Ratings based on 112 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.8 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.9 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Minneapolis, MN

Beautiful gem of a hotel in Belfast

Posted Oct 9, 2014
Pros: Excellent central location, beautiful historic building.
Cons: Nothing
Location: Centrally located to all the major Belfast attractions. I might add that I was very impressed by Belfast, amazing how city has rebounded.
The hotel is largely housed in a collection of historic buildings. My bathroom was part of a Victorian bank vault and featured original tile from the 1860's. The decor is very Victorian, heavy and dark but a perfect compliment to this amazing hotel. The staff were very friendly and helpful!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from SF Bay Area

Old fashioned Service in an Elegant Hotel

Posted Oct 4, 2014
Pros: Location, elegance, staff and value.
Cons: Pancakes are very different than what Americans are used to.
Location: Close to the airport (city not international), lots of restaurants and bars close by, large shopping center and river minutes away
Very elegant grand old hotel in a great location. Less than 10GBP from Belfast City Airport. I asked for a quiet location and was given a beautiful room in the old section. I did not notice the office building across which had huge fan motors. During the day you could not hear them but at night.... Had a terrible night sleep and spoke with the front desk the next morning. They immediately identified a different room which would not be ready until early afternoon. We packed our bags, went out for the day and they moved us into our new room. It was in the Art Deco section and huge. Very bright during the day (which we like) and dead quiet at night. Breakfast was included and served in the main restaurant which reminded us of the Palace Hotel in San Francisco. The staff was always friendly and helpful. Daily turn down service also includes two bottles of water.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Liverpool

Elegant, comfortable hotel in city centre

Posted Aug 31, 2014
Pros: The ambience of the public rooms, and location. Breakfast. Helpful and knowledgeable staff
Cons: It was perfect
Location: Well located in Belfast city centre.
Can't praise this hotel highly enough - It is beautiful. Went for a long weekend break to Belfast. Picked this hotel, because it had a good central location, not too far from shopping area, the Titanic exhibition and City Hall. Knew we were in for something special when our taxi driver told us that we had chosen the best hotel in Belfast - and I think he was probably right. The hotel is a beautiful Victorian building, although there is also a more modern wing. Our room was in the Victorian part. It was extremely elegant and comfortable. The public areas are very grand - the restaurant in particular. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful. A full breakfast was included in our booking, and it was proper table service, which is so rare these days, a real pleasure, which set us up for the rest of the day. My only regret was I never got round to using the spa facilities - something I will have to remedy on my next visit
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Truly 5* plus city centre hotel!

Posted Aug 12, 2014
Exceptional stay within a wonderful hotel catering for every need - staff were also superb!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Newcastle upon Tyne

Quality central location

Posted Aug 2, 2014
Staff friendly and professional but some had gaps in knowledge. Room a little dark with resticted views but quality service and facilities at every turn. Great gym facility and tooftop hottub worth a try. Faultless breakfast other than needing a spoon for the preserves. Overall almost faultless.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Brandshatch

Great Htl close to everything

Posted Jul 8, 2014
Could not fault it in any way Loved the gym and roof top spa area Put it all over FB The boy from Ballymurphy got there in the end Changed rooms I between stay as I loved both types Can't wait to go back
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Southampton

A lovely hotel, but don't book through Expedia!

Posted Jul 6, 2014
Pros: The general hotel decor is beautiful, the breakfasts excellent, the staff very friendly and helpful, and the valet car parking very efficient.
Cons: Lighting! The wardrobe interior was very dimly lit, and the bedside lights were controlled by switches on only one side of the bed.
Location: Very central! The Titanic exhibition is an easy walk. For food and drink and local atmosphere go to the Northern Whig, very close to the Merchant.
The Merchant Hotel is excellent but, as Expedia customers, we were not offered the higher grade rooms we found out about later and for which we would have been prepared to pay a little extra. The Expedia website does not make it clear that the better rooms exist. However, the room we got was very comfortable and spacious and we very much enjoyed our stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Dom from Ireland

quality at highest level

Posted Jun 10, 2014
great service from great friendly staff, willing to help
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 27, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Happy Camper from Derry

Great experience

Posted May 23, 2014 on Hotels.com
Hotel was great throughout: room, service, open areas, breakfast