Ratings based on 30 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from tn

Nice clean hotel worth the money

Posted Sep 25, 2014
Nice Clean and friendly staff we had a good time no complaints
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Port Adelaide, S Aust.

Close to Forbidden City,etc, and old part of town.

Posted Aug 24, 2014
Pros: As stated, position was very convenient for view and strolling about. Staff pleasant & helpful, it was small and probably so friendly because of this.
Cons: I should mention, there is no lift, but I accepted this despite a knee problem. A rearrangement of bed to allow access from one or both sides.
Location: Again, location is right by palace museum of Forbidden City and near Tiananem Square. Cheap, small restaurants are nearby as is night street market.
Transfer driver had trouble finding it at night. The view from rooftop was excellent, even though only 5 fls up; could see to Forbidden city roofs. Breakfast choice was good but we ate out in nearby lanes for other meals. Again, this hotel had only mini bar, not refrigerator but it was on its back so it kept colder; ice was delivered within few minutes of asking for it. Staff were very helpful (and knowledgeable) and arranged trip to Wall in a different part from usual spot we were going when we joined our tour group at another hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boulder CO

Posted Jul 11, 2014
Pros: Location, roof deck, and amenities were excellent!
Terrific hotel. Great location, helpful staff, nice amenities, outstanding roof deck bar/restaurant. The only issue is that we had a hard time locating the hotel. Our taxi driver couldn't find it, and we had to ask a number of people about it before we located it. Print out driving directions (in English and in Mandarin) before you go to be on the safe side.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 25, 2014 on Hotels.com
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by semidutch from New York

A mixed bag

Posted Jun 13, 2014 on Hotels.com
The location is the strongest asset of this four story hotel without an elevator. The restaurant on the fourth floor is mediocre and the service is amateurish, but the view from the roof terrace is terrific.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Tattoo Lou from NY

comfortable

Posted Jun 7, 2014 on Hotels.com
Nice comfortable place... cool rooms and little restaurant. Just the off beat location is very odd..... and taxis have trouble finding it.... but I love it. Felt like home.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Recommended place to stay.

Posted May 31, 2014
Pros: Was very clean and comfy with great staff.
Cons: Evening meal menu.....We did not eat in the restaurant as it didn't really cater for westerners.
Location: Forbidden city. All main tourist attractions were close by or within easy commuting distance. Recommend metered taxis for travel wherever you go..
Great location as right next to everything. . English was very limited but the staff were always still friendly and helpful and went out of their way to assist.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Wayne from North Carolina, United States

Unique Hotel, Great Location, Wonderful Experience

Posted May 29, 2014 on Hotels.com
The Emperor is an older and very unique hotel. It has tons of character and is extremely clean. We loved being in a neighborhood and exploring the local shops. The rooms themselves are unique in design but that made the experience even more enjoyable. The rooftop deck and restaurant was a welcome respite from sightseeing.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by A verified traveler

Great Location - Great Hotel!

Posted May 29, 2014 on Hotels.com
The Emperor was a perfect place to stay in Beijing. The location was great - right next to the Forbidden City, and in a neighborhood a bit off the beaten path. The hotel itself was quite unique. The rooms are quite modern - decorated in an art deco style - and very comfortable and clean. The views weren't anything great, but I had an end room that was very light, with plenty of windows. One neat twist is that there are no room numbers - the rooms are all named after Chinese Emperors! The staff was very accommodating and responsive, and even brought cookies every night. We ate several meals in the roof top restaurant - the food was quite good and the views stunning - got some great sunset pics of the Forbidden City. The location proved to be a great starting point for exploring the city (and what a great city it is!) and for seeing some of the major sights. One quick caution - don't be alarmed by the exterior of the hotel - it's pretty non descript - once you get inside, though, you're in for treat! I'd stay here again anytime!
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Ross from New Zealand

Great location

Posted May 23, 2014 on Hotels.com
Very helpful staff, handy location, funky furnishing, but in need of a little renovation in parts. Good breakfast and free minibar was a nice touch.