Ratings based on 66 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Baltimore, MD

Posted Aug 21, 2014
Wonderful oasis in the midst of a hutong. The staff were very helpful and pleasant. They arranged transport to and from the airport and to the Great Wall. I have been to Beijing, but never stayed in a hutong. It made me feel like I was living in ild Beijing. The hutong is an area of contrasts - beautifully restored homes, elaborate front doors, tiny alleyways, and what appeared to be a recycling collector with trash bags full of plastic bottles and bike loads of cardboard. My only complaint is that my stay was too short!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by LYNN from UK

Great hotel

Posted Jun 2, 2014
Pros: Area and the staff
Cons: N/a
Location: Lots places to eat and in inetresting area. Lake close by which interesting area
Lovely courtyard hotel in hutong area Helpful staff. Great setting - close to lake with subway a 10 minute walk away. Shadow puppet show good. Best place to stay
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by newtravellers from Belfast, N Ireland

I found the hotel to be better than I expected.

Posted May 22, 2014
I am usually quite skeptical about reviews and wonder about their truth. In this case they were correct in their praise. I am a fussy person but found the hotel lovely, modern and clean and the staff were as helpful as they could possibly be.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by silvia from miami, USA

Hutong area...

Posted May 13, 2014
Pros: The staff speak English, they are very helpfully, the breakfast is included and is a mix Chinese and continental, 3 times a week they have a poppet sh
Location: Location is good, 15 to 2o minutes by foot to the lake, there are many restaurants and lived shows, coffe and tea places and shopping for souvenirs
In the very first moment we went scared about the locals but they are so nice and polite people, from the airport to hotel is like 30 minutes, you have to be very carefully with the taxis, don't go if they don't use the taximeters because you going to finish paying the doble, the right amount is 98 - 105 yens.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by newylis

Amazing experience right among the Hutongs.

Posted May 6, 2014
Pros: Location was excellent. Staff fantastic. Room brilliant.
Cons: In room fridge.
Location: Located amongst Hutongs, Walking distance of drum and bell towers, lake, Prince Gong's mansion. Inexpensive cafes and easy subway ride to everything.
So pleased I booked this hotel. Location was fantastic and allowed us to really experience the local environment within Beijing. Very inexpensive cafes surrounding hotel, and an easy subway ride to all tourist sites. The hotel staff were fantastic and went out of their way to help us when needed. Even walking to main street and waiting with us until our tour bus picked us up early in morning. They also organised a take away breakfast when our flight left very early at the end of our stay. Really loved the room, very spacious and had an excellent bathroom. Only thing we missed was an in room fridge.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Matthew Belanger from Shanghai

Unique Hotel with Warm, Helpful Staff

Posted May 3, 2014 on Hotels.com
My partner and I enjoyed our stay here very much. The hotel generally and our room specifically were smoke-free. Our room was fairly small with a built-in bed that was firm for my taste, but not bad at all. The neighborhood is great, and the location is fairly convenient. We had some trouble getting taxis to take us directly to the hotel, I suppose because it's in the hutongs, and we usually had to settle for being dropped off at the nearest metro stop, which is a short walk or rickshaw ride away. The staff was so friendly, and helped us find the best route to some non-obvious destinations we wanted to visit. The puppet shows are a really nice touch. If there is one area where there could be improvement, it would be in the breakfasts, which are basic. All in all, a great experience though, and I would definitely stay again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Aussie girl from Australia

We were in love...

Posted Apr 26, 2014 on Hotels.com
After a long trip from shanghai and then a little bit of difficulty of finding the hotel we arrived to beautiful and friendly staff, lovely rooms and an amazing vibe. They were happy to order us cabs, let us practice our basic mandarin and even ordered us takeaway dinner because we were so tired. Was such an amazing hotel and had so much character compared to the big hotels....
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 22, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Chris from Utah

Oasis in a land of Chaos

Posted Mar 18, 2014 on Hotels.com
From beginning to end they made you feel like family. They had construction while we were there and the place was always clean. The staff were very attentive they had a dumpling class one night for guests, shadow art shows several nights a week and bicycles that you can rent. This is a hidden gem in the houtongs.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Jerry C from Los Angeles

First-Class Service for Adventurous Travelers

Posted Mar 13, 2014 on Hotels.com
If you're looking for a unique and memorable adventure in Beijing, then this is your hotel. Yes, it's difficult to find at first, but that's part of the experience. The Shichahai Shadow Art Performance Hotel is located deep within a traditional hutong neighborhood. Hutongs are quickly disappearing in China, and staying at this hotel lets you live a breathe that world before it's gone forever. The hotel's interior design takes elements from the hutong architecture and combines it with modern day amenities. It's absolutely gorgeous inside, and the attention to detail is evident. The best part, however, is the amazing staff. They truly made my stay here absolutely memorable, suggesting fantastic activities every day, assisting me with anything, from making dinner reservations to helping me recharge my Chinese SIM card. I'll definitely be going back!