Ratings based on 14 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by A verified travelerfrom PA

About as good as you can get

Posted Jul 17, 2014
Pros: I stayed twice. Room quality differs dramatically between rooms but we did get one great room.
Cons: Cleanliness and upkeep. There were broken walls (with wall dust) in one of the rooms. Showers should be totally separated, curtain doesn't count.
Location: Everything in Beijing was super accessible by taxi and subway.
If you're a college/graduate student and you're just traveling by yourself or with some friends, this is probably the kind of place you'll be okay with, especially at this price. Nothing outrageously terrible happened during my stay at this place; it was, in general, pleasant. I wasn't expecting much for a cheap hotel which is decently connected to the main attractions in Beijing, so I was quite surprised by the level of comfort afforded by the Soluxe. Again, you're not going to get what you would normally associate with "four stars" if you were raised in the U S of A like I was. But if you remember to bring your shower shoes and your own toiletries you can get the hotel selection out of the way and just go back to planning the rest of your trip.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hope to stay elsewhere

Posted Apr 26, 2014
Smoke from another room poured into mine. Hard beds. Hope to stay somewhere else next time even if this location is good.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Frafrom italy

Traditional hotel in a good position

Posted Apr 1, 2014
Good value for money. Very close to metro station, drum tower and hutong. The room need some maintainance.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Belmont Heights, Texas, USA

Not sure if we got a good deal...

Posted Oct 23, 2013
Pros: old style architecture and courtyard areas
Cons: new beds, linens, better job of cleaning the bathroom
Location: close to subway stop. close to bell and drum towers. next to second ring road for easy access via taxi
This hotel was in a pretty rugged neighborhood. Not dangerous, just sort of on the raggedy edge of dangerous. The buildings themselves were cool and in decent shape, dating from the 1400s if you believe the plaques on them. The beds were like 4x8 sheets of plywood. We had to get extra blankets and comforters and create a decent cushion on top of the beds. The towels, while clean, bordered on threadbare. We were looking for something with a local flavor rather than going with to a Hyatt or Westin. We got it. Be careful what you wish for. Would not stay there again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

great hotel for vacation

Posted Jun 8, 2013
This hotel turned out to be a nice surprise! It's very close to the subway station (about 1 minute walk), which makes our travel to every destination super convenient and easy! It's located in the old part of Beijing where there are a lot of traditional looking houses, the hotel itself is located in the house of an ancient official from more than 200 years ago, the house is very well maintained, has a beautiful garden, is very quiet and clean, looks as nice as all the pictures on Expedia's web site. The price is very reasonable too. We especially were impressed by all the friendly and knowledgable staff. Highly recommend this hotel to any one visiting Beijing!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Chris S.from Melbourne, Aust.

Some boxes ticked, but not all......

Posted Apr 3, 2013 on Hotels.com
Chose the hotel for it's style and location, near a metro station and in a hutong. Yes the map is wrong ( take note Hotels.com ), but once found is convenient to lots of street food and cafes. Note, that these are not open early,so you'll need to suffer the hotel stodge - high on carbs, but very low on greens, meats and imagination. My major problem was in booking in when they wanted to put me in the most miserable, dank, windowless room in the joint. They seemed to have issues with booking from Hotels.com ( lost or too much commission, they weren't saying...) so I had a slight disagreement with them. Given it was about 20% full they could have upgraded me. This is not the 1st time this has happened in China. The fools then tried to sell me local tour packages the next day - not likely sunshine! NOTE TO HOTEL MANAGEMENT clients who book on-line are very savvy and CHOOSE your hotel, so treat us with a bit more respect. Yes, the rooms were clean, and cleaned every day. And yes, if I paid more for a Courtyard room, I might have had a happier experience.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 13, 2013 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Paulfrom Chongqing, China

Good location & value for the money

Posted May 1, 2012
Pros: Just around the corner from subway stop and several good places to eat
Cons: Plumbing
Location: Perfect
Problems with plumbing. Shower drain is a hole in the floor, which would be just fine as shower worked fantastic, but it would drain so slowly everything flooded.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Margaret Wood

Lovely courtyard hotel, very traditional.

Posted Apr 23, 2012 on Hotels.com
Had a great time at the Soluxe. Surrounding area a bit iffy but hotel lovely. Quiet at night and very comfortable room. No wi-fi. Laundry service reasonable and prompt. Would stay there again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 8, 2011 on Hotels.com