Ratings based on 10 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2.8 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
3.3 Room cleanliness
2.7 Service & staff
2.9 Room comfort
2.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Clean close to subway

Posted Jul 6, 2014
Comfortable room. All facilities but stay in hotel not villas. Not many people at hotel with English understanding. Limited and expensive coffee shop for refreshments.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Bad business hotel

Posted Sep 30, 2013
The Internet is slow. It's unusable. The staff are begrudgingly helpful. It's not a business hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Paul from Singapore

Impressive stay in the Main Building of the Hotel

Posted Sep 30, 2013 on Hotels.com
During our previous trips, we were allocated rooms in the Annex Building which were not good. The online booking options for the last 2 years defaulted to the Annex Building only. This year we managed to book rooms in the Main Building which is a vast difference in terms of the quality of the room and beds. Breakfast and service were good too.
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Beijing

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 27, 2013 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by jenny from beijing

good place for business

Posted Apr 3, 2013 on Hotels.com
nice
2 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Xiyuan booking through Hotels.com

Posted Oct 20, 2012 on Hotels.com
The room is not in the main building but smaller building so called "villas". The common area and room are seedy, very old with limited amenities. It does not have wi-fi and it's about 3 minutes walk from the main building. This is very disappointing. I stayed in the main building after these two nights through my own tour group and everything is significantly better. My booking through Hotels.com is a huge disappointment.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Chris

Uncomfortable stay

Posted Oct 12, 2012 on Hotels.com
I checked in early in the morning and was disappointed that I could not get hot water in the shower and that the airconditioning was not worling well. I therefore managed to only get a few hours sleep after spending the last 2 weeks in a remote part of China. Disappointing indeed!
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from London, UK

Xiyuan Hotel, near Beijing Zoo

Posted Feb 11, 2012 on Hotels.com
The hotel is very well situated for the Zoo & impressive aquarium as well as the planetarium & Paleozoological museum. The nearest Subway station, Beijing Zoo station, is just 5 minutes away & gives easy access to most of the city (Tiananmen Square & Forbidden city 40 mins, for example). But there is little else of interest to tourists within walking distance. I stayed 1 week whilst visiting friends. My room was situated in one of the three villas, a few hundred metres from the main building. It was clean & quiet. In the adjacent restaurant, little English was spoken but the staff were friendly & the food excellent. The rooftop restaurant is supposedly one of the best in the city but wasn't used by me on this visit. Breakfast in the lobby area was very good, with a huge variety of western & Chinese food available, but was very expensive to pay for separately. In general, I found the hotel comfortable and quite convenient & would stay there again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from Denver, CO

Not for everyone

Posted Dec 8, 2010
Not too bad. Some hassle at check in about two beds and bigger room. Lots of cigarette smoke and some funky odors. Tough to get a taxi to drop off at lobby. Got cards for nearby hotel and walked from there. Off the main path, not for first timers or picky travelers.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 21, 2013
Thank you for choosing stay at our Xiyuan Hotel .Economy Standard Room-Annex( No Elevator),Economy Deluxe Room-Annex(No Elevator) ,Economy Deluxe Room-Annex(No Elevator),these three type of rooms are in a completely different building from the main hotel.Those rooms are all smoking room and no elevator.Please pay attention:living in these rooms should also check in /out in the main building.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Brentwood, TN

Don't book a villa room, rooms in normal hotel are fine

Posted Jan 6, 2010
Aside from staying in a villa room which was in a completely different building from the main hotel, the experience was not that bad. Don't book a villa room, though, as they are smaller, older, smokier, and less comfortable than the normal rooms. Also, when I checked out, the staff noticed I had left a shirt in my room and called the front desk so they could stop me before I left.