Ratings based on 40 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Great room with wonderful amenities

Posted Nov 17, 2013 on Hotels.com
The hotel is located in a decent location, close to couple of restaurants among other things. The hotel is slightly old but is decently well maintained. The room was great, the toiletries provided were very thoughtful and good. Only issue we had was that it was a duplex room. So - either carry the luggage upstairs - which is painful if you have lot of luggage; or run up & down to get your stuff. The front desk staff didn't speak English and was a bit painful because of that -. but our guides saved our days. I would gladly give 5 stars if not for the couple of inconveniences.
4 out of 5
by jose from Colombia

Average hotel

Posted Nov 4, 2013
Cons: Cleaness, staff language skills.
Location: Average location, few minutes by taxi to tourist spots.
The staff only speak chinese, so good luck if you dont. The room was ok, not so clean.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 13, 2013 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Rasa from Vilnius, Lithuania

Good hotel in good location

Posted Aug 29, 2013
Pros: Location, rooms
Cons: Staff does not speak understandable English
Easy to reach from airport, not far from Forbidden City and othe rplaces worth to visit, good large rooms, spa, outdoor bar, quite
2 out of 5
by Mike from Quebec, Canada

Not worth it!

Posted May 30, 2013
This hotel may have been a four star... but several years ago!! Now, the room are not very clean, the bed is horrible, the personnel service is soso and it's location is not convenience! It's far away from the metro and from all attraction and due to its far location it's the last one to be served by the travel agency for city or great wall trip!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Alan from Vancouver, BC

Nice quiet hotel.

Posted May 27, 2013 on Hotels.com
Checking in was a little rough as there were several big groups from India ahead of me... Everyone seemed a little frazzled. The clerk who checked me in did not speak much English but enough to get through the process with no issues. She was a little surprised at the rate that I got, she said "How you get such a good price?" And had to go consult with someone else to make sure it was legit (I am guessing). The room was quite nice and the visible areas were clean, however in the corners and some semi hidden areas there was sign of housekeeping neglect. This is pretty typical of any business in Beijing it seems. It was also very quiet and very pleasant. Checkout was much easier as the clerk spoke perfect English. Some things to note, even though it says that there is no wireless Internet in the rooms, there was. There was an access point right next to the tv. Also, there was a minibar that had 2 bottles of water, 1 can of coke and 1 can of sprite... There was no indication that these were free or not but it turned out it is free and replenished everyday.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lovely Hotel

Posted May 20, 2013
The hotel is lovely and is built on the grounds of an old temple, which has a lot of history. The staff are really nice, friendly and helpful. There is a bit of a language barrier as many of the staff don't speak very good English, but they do try and are all lovely. The room was very clean and we had a good view overlooking the courtyard and old buildings. Also the free mini bar is filled every time you have your room cleaned...2 bottles of water and a can of coke & a can of sprite. Taxi drivers do find it a little bit difficult to find, but there are always taxi's passing by the hotel on the main road. The hotel is a 20 minute walk to the Beijing Railway Station / underground and a 20 minute walk from the Temple of Heaven / The Pearl Market. Nice restaurants very close to the hotel as well as a convenience store and an ATM close by. If we decide to go back to Beijing we would definitely stay at the XiZhao Temple Hotel again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Chris from Shanghai

great hotel that looks like a temple

Posted Apr 3, 2013
Pros: The look of it
Cons: The shower water on the floor
Location: 10 minute cab ride to Beijing South Railway and Forbidden city, Tian'anmen Square
The hotel seems like it IS the temple. Walking into it is beautiful and the lobby is downstairs. Walking into the room it is very simple and nice, good upkeep. My room smelled of smoke though and the bed was very firm. The shower water would hit the ledge of the tub and then filter to the drain on the floor so be careful getting out of the shower. The breakfast was very good and the staff was very helpful trying to get us a tour or a cab. Some staff's english was limited but there was always someone there that could speak some english. I would stay there again as I am not a very picky traveler.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by D Smith

Very pleased

Posted Mar 1, 2013 on Hotels.com
Hotel was clean, great location. I was pleased.
3 out of 5
by Graham from Brighton UK

Adequate but no more than that

Posted Dec 4, 2012
Pros: Quiet location in grounds of old temple
Cons: Breakfast choice, slow WiFi, stale atmosphere in room
Location: Within the grounds of Xizhao Temple, quite close to Temple of Heaven and an interesting 60 minute stroll away from Beijing Central Railway station
Arriving late at night the taxi driver leaves you at a non-descript entrance and the only staff available at the door didn't realise that the 2 large suitcases and 2 pieces of hand-baggage were a little difficult to drag across the cobbled courtyard on your own. At least he held the door open, then went back to fiddling on his phone. Checking in was OK and the room was a decent size but smelled musty. Outside temperature was cold, but so was the internal temperature and the only heating is a warm air convector. Wifi in the room was free but useless for anything but basic email so forget Skype or web-browsing, and the service is intermittent at best. Location is a brisk 20 minute walk from the nearest Metro station though taxis are cheap and the place is well-signposted. Breakfast is poor: chinese selection is as you would expect but get there after 09:30am and there is nothing left, no coffee, just scraps of food and bits of fruit. The same slices of cold meats were brought out and left untouched on each of the 3 mornings I was there. For the central location you shouldn't complain about the price, but you don't get any luxury or amenity in this place, and a business person would require more than what this has to offer.