Ratings based on 20 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.2 out of 5
75% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.4 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by Xavier from Hong Kong

Great Name, Old and in serious need of renovation

Posted Apr 30, 2014
Pros: Not much. Only that I could be at the Village in Sanlitun, shopping or eating with a 5 min cab ride.
Cons: Everything, Hotel exterior, especially pool or fountain, landscaping was abandoned some year ago. Hotel interior, TOTAL RENOVATION NEEDED.
Location: The Village (Sanlitun) for shopping and eating, drinking at night. Yashow Market - for all the knock offs you could fit in your knock off suitcase.
The hotel is conveniently located, even walking (20 min)/taxi/rickshaw distance from Sanlintun Restaurant and Bar area, the Village and Chaoyang Park, however, the immediate "walking around" surroundings of the hotel offer nothing interesting to see, do or eat. The best part of the hotel is the name "Great Wall Sheraton" and the fa├žade close to the street (not the building itself) that looks like the Great Wall, everything looks very old and in need of serious renovation, this hotel must have been a beauty in its hey day, now it looks like it got stuck in time. The carpets are worn out and look dirty, the bathrooms old, the furniture really old, the lighting really bad, even the TV was the old tube type model, I haven't seen one of those in years. The hotel feels and looks as "nostalgic" as the people working there. The front desk staff are not courteous and the breakfast staff the same, it's just a job! They don't offer anything, you have to ask for everything, coffee, spoons or get them yourself. The breakfast is good, with lots of choice, but way overpriced. They also charge for wireless internet, unless you are in the lobby, which is why the lobby is always busy with people on their devices.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 9, 2014 on Hotels.com
Tired hotel needs a bit of a face lift
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Acceptable but not amazing

Posted Dec 9, 2013 on Hotels.com
This hotel is quite nice, but comparing to other Sheraton's lacks organization and excellence training. Some staff speak English - most know just a few 'tourist' or 'business' words. Keep your dictionary handy if you do not speak Mandarin. A bit dated - and pricey. Breakfast buffet for Elite is quite limited. My room was nice- but ill-conceived layout 3 doors in the bathroom - all conflicting with each other - had to get into the bathtub to turn the taps on.... etc. I would stay again because of the brand.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Trond

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 18, 2013 on Hotels.com
2 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Hotel is old and outdated

Posted Aug 7, 2013 on Hotels.com
This hotel is very old. It smells and the rooms are small, cramped and dirty carpet. Not up to Sheraton standards in my opinion. I also noted that the staff are less than friendly and do not seem to want to go out of their way to please a guest in any way. The wifi is terrible and you have to pay. The bathroom is very small and not up to newer hotels. Will not stay here again unless it is significantly less costly in the future. Cannot even recall last time I saw an old school tube television in a "luxury" hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Lori from Oklahom

nice place and location

Posted Jul 28, 2013 on Hotels.com
Clean, nice room, fairly close to stores, Starbucks, etc.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Ron from South Korea

Needs a Room Renovation Soon !!

Posted Jul 9, 2013
Pros: Staff was very friendly. Breakfast Buffet is Great
Cons: Rooms and furniture have to be renovated. TV is over 20 years old.
Location: Great location. Many restaurants in the area
I have been staying at this Hotel for years during Business trips to Beijing. I used to be very impressed by the employees and the condition of the Hotel. But today the Hotel really looks its age. The rooms definitely need to be renovated. They look very old. The TV must be at least 20 years old. But the staff is still very friendly. The Breakfast buffet is still the best in Beijing. Check In is still very, very slow. I will never understand why. But I still recommend this Hotel !
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by john

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 29, 2013 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Steve from Qingdao, Shandong, China

Don't let check in turn you off.

Posted Mar 10, 2013
Pros: Good work out room.
Cons: Check in.
Location: Excellent location near subways and walking distance from Sanlitun and the Embassy District.
Service is good except for check in. Don't let the check in experience sour you on the rest of the hotel.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

A Decent place to stay

Posted Nov 29, 2011
The hotel seems a bit old. There is no wifi access in the room. Connecting to the internet (wired) costs 85 yuan for 24 hours or 50 yuan for 12 hours, this sounds ridiculous, what kind of a modern age hotel doesn't offer free wifi? The TVs are old, they use these old CRTs, not even a decent LCD. The breakfast however, is EXCELLENT. They have a mixture of Chinese dim sum and western selections like bacon, eggs, salads, etc... The service was also great, the staff there were polite and very helpful. The bed is very comfy and I love the toiletries! This place just need to modernize a bit in term of the geeky stuff (TV and internet), everything else is GREAT! Yang