Ratings based on 184 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Jim from Guildford, England

BRILLIANT

Posted Mar 3, 2014
Pros: Service, helpful staff, cleanliness, comfort and superb restaurant. The lunch menu at £12.50 was quite simply stunningly good value!
Cons: The pool was a bit small.
Location: Ideally located for a walk to T Square and easy access to Beijing's excellent tube network. Good range of restaurants nearby.
I cannot fault this hotel. Purely on the grounds of service, cleanliness and facilities it is very good. In terms of value for money it is better than excellent.
2 out of 5
by K from Boston

disapointing

Posted Jan 2, 2014
Pros: At one time this was likely a fine hotel but it has not kept up with the time and now there are much better hotels in similar price range, location.
Cons: rooms need to be updated and the spa enlarged if no large enough for hotel guests to use.
Location: central beijing near forbidden city and tiananmen view from hotel are poor other hotels in the same area have much nicer views.
The room was small and the decor was uninspiring. The spa's facilities are only for those who have purchased a treatment.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by george from australia

Close to forbidden city.

Posted Dec 29, 2013
Pros: all
Cons: tours could be cheaper
Location: forbidden city and tiannemen square walking distance
hotel and staff were excellent even with the language barrier. suggest have taxi destinations written in chinese as operators rarely speak any english. do not use non government taxis[mini buses] from airports as they are typically six times the cost.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Hussein

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 8, 2013
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by holly

Perfect in everyway

Posted Dec 5, 2013
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by CE Matos from US

Nice place to stay.

Posted Nov 20, 2013 on Hotels.com
Very comfortable. Friendly bilingual staff. Rooms overdue for a remodeling and upgrade. Wifi is excellent. Hotel restaurant menu needs better English Translation. Location nice. About three blocks from Wangfujing Street and there is a Quanjude Duck Restaurant within two blocks behind the hospital off Wangfujing.
3 out of 5
by carlos from hong kong

Not real peninsula

Posted Nov 17, 2013
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Everything
Location: Good location
I arrived to the hotel enter midnight, there were not bellboys , only one person at the front desk with a call that take him over 20 minutes. He gave me medicre room, almost naked. No renovations no complentary fruits. Even more it was a letter of welcome addressed to other person. I realize they refocus their market to Chinese. That is not exactly the western standard. Next day I changed to the Regent at the corner For me the last experience with this "Chinese peninsula"
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Very excellent.

Posted Nov 17, 2013
Pros: The staff at this hotel are beyond excellent. Helpful, multi-lingual and very friendly. Well done.
Cons: I noticed that the area maps and the Beijing subway map placed in the room desk are out of date. Not a big deal in the age of Google Maps but still.
Stayed two nights at the Peninsula Beijing from 3-5 November while in town on a research trip. The hotel is essentially as it is advertised; very high quality accommodation.The location is very convenient -- I had no trouble getting to a subway station (and the concierge was more than happy to give me advice on the best route). Room is spacious and very comfortable. Breakfast (at Jing) had a reasonably good selection -- staff very attentive also. But I especially commend the staff at the Lobby Lounge -- excellent cocktails, friendly staff and wonderful ambience (superb harp and piano duo); well worth spending some time there.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by travels from Quebec

Good choice at a great price!

Posted Nov 8, 2013
Pros: Location, services, onsite boutiques and the food! Great breakfast selection, Best Dim Sum brunch, very good Pekin Duck. Hotel concierges are great
Cons: The room style and decor are a little 1980. Closet space is very limited. It would of been nice if the bottle of hotel champagne was complementary.
Location: Great location for shopping, walking to Tienanmen Square and to the Wangfujing street food market.
The hotel concierge and reservations were very helpful in preparing our arrival making sure our entire requests were met and the room was ready. It was our first experiences at a Peninsula hotel, after seeing the Peninsula in Hong Kong our expectations were high. The style is different a little less light and smaller but the service is up to par. Beijing is full of things to do so staying at the hotel or in the room is not much of an option but its nice to have a comfortable place to relax in the evening or between activities. Its comparable to any other 5* hotel in Asia.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by rich from boston

Good service

Posted Oct 25, 2013
We took things like having a taxi hailed to come to entrance for us for granted. Now after 10 days in China, we consider it a luxury Breakfast is good. Hotel is older so rooms are small but there was a big renovation a few years ago so everything is very nice Go to molly malones just down the street, much better than hotel's bar. Du Dong duck restaurant also walking distance