Ratings based on 53 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.1 out of 5
79% of guests recommend
2.8 Room cleanliness
3.2 Service & staff
2.8 Room comfort
2.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by mark from uk

great location

Posted Jan 4, 2014 on Hotels.com
Hotel was little hard to find. Room was an internal one as most are. Cleanliness was just ok bed was hard as a rock room was cold but the location is great for the sites and a short visit. Over all cheap and cheerful
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Beachcat from Houston

GREAT LOCATION! TRUSTWORTHY STAFF!

Posted Dec 2, 2013
Pros: The location of this hotel was it's strong point in my opinion.
I found this hotel to be great for getting to so many places of interest and moving around the city on my own. Just out the front door of the hotel are great shots of old China, places to eat, and places to shop. The hotel is very inexpensive so I could spend my money on more important things. The rooms are unique and interesting with western style toilets and bathtubs. The staff knew basic english and were trustworthy. I felt safe there. Food, Massage, a photo store, and a convenience store were only a door or so away.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Troy from USA

Convenient tourist hotel

Posted Oct 21, 2013 on Hotels.com
This hotel isn't fancy, but it gets the job done. Unlike previous reviews, we had no problems with the staff. They were all incredibly helpful, even with some of our visa and passport discrepancies that usually confuse hotel staff in China. The beds are hard, but nothing new there if you've ever stayed in any hotel (or even apartment) in China. The rooms were clean, if a little old in some areas (our bathtub leaked a bit). That was all made up for by the location. It's one block from the Forbidden City and Tiananmen Square. The neighborhood is also fun to walk around. Very close to Wangfujing Night Market (delicious). Our taxi driver had some difficulty finding the hotel (the lobby is behind a camera shop). The driver easily found the street, but he had to call the hotel to get directions from there. If you can get to the street just get out a block after the Forbidden City and look for a small hotel lobby behind a camera shop and tour booking stand. If you make it to the man trying to sell his paintings out of a store front, you've gone too far!
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 18, 2013 on Hotels.com
2 out of 5
Recommended
by k k

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 16, 2013 on Hotels.com
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Just Ok

Posted Oct 14, 2013
Pros: The location, and design.
Cons: Cleanliness
Great location...but not very near to the metro. The hotel has great potential but it was dirty, and as two students we have low standards when it comes to cleanliness. The staff was just kind of there... not much to say about them. They were not warm or cold.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Nigel from Singapore

budget hotel not so near to Tiananmen

Posted Oct 9, 2013
The hotel is about 1km from Tiananmen. To the local, it is very near to the hotel as long as the walking distance took less than 15min. The map provided by Expedia deviate from the actual site. The room is ok for a place to sleep only.
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by Amy from Sydney

Dirty

Posted Sep 28, 2013 on Hotels.com
Hotel is very dirty, even though hotel is cheap, but the price paid should be sufficient for the hotel to provide adequate maintanence, however it was not! There was a spider in the toilet and the toothbrush provided by the hotel kept on having the brush coming off in my mouth as I was using it for the first time!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Ben from Birmingham, UK

Good Budget Hotel

Posted Sep 25, 2013
At a snippet of the price of its competitors, this small hotel is a good place to base yourself as a tourist in Beijing. You can walk to Tian'anmen Square easily from the hotel and there are plenty of amenities around the hotel, including a 24 hour mini market just a few doors down.
1 out of 5
by Eng from Seattle, WA. USA

It is the worst hotel I have ever been in my life.

Posted Sep 24, 2013
Pros: NONE
Cons: There is no hope in this hotel. Everything has to be improved, including the customer services and the manager attitude towards the customers.
Location: Forbidden City
My entire family of 4 stayed in Tangyue Hotel Beijing for 4 nights. The manager Mr. Shi lied to us about the tours and prices, the stuff are not very helpful and always in a mood and angry to everyone. The room is dark, dirty, sheet, pillow cases are dirty, both mattress of the 2 rooms are uncomfortable and dirty, floor dirty, windows dirty, bathroom dirty, smell very bad, noisy, and absolutely degrading ambient and place. The manager and the tour guide were misleading us with the wrong information and always rip us off with the prices of the tour. We are very unhappy and disappointed as I told the Manager Mr. Shi face to face what we all felt about the hotel, room, and customer service. We said to him that we never ever advertise his hotel in United States when we come back to our home. In fact is not 3 stars, it is ZERO star. My husband and I travel around the world for 38 years of our life time and my children has been travelling for 25 years and we have not seen a hotel and customer services so bad as this one (Tangyue Hotel Beijing). In fact, expedia.com should not even ever listed in the internet and listed as 3 stars for customers. For sure we will never ever come back to this horrible and terrible hotel. What a terrible customer services and place we ever experienced in our life and we hope NO ONE will experience a nightmare of the terrible hotel and customer services of the liar manager, tour guide, and staff.