Ratings based on 29 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.1 out of 5
66% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.1 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Melbourne

Great Location, Reasonable Price

Posted Jul 21, 2014
Pros: Location, location, location. Nice and efficient housekeeping staff and helpful doormen. Terrific gym next door with free access for Hotel guests.
Cons: A No Smoking policy or a more effective air conditioner to reduce the amount of second-hand smoke. Reception staff need customer service training.
Location: I LOVE Beijing and Sanlitun is about as good as it gets for a central location with so much near-by you hardly need to leave.
I have stayed in the Zhaolong once a year for the past 5 years or so. The Sanlitun location, reasonable cost and the great gym facilities next door, which are included in the price, keep me coming back. Breakfast is also great. The downside is the smoke which comes through the air-conditioner. This time the first week wasn't too bad but I noticed that as the Hotel filled up in the second week, the air quality went down substantially. As the Hotel's only shop in the Foyer is a Cigar and Cigarette shop, I can't see the air quality improving any time soon. The Staff are generally pretty good, especially the housekeeping and front door people. The Reception Desk staff rarely smile and their English is pretty suspect. They basically look unhappy most of the time so if you lower your expectations on arrival concerning a friendly welcome, things will mostly be OK.
1 out of 5
by veli from toronto

2am in the morning POLICE on the door

Posted May 7, 2014
It's horrible hotel I and my wife late check in and paid for the best room and got standart room. At 2 am in the morning while sleeping my door loud knocking, I woke up and open the door 2 police, 2 stuff and a manager on the door. First police try to talk to me in chinese then English, he ask me 10 times why I am in china and what am I doing in this hotel? Then ask me my passport and my wife's and left after looking our passports. In the morning I want to see the manager and ask what was it all about last night. It took me while to find the manager and asked him about last night and he said no idea what I was talking about he said no report written about the last night. So my advice to you all don't open the door even there is a police because they might not be who you thinking. Not safe hotel
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great stay

Posted Mar 30, 2014
Super location. Very used to westerners. This was my fourth stay here.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by TZ from San Francisco

Old hotel in a great location

Posted Dec 11, 2013 on Hotels.com
This is one of the first few 4-5 star hotels built in Beijing about 20-25 years ago. Really good locations; five minutes walk to San Li Tuan shopping dinning area; 3 minutes to subway and 3-5 minutes to various major banks. Traffic in Beijing is terrible but it is only minutes away from the subway. The hotel is old and poorly maintained. But for the prices and location, I guess I would stay here again in the future.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by GB from UK

Good convenient hotel

Posted Nov 27, 2013
Pros: Great location - convenient for airport, downtown, restaurants, markets
Cons: Reduce prices in bars and restaurants - RMB113 for one small coffee and one small capuccino!!!
Location: Next to subway station. Fantastic selection of bars and restaurants in easy walk.
Good hotel, very reasonable roomrates, expensive breakfast not included.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Gill from UK

Good accommodation. Pleasant staff

Posted Nov 26, 2013
Pros: Delighted to be given early checkin (1000 hours) at no additional cost.
Cons: Coffee in bar is outrageously expensive - try Starbucks. Breakfast good but pricey.
Location: Very convenient for subway and links to airport / downtown. Good restaurants within easy walking distance.
Handy for area we were visiting. Offered good accommodation at reasonable cost
3 out of 5
Recommended
by Carole Ann from USA

Posted Oct 28, 2013 on Hotels.com
Room was clean & comfortable. Staff was helpful, but English was not the best. Each day had to request standard room supply (Nescafe). Breakfast buffet was O.K. I had requested the executive suite, but initially they checked us into a standard king room, we had to request to be moved, which they did, were very apologetic and offered a free breakfast for the mistake. We had to keep the windows open as the air conditioning did not work, only the fan. Thankfully it was the fall and not too hot. The location was perfect for our business trip and the value for the executive suite was very good.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by RGL

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 25, 2013 on Hotels.com
3 out of 5
Recommended
by Leanne from Tianjin, china. UK citizen.

Serious flaws!!!

Posted Oct 11, 2013 on Hotels.com
This hotel has a few key flaws...the check in and check out time is ridiculous, so muany documents to check and photocopy, stamp and fill out and there's always a queue. The room have no light fittings so the room is very dark when the sun starts going down, there are 4 small lamps are they are not sufficient at all. Especially if you want to do your make up or check your outfit in the mirror etc because its so dark! Another huge flaw with the hotel is the air conditioning system, because it's autumn it appears that they've pretty much turned off the air con, the rooms are really hot and stuffy and if you open the windows Mosquitos get in and bite you all night, oh how I had restless nights, then if you tell them they say they can't adjust the thermostat back. Basically because its not summer anymore they've raised the degree of lowest temperature to 25 degrees Celsius!! Whereas in summer it should be allowed to go as low as 16 degrees c. Other than that the hotel is nice and pretty clean but for the Monet, it's definitely not worth it. Also when the cleaners came on they left all our plastic water and drinks bottles in the room, our empty Starbucks cup and bags and other food cartons!! Disgraceful....what do they think I might want to trade them in for cash like you can in Here!? Not when I'm paying that much a night to stay there, I don't think so!!!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Sleeping Hotel Staff in the lobby

Posted Aug 27, 2013
We worked in the lobby in the evening. Hotel staff were sleeping on the couches and snoring around us.