Ratings based on 8 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2.2 out of 5
50% of guests recommend
2.2 Room cleanliness
2.6 Service & staff
2.5 Room comfort
2.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
1 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 22, 2013 on Hotels.com
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Jacob from Shanghai

Cheap place to stay

Posted Oct 7, 2013 on Hotels.com
You get what you pay for. It is far from the center of town and is not terribly nice, but it is cheap. So no complaints.
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Chris from Shanghai

Inattentive staff and uncleaned accommodations

Posted Jun 1, 2013 on Hotels.com
I found my bathroom clearly uncleaned when I checked in; when I tried to call the front desk for service, the room phone did not work, so I had to use my cell phone. The overnight staff responded sarcastically to my call and did not offer housekeeping service or an alternative room. I don't recommend the Victory Star Inn.
2 out of 5
by Brother Wei from NY

Not an ideal hotel

Posted Jan 20, 2013
Pros: The reception keeps a small dog, though it barks in night. We love pet dogs, but are not sure if hotel reception should keep dogs.
Cons: Location is not convenient.
Location: Out of subway, turn left, walk to intersection, turn left, walk under bridge, see red building, turn left, about 40 minutes walk with wild traffic.
No sound proof between rooms. Strong smoker's smell in room with cigarerret tray. No kettle for boiling water. Bath soap is just chewing gum thin. No dinning or breakfast service. Taxi driver does not know the exact location. Difficult to get a taxi. Private tricylces are charging more and may be risky in night ride. Hotel is situated in rurual quarters with lots of filth and dirt. No clear direction sign to hotel from exit of Beijing Subway. Walking may need clear direction map.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Barbara

Two nights in Beijing

Posted Dec 22, 2012 on Hotels.com
We were very satisfied with ecerything, the receptionist did not speak english very good, but she tries everything possible to understand us and help us (online translater and so on). The only thing is, it is not so good to find, but the location was good, 5-10 walk minutes away was a very huge shopping mall with good western food!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

for one night you will manage

Posted Aug 10, 2012
If you want internet, don't depend on this place. If you want clean carpet, I suggest to them rather than mop the tile hallways twice in the AM, mop it once, and vacuum the yucchy ugly carpet once Located in a remote location, very hard to find. Be sure you have explicit instructions IN CHINESE how to get there, to hand to a taxi driver, or you will never find it. Just incase, it is just behind a large mall including Walmart, but the hotel is behind a courtyard with no English sign in front along the street. They would do good by placing one there. It will do in a pinch for one night.
1 out of 5
by George from Egypt

Nightmare

Posted May 12, 2012
Pros: nothing
Cons: the hotel
Location: Very far from anything
The pictures of the hotel on the website made me book in it but the reality was a nightmare. The place is very far from main parts of beijing. Even the nearest subway station you need to take a taxi to go to it. Surrounding the hotel, some repair shops of car The rooms are so small, bad looking. you can book with aground this price in better places. Don't book in it.
3 out of 5
by Charles from Changchun, Jilin, China

Hard to find

Posted Feb 13, 2012
If you do not speak Chinese, do not go to this "motel." It is a simple Chinese motel. It is very far from the major Beijing tourist attractions (about a 15 minute walk to the Shangdi subway stop on line 13). If you need a very cheap place to stay near the major universities in Beijing...then this place is fine. It is a five minute walk to a brand new mall with a Wal-Mart, Starbucks, Papa Johns, and KFC. Overall, my experience at the Victory Star Inn was fine. The photos online are deceptive.