Ratings based on 70 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.5 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
3.1 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Shanghai, China

Travelers Beware! Do not stay here!

Posted May 18, 2015
Pros: Absolutely nothing.
Cons: This should never be a recommended hotel on Expedia. The pictures are out dated and the amenities are incorrect.
Location: The location of this hotel is incorrect from the map above. It is on a back alley that is not friendly to tourists.
Easily the worst hotel I have ever stayed at in my life and throughout my months of being in China. They advertise breakfast and free wifi? They have neither of these things. coffee maker? none. Free toiletries in the "luxury honeymoon suite"? More like half used bottles of shampoo and pellets of soap. The towels were mismatched and ragged with other hotel's embroidered logos on them! I arrived to a hotel in disarray and was FILTHY. Does not look anything like the advertised pictures. My room had no windows in it (unless you count the giant hole in the bathroom ceiling that was open to the outdoors). There were used tissues on the desk and trash in the bins in the room. The bathroom was disgusting and the shower was covered in mold (did I mention NO shower drain?). Under no circumstances would i recommend this to any traveler, no matter how "rugged" or "basic" your travel hotel requirements are. It became very clear during my stay that this in fact a family home that simply has a few rooms for rent. I was the only guest during my stay (NOW i know why!). This hotel is located on a back alley (not where the above map suggests the location is) and is not in a tourist friendly place. I did not feel safe taking my shoes off in the hotel room due to the bathroom. The sink faucet was broken and required you to pry the handle to turn on the sink. I wish there was a way for me to upload pictures of what this hotel REALLY looks like now.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 26, 2015 on Hotels
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by A verified traveler

汚いです

Posted Jan 6, 2015 on Hotels
立地はよいが、胡同の奥で見つけられない。中国語の話せない人はやめた方がいいです。 部屋が全く清掃されておらず、髪の毛、埃そのままです。ホテルの体をなしてないです。四合院の良さもないです。 この値段を出すのは馬鹿らしいですよ。
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Volkerfrom Ratingen

verkehrsgünstige Lage

Posted Dec 27, 2014 on Hotels
verkehrsgünstige Lage nur wenige 100 m von Tiananmen Platz und Verbotene Stadt entfernt. Achtung: die Positionsangabe in hotels.com ist nicht korrekt, der Hutong, in dem das Hotel liegt, ist in Wirklichkeit etwas weiter östlich (Denglong Ku Hutong ist in einer kleinen Seitenstraße, die östlich abgeht von der South Chizi St - South Chizi St ist jene Straße, die am Ostrand der Verbotenen Stadt entlang führt). Hotelzimmer sind angeordnet um ein verglastes, überdachtes Atrium. Nettes, zuvorkommendes, englischsprachiges Personal.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Stephenfrom Singapore

Does not fall below expectation

Posted Dec 10, 2014 on Hotels
Considering the proximity of the hotel to Tian An Men and the Forbidden City, this hotel is OK if you don't mind the somewhat spartan room.
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Renanfrom Costa Rica

No for westerners

Posted Nov 10, 2014 on Hotels
No for westerners. This would be OK for internal chinese tourists but no for us. Strong odor coming from the bath drainage, believe me you don't want to be there. The location was OK to visit Forbidden City but it was really overpriced for the quality of this hotel. I will never go back and don't recommend this "Hotel". If you have booked and read this, you must change the plan now, otherwise will be too late.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Berlin

KEIN Geheimtipp

Posted Oct 17, 2014
Pros: das Personal
Cons: neue Bäder
Location: Verbotene Stadt; Tianamenplatz; Metro; Einkaufsstraße fußläufig zu erreichen,
versteckt liegendes, ruhiges Hotel in Nähe der Verbotenen Stadt. Eingang zugestellt. Empfang war herzlich, Personal bemüht. Das eigentlich gebuchte Zimmer war mit Himmelbett und Riesenschreibtisch zugestellt, kein Tageslicht. Mini-Bad war mit Duscharmatur ausgestattet, jedoch beim Duschvorgang wurde nicht nur das Bad (WC, Waschbecken) sondern durch die verschlossene Türe auch der Fußboden des Zimmers nass. Der Waschbeckenunterschrank war schimmlig und feucht. Als wir am nächsten Morgen um ein größeres Zimmer baten, wurde uns im 2. Stockwerk ein größeres Zimmer gezeigt. Dieser Raum war relativ groß, das Bett war gemütlich, Matratze sauber, Tageslicht vorhanden, die Vorhänge defekt. Der eigentlich Schock war jedoch das Bad. Die Dusche war eine schimmlige, bereits schwarze Holzdusche mit Glastür. Lüftung des Bades war nur durch die offene Badtür möglich. Frühstück gab es keines, die Nähe zur Verbotenen Stadt und die vielen Stände und kleinen Essenstores der Umgebung ließen darüber hinweg sehen. Der eigentlich gemütliche Innenhof wurde von uns aus Zeitgründen nicht genutzt. Das Personal hat uns am Abreisetag einen Taxifahrer zum Flughafen besorgt und war auch ansonsten herzlich und freundlich. Insgesamt können wir diese Unterkunft nicht weiter empfehlen.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Berlin

Kleines Hotel direkt an der verbotenen Stadt

Posted Sep 29, 2014
Ein kleines, aber sehr nettes Hotel direkt an der verbotenen Stadt. Sehr ruhige Lage, allerdings hat selbst der Taxifahrer das Hotel anfangs nicht gefunden. Die Einrichtung ist insgesamt schon etwas in die Jahre gekommen, hat aber sehr viel Charme und das Hotel-Team war sehr um eine gute Versorgung bemüht. Wer gerne über 1-2 Schwächen (Klo-Spülung funktionierte zwischenzeitlich nicht) hinweg sieht, erhält hier ein gutes Preis-Leistungsverhältnis.
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by SBfrom Toronto, ON

Horrible Experience

Posted Sep 28, 2014 on Hotels
This hotel was not at all what I had expected; it was very different from what I saw in the pictures. For one, the entrance was in a dark, back alley and there was junk piled up in front of the hotel. My room was dirty (e.g. giant wad of hair in the bathroom, dirty plate and cups), and in need of maintenance (e.g. 12-in hole in the ceiling, 36-in by 12-in water damage spot on the ceiling, about six holes in the shower, 6-in by 3-in of plaster peeled off wall). Additionally, the room had no security and little privacy (i.e. glass wall covered by an ill-fitting curtain, unable to fully lock the door from inside) and the area just outside my room was being used for storage. I spent only 2-3 hours at the hotel, because Immediately upon arrival, I called hotels.com for a refund and to find me a new hotel. When I was leaving, the hotel informed me that they would not refund me for two nights, because that was their policy. Due to the shabby state of the hotel, however, I received a full refund from hotels.com. The location was excellent, but I do not recommend staying at this hotel.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by Larryfrom Diamond Bar, CA

Cheap but not clean

Posted Sep 25, 2014 on Hotels
It is a nice hotel, too bad they are not doing the regular maintenance work. Drapery are falling down, tearing apart. The restroom is not very clean, but for the price we paid should be considered Okay. The location is super, very close to Tiananmen, one of the main attraction in Beijing. There is no breakfast, but you can get to try local eatery within the walking distance.