Ratings based on 70 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Family get together

Posted Sep 30, 2014
Pros: The decor in the main bar area
Cons: some of the carpets should be changed out
We took several rooms for a family get together. The staff and management did an excellent job. Rooms were spacious and clean. Food was great and lovely atmosphere in bar.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ipswich

Nice hotel in the heart of rural N Ireland

Posted Sep 30, 2014
Pros: Clean, tidy and in a lovely setting
Cons: none
Location: I was there for a wedding but I am sure as there is easy access to all areas including Belfast this would be a great hotel to stay in.
The hotel staff were friendly efficient and very helpful. One example I can give is the willingness to seek out a soya milk for breakfast where straight milk was not acceptable.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

poor

Posted Sep 24, 2014
The room alotted stincs and Desparately went to reciption for a change; shifted to a different room avarage and lighting is poor. I will never stay here again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Co DOWN

large well appointed hotel

Posted Sep 16, 2014
Pros: I know it of old so I knew what to expect and enjoyed its ambience and spacious grounds
Cons: Unfortunately like most hotels it has suffered from the depressed social life of this provence and is now ready for a makeover .
Excellent helpful staff catered for our needs and had provided all the arrangements asked for in my advanced booking-----flowers, table in restaurant etc There was a very large wedding in full swing when we arrived but this was well organised and did not interfere with non guests use of the hotel facilities-----in some respects it was entertaining!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Reasonable cost

Posted Sep 9, 2014
Hotel is impressive from outside, grounds are just lovely. Staff were very helpful and could not be faulted. Room I stayed in needed a refurbishment, was a tad worn but I have to say had a great night sleep. Hotel was very busy with a wedding and I was anticipating a lot of noise due to musice and party goers. I was suprised to say I slept uninterupted and was not aware of the party. So in a nutshell reasonably priced, a bit scruffy in the bedroom I stayed in but it was clean and tidy and I had a lovey sleep and staff were great, so if your not too fussy and want a bargain I would recommend. Food was delicious also!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from co Tyone

hotel quite central to airport and city of Belfast

Posted Jul 28, 2014
Pros: Central to most things and places.
Cons: would need to look at their dish washer.
Location: Went to Junction One. Antrim Castle & gardens very nice, lovely walks but rain came on. Nice wee cafe and a shop selling local crafts.
very disappointed with hotel, was expecting a more up to date venue. Pool was cold and no hot tub as they had a problem 2 days before we went. but most disappointing was the breakfast, plates dirty, soda bread so hard though we had a lovely meal on the Saturday night could not fault it. Think it was a bit hit and miss. grounds were nice. Staff were nice and helpful.
2 out of 5
by David from Belfast

4* Seriously?

Posted Jun 16, 2014
Pros: Gardens are nice. Overall a nice rural setting
Cons: Rooms are in serious need of updating, decor is extremely dated and bathroom fixtures and fittings, definitely need replacement.
Location: Handy to Airport and Motorway
Check in was lack lustre,disinterested staff member,very little information given,continually left me at the desk,nipping in and out of office,talking to a colleague. Entering room,immediately disappointed at how dull and tired the decor/fittings looked.A light fitting,missing it's shade,set the standard for the rest of the room.It just looked like it hadn't been touched for 20 years,with the exception of a flatscreen television and a sound-dock, both of which looked totally out of place,in such a dated room.The Kingsize bed was,as is typical in hotels,2 single beds joined,which wouldn't have been an issue,if one of the mattresses hadn't been totally worn out,leading to a large ridge in the middle of the bed and a drop of what seemed like 6 inches,between the 2 sides of the bed.The bathroom wasn't any better,with badly worn sink/bath fittings and grubby paintwork on the door,it didn't feel very clean,due to this. Made a dinner reservation on checking in,so hoped the food would make up for the initial disappointment. Informed staff member who greeted us,of our reservation and she,without explanation asked "Do you have any vouchers?"Seemed strange,given we had made the reservation through reception.Bistro was very impersonal and we were led to a table that was one step up from a school dining table,seated and handed a menu that was just an A4 sheet of paper.Limited choice and staff member didn't know details of the Special but food was ok. Lastly kettle in room didn't work.
2 out of 5
by Art from Virginia

Quaint Hotel nice county setting

Posted Jun 15, 2014
The hotel in general was acceptable. One should consider the age of the hotel for its condition. The room had an odor from old carpets, you felt the springs in the mattress. The fitness center and pool were nice. The lobby was nice. The area around the hotel was quaint. I didn't have a meal there, so I cannot comment on the food. There was a wedding going on, so it was festive all night, which kept me from a good nights sleep.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Judith from Sleaford

Character hotel

Posted May 26, 2014 on Hotels.com
Hotel and grounds full of character. A couple of problems with the bathroom, both resolved satisfactorily. Couldn't fault the restaurant, food was excellent. Location great for airport access.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 26, 2014 on Hotels.com