Ratings based on 127 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.8 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.9 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom wales

Amazing hotel, spa and cocktail bar

Posted Jan 26, 2015
The cocktail bar at the merchant has to be in one of the most opulent settings to drink in. Fantastic proper 'grown up' cocktails , amazing spa underneath the hotel, rooftop sauna and Jacuzzi with views of Belfast, well equipped gym, We had a Victorian twin room, Expedia asks which room you want i.e. Double, twin but the hotel allocates when you arrive, it was a busy weekend so instead of the art deco double I booked with Expedia we got a Victorian twin. Disappointing and would be good if Expedia was clearer. Victorian room was large but very dark with only table lamps to light it. The bathroom was huge and well lit though with tiles floor and large shower over marble set bath. Ok toiletries and a good selection of proper coffee and nice teas in room. Could not pick up WiFi in the room or in the cocktail bar, perhaps there was a problem that weekend. All I'm a great destination hotel but if you like light and bright pick an art Deco room in the newer wing
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

New York has the Rita, N Ireland has the Merchant.

Posted Dec 3, 2014
Fantastic hotel. Very elegant, with first class service. Attention to detail was certainly 5* and we will definitely be back to stay.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom N.Ireland

Lovely hotel but poor customer service

Posted Nov 24, 2014
Pros: The hotel is centrally located in the hub of the Cathedral Quarter.
Cons: Customer Service procedure in relation to complaints.
Location: Lots of shops, restaurants, pubs and clubs near.
We were given room 233 and told at check in that we had been up-graded to an Art Deco room, but staff had failed to tell us that our bathroom was a disabled bathroom with no bath. When I asked to be moved they told us we could move immediately but could not view the room before hand, I refused. The Food Duty Mgr then showed us 2 rooms they had remaining, that were above the main street, noisy and cold. He then said if we stayed the one night in our current room he would move us the next day. This never happened. On check out I spoke to, Duty Mgr, who offered to refund me the up-grade fee of £40 and told me she would follow this up as it was unacceptable. Eight days later I am still waiting a response. The hotel is lovely, very central, but for a 5 star does not live up to this standard. It would have been nice to have sampled the experience in line with the price we paid. Sometimes businesses forget how important customers are and that each one deserves what is advertised.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Richard

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 10, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Barryfrom Dublin

Mid-term break in Belfast

Posted Nov 6, 2014 on Hotels.com
The Merchant is a top class Hotel in a great location minutes from The Cathedral Quarter and Victoria Square and a short taxi ride to the Titanic Ezperience.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 3, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

My stay at the Merchant.

Posted Nov 3, 2014 on Hotels.com
Great location, very frienfly staff and enjoyed breakfest in the great room.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Good central location

Posted Oct 27, 2014
Everything from pulling up at the front to checking out was excellent, staff 1st class couldn't be more helpful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Minneapolis, MN

Beautiful gem of a hotel in Belfast

Posted Oct 9, 2014
Pros: Excellent central location, beautiful historic building.
Cons: Nothing
Location: Centrally located to all the major Belfast attractions. I might add that I was very impressed by Belfast, amazing how city has rebounded.
The hotel is largely housed in a collection of historic buildings. My bathroom was part of a Victorian bank vault and featured original tile from the 1860's. The decor is very Victorian, heavy and dark but a perfect compliment to this amazing hotel. The staff were very friendly and helpful!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom SF Bay Area

Old fashioned Service in an Elegant Hotel

Posted Oct 4, 2014
Pros: Location, elegance, staff and value.
Cons: Pancakes are very different than what Americans are used to.
Location: Close to the airport (city not international), lots of restaurants and bars close by, large shopping center and river minutes away
Very elegant grand old hotel in a great location. Less than 10GBP from Belfast City Airport. I asked for a quiet location and was given a beautiful room in the old section. I did not notice the office building across which had huge fan motors. During the day you could not hear them but at night.... Had a terrible night sleep and spoke with the front desk the next morning. They immediately identified a different room which would not be ready until early afternoon. We packed our bags, went out for the day and they moved us into our new room. It was in the Art Deco section and huge. Very bright during the day (which we like) and dead quiet at night. Breakfast was included and served in the main restaurant which reminded us of the Palace Hotel in San Francisco. The staff was always friendly and helpful. Daily turn down service also includes two bottles of water.