice Hotel with hutong Spirit

Posted Jan 12, 2014
Pros: - Good location (5-10 min. to Beihai North metro station). - Full of extra activities (Shadow performance etc.). - Decent breakfast.
Cons: Wi-fi is the only weak point. It works fine at lobbi, but almost absent at the room.
Location: - Hotel located in hutong. - Nearby there's a park with flea market (we saw on Saturday) and frozen lake with people skating.
I stayed here in January, 2014. We were met with a complimentary cup of tea, which for sure was pleasant. Then the staff provided us with maps, brochures and advice on travelling around Beijing. Very cute. The hotel has its own spirit. They show local heritage such as Shadow Art Performance (8 pm on Thursdays and Saturdays). In the morning a young lady shows the art of letter drawing. The staff was very pleasant and always responsive. Moreover in your room you can find bathrobes and slippers, blowdryer, safe box. So, that made our stay very confortable.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Thea from London

A hidden Treasure!!

Posted Dec 28, 2013
Pros: Staff, ambience, location!!
Cons: Make it a little more sign posted when you arrive out of the subway toward the hotel
Location: Brilliant local places to eat (if you are not fussy) and cheap!! 7 min walk to subway which takes about 10mins to get to Centre of town (Line 1)
A little tricky to find, as It's down a quiet little residential street but once you find it you feel like you are one of the local's in one of the last traditional chinese Hutong (Village). Once I arrived I was greeted with friendly faces and the over whelming warmth as it was(-8) outside. It was so peaceful compared to organised chaos that infests Beijing. Shown to room and it was exactly what I booked and a lovely size with a fantastic Bathroom!! The interior was what attracted me to stay here as its very minimalistic but keeping in order with the chinese heritage. The evening I arrived they showed a Shadow Art Performance, which is one of the oldest forms of art in china so as well as being entertained I was also getting a History lesson. My mother arrived the following day and for the rest of our stay we were looked after in the most gracious way imaginable. The hotel is a little bit out of the city centre but after doing a days walking and getting the subway its nice to be out of the chaos and feel like you're going home. Will 100% be back, maybe not in winter tho.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Melanie from UK

A wonderful management team

Posted Dec 11, 2013
Pros: Expedia Offers
Location: A hotel in a Hutong, not far from the Houhai lake. It is not on a busy shopping environment, so if that is you after, it might not suit you.
We booked a 70 years old lady into this hotel. She was a bit worried about going around by herself after checking in, somebody told her the taxi driver can not read the Chinese, so even she takes a hotel business card, she might not be able to get back by taxi. She emailed us and we contact the hotel. The hotel Front Manager and General manager lent her a mobile and offered their own mobile number, and promised to get her back if she has problem. They looked after her well, solve all her particular requirements. She did not actually had any problem during her stay and told us everything was great. It is good to see the hotel made such effort for their guests. They have Shadow puppet show on Tue, Thur & Saturday as well. Which is quite interesting to some guests like traditional Chinese culture. Melanie from 5 Star China Holidays Ltd UK
2 out of 5
Recommended
by Alladaye from Shanghai

Not to be advised to families

Posted Nov 18, 2013 on Hotels.com
We stayed in Shichahai Shadow Art Performance hotel for 3 days in November (2 adults and 3 kids) and booked a standard room and a premium room that the website advertises can accomodate 3 people. First thing on arriving at the hotel was for the staff to ask for an additionnal charge of 180 yuans per night for the premium room, arguing we were 3 people using the room !! After a visit in the "Premium Room" we discovered there were actually only 2 beds, and no possibility to have rollaway or extra bed. The only possibility was to use the re-created KANG (in bricks) as a bed. The marketing lady suggested that we use this Kang and promissed to arrange a mattress and quilt, and after negociations, agreed that we only pay an overcharge for the breakfast. When we came back into the room, there was no mattress put on the kang, but a quilt instead, which made it a very hard place to sleep on. In the morning, we discovered breakfast was in the lobby and that there was no place for a group of 5 people, and no possibility to move the furnitures so that we could have breakfast together. Tables are for 2, 3 people maximum. Overall, we found the hotel could be a good place for a couple, but definitely not for families or for kids. And that the advertisement for the premium room was not being very honest.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 12, 2013