Ratings based on 38 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sacramento, CA

Convenient Location

Posted Aug 14, 2014
Location: Tienanmen Square, Forbidden City. Close to subway Line 1 which leads to any part of the city.
Walking distance to Tienanmen Square, Forbidden City.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by nike from fresno, ca

nice location

Posted Dec 11, 2013 on Hotels.com
Love this hotel. Service was on . Will stay again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Jessie from UK

Great location

Posted Jul 12, 2013 on Hotels.com
Only 5 mins walk from the WangFuJing station but it would be better if the booking gives you the hotel name in Chinese because it took us 45 mins and asked over 10 locals and no one knows where the hotel is. Also, please be careful with lots of SCAMMING nearby the hotel on Nan Chi zi street, be careful!!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Hotel is a bit worn down, but ....

Posted Apr 27, 2013 on Hotels.com
Hotel does have some miles on it, but the staff was super helpful and the location is incredibly good for the price.
1 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Choke, Cough, Bricks! Avoid this hotel

Posted Dec 10, 2012 on Hotels.com
The hotel value seemed good when booking and the pictures were nice. HOwever upon checking in the hotel was not clean. Even when floors were marked non-smoking people were lighting up like it was the 1950's....Im a non-smoker and by the time I checked out I was up to 2 packs a day in second hand smoke! The rooms wreaked and the linens were not changed. Our items were ruflled through in the room during cleaning. None of the staff spoke any english, not even rudimentary, so you couldnt get proper service or ask for changes. Once when requesting towels we got TOAST! Dont be fooled by this hotels rating it is not a WESTERN 3 star! The mattresses were not... they were box springs! By the time we left our backs needed overhauls. The windows would not close and there was an inch gap between the frame of the window and the window seal so there was always noise and a cold breeze coming in the room!
3 out of 5
Recommended
by Bellea

Good location! Thats about it!

Posted Nov 23, 2012 on Hotels.com
Carpet was dirty, non smoking room.floor became a smoking room as guests were allowed to smoke and not follow any rules! Reception staff was a hit and miss, you get some nice helpful ones and some who cannot be bothered at all. The only plus is the location!
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

The North Garden Hotel

Posted Nov 22, 2012 on Hotels.com
When I walked in to the hotel, I didn't felt welcomed at all. From the online booking and after consulting with the Hotel.com, I was told that i have to inform the hotel upon my check in that I would require a king size bed but instead when i did i was told no its twin sharing and i am not allowed to change what more request for breakfast. That was one. The second in between i was accused for taking one of their face towel. The face towel was left in the bath tub together with the other towel requesting the room service to have it changed. She must have collected it together without noticing and said I have to pay for the stinky face towel. I told her to recheck her trolley and it was there and she apologized. Upon check out, while waiting for my deposit, i was told that I had consume 'one sip' their chinese local mineral water and have to pay for it. I got really angry and demanded to see their manager. I have been getting my mineral water from the supermarket and if i wanted to why would i only take one sip. Its ridiculous. I am never going back to that hotel again in my next trip to Beijing. I dont recommend anyone to go to the hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Shopping
by Kimmie

Excellent Location, Good Price

Posted Oct 22, 2012 on Hotels.com
I have stayed at the North Garden Hotel several times in the past. I choose this hotel because of it's location and price. Other hotels in this area are about double or triple the price. My only gripe with this hotel is that it is in dire need of a renovation. The carpets are worn and stained and needs to be replaced or at least use of a good spot remover and deep steam cleaning. Also the bathroom definitely needs a total renovation. There are grout stains all over the shower and around the toilet. The shower curtains are old and desperately needs to be replaced. It's a good thing that I don't wear my glasses when entering the bathroom so I don't have to see clearly all the stains etc. Other than the need for a renovation, it's a great centrally located hotel. It's right off the Wangfujing, behind the large Wangfujing Bookstore. It's close to a bunch of shops and restaurants. It's a few minutes walk to the Oriental Plaza Mall with great shopping and a great food court downstairs. I love the Xiabo Xiabo Hotpot restaurants in the area. There are three to four of them in close proximaty to the hotel. The Wangfujing metro stop is in the Mall and is very simple and cheap to use. It's a leisurely walk to Tiananmen Square and Forbidden City or one metro stop away. I do plan to stay at this hotel again next year but I do hope and pray that they see this review and do some needed renovations.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Meow Meow from San Francisco, CA, USA

Decent Hotel Close to Everything

Posted Oct 9, 2012
Pros: Location - at the heart of the the city
Cons: Hotel room lacks repairs - bath tub is leaking water
Location: Situated at the center of the city - close to shopping and major attractions
It is a decent hotel in great location. The hotel room, especially the bathroom need major overhaul. The bath tub is leaking water - the hotel did fix the leak after few nights we were there. I was able to pickup free Wi-Fi signal in the hotel room even though Wi-Fi is only available in the hotel lobby. Our room is facing the courtyard resturant, may be this is the reason why. Overall, if you don't mind a little run down room, this is a good hotel to stay in Beijing.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by Colin J

Centrally located for sights and shopping

Posted Sep 25, 2012 on Hotels.com
The hotel is very well positioned, being just off the main Beijing shopping street and less than 5 minutes to the subway station, 20 mins walk from Tiananmen Square and the Forbidden City. Like previous commenters I have to say that the hotel needs sprucing up a bit, especially the carpets which were all grubby. The hotel staff tried being helpful, but they did not have much knowledge of english, so were limited. Finally I used the business centre to check in online for my flight back. The system is archaically slow, and could not print the boarding card or any other pdf file